Sound cut off??? no idea how it happend.

nicteh

hope all sifu can give me a hand.
Previously im using Alpine HU with Stellar pre-amp. after i exchange HU with my brother, which is panasonic.
I found that, when i listen to half way, there is no sound. i noticed pre-amp light dimmed down then the sound turn off. This problem only happend after i exchange to panasonic HU, before Alpine HU,there is no problem at all.
Scenerio:
most of the time at morning, there is no problem, all the way to office got sound. But,when i collect my car after work, listen to half way, then no sound d. how weird is it? I really pissed off with all this things happend to me.
Please help...Many thanks.

check the amp and pre-amp whether the protection light is on when there is no sound. Possible shorting due to loose wiring and hence the protection feature kicked in and hence no sound. Did u blast it too high (above the amp's capacity) and hence protection also kicked in?

Also u can check by direct connection to amp and skip pre-amp. U need to first identify the culprit for the cut off and then trouble shoot to find out the reason for the cut off...

Thanks trex92,
when there is no sound, i just noticed the light for pre-amp is dimmed. Not sure bout the amp. will check it later. I didnt blast too high, just normal listen to radio or CD.

Im assuming maybe is the installation guy done the mistakes, coz even he also duno how to troubleshoot this. He just blame that panasonic HU not suitable for my car condition. Huh....that is the terrible answer.

Another question:
Im going to upgrade my ICE and change back my alpine HU. Currently,I have 1 pair of mid bass which is 6 1/2 Stellar at front. IM planning to replace mohawk 6 1/2" at rear, coz now is 6*9. I only have 1 amp (800W), is that advisible to do so?

Should i locate mohawk at front and stellar at rear? or opposite?
Let say after i replace front n rear also mid bass, is the sound will be too heavy(bass)?

nicteh said:
Thanks trex92,
when there is no sound, i just noticed the light for pre-amp is dimmed. Not sure bout the amp. will check it later. I didnt blast too high, just normal listen to radio or CD.

Im assuming maybe is the installation guy done the mistakes, coz even he also duno how to troubleshoot this. He just blame that panasonic HU not suitable for my car condition. Huh....that is the terrible answer.

Another question:
Im going to upgrade my ICE and change back my alpine HU. Currently,I have 1 pair of mid bass which is 6 1/2 Stellar at front. IM planning to replace mohawk 6 1/2" at rear, coz now is 6*9. I only have 1 amp (800W), is that advisible to do so?

Should i locate mohawk at front and stellar at rear? or opposite?
Let say after i replace front n rear also mid bass, is the sound will be too heavy(bass)?

yeah sounds like the installer screwed up some connections. Check the grounding also.

Since u would be using both 6 1/2 for front and back, i would say u would not have much of a bass anymore instead of heavy bass. Do u have a subwoofer or something? As for the amp, 800W is the PMPO rite? So this rating is actually does not matter, u need to know the true output ie RMS. How many channels for the amp? 2 channels or 4 channels?

Should be the +ve, Rem and grounding not connect properly, The Rem ask him to connect to your HU, The ground should install on diff end point, not on the Hu's ground and +ve if can from battery.

Just want to know.. how about you HU, still on or off when that happen... if the HU still on & amp off.. kindly check you Fuse holder at battery.. sometime this fuse holder got crack at the bottom or top & make the fuse lose.. coz by engine heat.. when car got vibrate... suddenly no sound.. again got vibrate.. everything ok.. try change to ANL fuse for better power supply..

trex92 said:
yeah sounds like the installer screwed up some connections. Check the grounding also.

Since u would be using both 6 1/2 for front and back, i would say u would not have much of a bass anymore instead of heavy bass. Do u have a subwoofer or something? As for the amp, 800W is the PMPO rite? So this rating is actually does not matter, u need to know the true output ie RMS. How many channels for the amp? 2 channels or 4 channels?

I dont need any heavy bass,just want nice sound then enough d.
what i actually concern is, 4 mid bass at whole car would produce heavy bass instead of treble.
Dont have woofer, amp just a normal amp to 'support' all the 4 speakers. is 2 channel amp.
thanks.

i noticed when the sound cut off, instead of pre-amp light is dimmed, the amp indicator (LED) also off.

oldskolboyz said:
Just want to know.. how about you HU, still on or off when that happen... if the HU still on & amp off.. kindly check you Fuse holder at battery.. sometime this fuse holder got crack at the bottom or top & make the fuse lose.. coz by engine heat.. when car got vibrate... suddenly no sound.. again got vibrate.. everything ok.. try change to ANL fuse for better power supply..

