Soundblok Suppresion Pads

yo ninja!! long time no see..

can i use the sika together with bitumen?? on top of the bitumen...how does it looks like one?

i would think to remove the existing Bitumen first to get good adhesion for the Sika pads.

bear in mind, pads like Soundblok, Sika, Dynamat are slightly better than the run-o-the-mill bitumen strips as they were specifically engineered for vibration/sound damping. but then again, for the same reason, bitumen strips are cheaper.

yeah.. bitumen strip cost only RM0.003 per cm²... hahaha!! bout ten times cheaper than soundblok n sika!! :D

wao means if 4 doors and boots.... then oredi consider takin 1 box lol.... cost around rm700~800 including installation...... zzz

Not DIY Person

differ said:
i don't sell them. but you can call Andrew at 012-2183995. just tell him Daniel asked you to contact him and he prolly will give you a better price than going to the shop itself.

i asked him before and he did say he can give a discount if you contact him directly. cheers.

Does your friend Andrew does installation? / or he can recommend one that does. My milo tin needs damping, but I do not have the time / equipment to do it. Possibly in KL?

yup, Andrew does installation as well. he usually compromises as well if you can't get to his place, eg. he might go to your place to install or somewhere nearby.

just say Daniel gave you his number. i told him about our forum and he said he would give a discount from the normal shop (in Segambut) price for us.

i just want to ask
i know dynamat is like 600+ bucks for a box of 9 units (i think)
what about sika & soundblok? how are they when compared to dynamat? how much do i have to pay for a box?

dynamat are high end stuff so you would expect to pay a premium for it. good stuff doesn't come cheap.

Soundblok is a less costly alternative if you don't have a big budget like me.

Alternatively, you can look at the mats that GRexer is selling if you're looking for something in between.

would like to do soundproof at the bonnet of satria. which do u guys recommend? bitumen strips or the sika? is rm40 enuff?

Someone in this thread said it'll reduce road noise... What about WIND noise? Wind noise / outside the car noise is more annoying to me now, although i have sticked superlon all over the insides of the door panel and another layer under the door panel ..

Instead of using bintumen strips and foam sheets that have no heft, I resorted to using urethane foam + rubber mats

Generic rubber mats from accessory shops or hypermarts = RM10 for a set of 4 mats
Urethane foam = RM22 for a big can of Great Stuff from Ace Hardware

I just cut the rubber mats in half - one for the top half of the door, and one for the bottom half. Wira's door has a bar in between, so I had to do this.

I slid in the rubber mats into the desired location, peeled it forward and sprayed some urethane foam underneath. The rubber mat is then pressed against the urethane foam, and I slid it back and forth and up and down to spread the urethane foam evenly between the mat and the door. By the way, the mat was applied with the 'hollow' side (the one with lots of open squares) facing the door, so that the expanding foam can fill the gaps as a 'key' surface to stick against.

Once the urethane foam cures, the rubber mats aren't going anywhere. It sticks really well, and the rubber mats make the door heavier. The urethane foam tends to absorb vibration (since it's a low-density closed cell foam) while the heavy rubber mats deaden vibration and noise.

The result - road noise reduced by A LOT. And this method is very, very cheap, but it could get messy as cured urethane foam cannot be removed by any solvent.

Wind noise is a problem of wind getting past the rubber linings. I suppose the solution would be to add an additional surface between the car body and the door's rubber linings to seal out wind more effectively.

I'm thinking of trying out butyl rubber caulk. Butyl rubber remains flexible and soft when cured, and it can adhere fairly well to most surfaces. Maybe I can caulk a 3mm bead around the door area, and let it cure. It should form a tighter seal against the door's rubber linings, and hopefully it can keep out wind noise.

wah good idea......rubber map as in tose use as carpets in car?

actually can get rubber from hardware store, count by kg, 10mm thickness i ask b4 is rm80....

tose r damn heavy stuff....:) use it with some foam, mayb 5mm to cover out tose uneven place, will hav good sound proof, tis method i work 4 base only, canot work for doors too heavy.....

planing to do it, but need funding to startmah hahahaha

That's why I used rubber mats as opposed to rubber sheets from hardware shops.

Rubber mats has lots of those open squares all over it, so it's still dense but not as heavy as rubber sheets. Furthermore, those open squares can act as key surfaces for expanding foam to hold on to, so it would certainly stick better against the insides of the door. The rubber mats I used are the cheap ones - RM10 for whole set, meant for Kancil or something. They're quite thin and not-so-heavy.

For the floor, I lifted up the carpet underlay and put in heavy rubber mats, the OEM proton ones.. those are really heavy, not suitable to put into the doors. But they're perfect for the floor. Pretty effective at reducing noise also.

i'm interested about soundblok. can any one of you tell me where can i get this stuff? how to DIY step by step.

i own civic EG8 92. I want to upgrade my ICE. before that i need to reduce any unwanted and strange noise. which area very importance to put soundproof. what the very important step i need to do first. please help me...

if has somebody out there has planning to do this soundproof, can we arrange one date and do it together. i thing it more fun. we have more hand to help each other.

i bought like 3 box of soundblok suppression pad. used 1 box for each door on my putra. DIY-ed it and im happy with the results. when i close my door or knock my door, it doesnt sound like milo tin sound :P sounds solid.

bro... where to get the soundblock or bitumen? can anyone guide me? my sampan tx3'd door sounds like milo tin lor...