my HU still on, pre-amp LED dimmed down, amp indicator OFF.
sorry for asking, what fuse holder u mean? is that additional fuse normally we add to support Amp?
many thanks.

did ur hu remote cable connect to a relay? it is recommend to connect to a relay...but usually simple system do not need it...maybe ur's need?
btw, if ur system got relay, that will also be the cause...check it if u have...

nicteh said:
I dont need any heavy bass,just want nice sound then enough d.
what i actually concern is, 4 mid bass at whole car would produce heavy bass instead of treble.
Dont have woofer, amp just a normal amp to 'support' all the 4 speakers. is 2 channel amp.
thanks.

i noticed when the sound cut off, instead of pre-amp light is dimmed, the amp indicator (LED) also off.

mid bass speakers should be ok, if u wan better treble then get a pair of tweeters.

so the cut off is due to amp turned off which could be due to:-

1. Remote cable prob
2. Power/Ground cable prob
3. Protection light on or not? If so, then short circuit somewhere. Check speakers cables.

howiechoo said:
did ur hu remote cable connect to a relay? it is recommend to connect to a relay...but usually simple system do not need it...maybe ur's need?
btw, if ur system got relay, that will also be the cause...check it if u have...

ermm why need to connect relay? Amp remote cable input is very very small so dun need a relay unless ur HU dun have a remote output cable.

nicteh said:
my HU still on, pre-amp LED dimmed down, amp indicator OFF.
sorry for asking, what fuse holder u mean? is that additional fuse normally we add to support Amp?
many thanks.

Fuse holder at your car battery.. power cable for your amp from battery.. should have 1 fuse holder .. normal fuse holder can not tahan lama one.. maybe oledi crack.. inside have fuse.. if the fuse holder got crack.. the fuse sometime lose connection with power cable from battery.. I have this prob before.. & change to ANL fuse type.. no more prob until today... very easy to check laa frend... open your hood .. look at the battery (+), look at the power cable for your amp.. sure have 1 fuse holder... why need think about others cable... coz your HU still ON.. only your amp OFF.. some more not in Protection Mode.. if your amp in protection mode, yes you should check all the cable like ground, remote, power, speaker cable... the issue here the amp is OFF mean not receive current power from battery..

As I know Relay will caused the Pop sound... coz I'm using it .. I have the booklet.. how to use & intall it.. Relay have 5 method can use in ICe.. I choose 1.. forgot what they call it.. use it coz I'm using alot electrical stuff.. 2 xo, 3 amp, 2 EQt....... to get stable current from remote.. Can hear the POP only once in 3 or 4 month.

trex92 said:
ermm why need to connect relay? Amp remote cable input is very very small so dun need a relay unless ur HU dun have a remote output cable.

relay are advisable to be used in multi equipment system...it's used to protect the hu..it ur remote cable is short, then the worst is the relay burn...not ur hu...

unless ur HU dun have a remote output cable.
without remote output cable how to connect relay? ??????:emoticon_U:

oldskolboyz said:
As I know Relay will caused the Pop sound... coz I'm using it .. I have the booklet.. how to use & intall it.. Relay have 5 method can use in ICe.. I choose 1.. forgot what they call it.. use it coz I'm using alot electrical stuff.. 2 xo, 3 amp, 2 EQt....... to get stable current from remote.. Can hear the POP only once in 3 or 4 month.

u can use a delay turn on and delay turn off to eliminate the pop sound..i m diying the pcb..hope can finish this week..lolz

howiechoo said:
without remote output cable how to connect relay? ??????:emoticon_U:

if HU dun have remote output then u can use any other output signals to use with relay for the amp such as radio antenna ke etc.

Many many thanks for u all.
I will check the electric for amp 1st, maybe it loose connection or something wrong bout it. anyway, will fix it tomorrow. Will get back to u all next week....
U all really helpful lar....thanks.

trex92 said:
if HU dun have remote output then u can use any other output signals to use with relay for the amp such as radio antenna ke etc.

bro, the antenna also using the hu remote to on and off la...:cry_smile:

howiechoo said:
bro, the antenna also using the hu remote to on and off la...:cry_smile:

who says :P my HU has got an antenna output wan for those motor powered antenna. Some older HU might have this antenna output but no remote output. Thats why i was asking why use relay if already got remote output, unless u dun have a remote output then u have to use a relay to tap a signal from some other outputs to be used as remote output. Anyway, some users did say that if got multiple ICE equipment, then have to use relay and that cleared up my question liao...