Sorry GUyz..China got to ue Petronas E01 engine

ruhaz

PETRONAS SIGNS LOI TO COMMERCIALISE ITS AUTOMOTIVE ENGINE IN CHINA

PETRONAS today signed a Letter of Intent (LOI) with China's carmaker Nanjing Automobile Corporation (NAC) and Brilliant Culture Group Limited (BCG) towards the use of its PETRONAS E01 engine technology for the carmaker's vehicle line-up.

Under the LOI, PETRONAS and NAC will assess the engine technology's suitability and develop engine specifications to suit the NAC's recommended platforms. BCG is expected to co-invest with NAC in the manufacturing facilities for the engine.

NAC, a state-owned corporation of China, is one of the most important automotive industrial enterprises in the country with more than 30 subsidiaries and 400 affiliated companies. It is headquartered in Nanjing City in Jiangsu Province. BCG, on the other hand, is a consulting firm whose expertise includes strategic planning, marketing and government relations. It has offices in Beijing, Shanghai and Hong Kong.

The signing of the LOI took place in Beijing in the presence of Malaysia's visiting Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Abdul Razak. Signing on behalf of their respective companies are PETRONAS' President/Chief Executive Officer Tan Sri Dato Sri Mohd Hassan Marican, NAC's Vice President Mr Lu Zhenxin, and BCG's Managing Director Ms Maggie Ip.

With the signing of the LOI, the three parties will further explore works on the PETRONAS E01 technology to produce 1.8-litre to 2.2-litre engine family. The compact design of the PETRONAS E01 Engine allows it to be fitted into various vehicle platforms with customised intake and exhaust manifold to match vehicle requirement.

The PETRONAS E01 Engine was a result of PETRONAS' involvement in the Formula One when it became, in 1995, the main sponsor of the SAUBER PETRONAS Team. The collaboration provided it with the opportunity to engage in the value-added automotive engineering technology R & D. One of the immediate fruits of this collaboration was the successful development of the PETRONAS E01 Engine in 1998 by a group of PETRONAS engineers. In 1999, the PETRONAS E01 Engine was fitted into the official cars of the first PETRONAS Malaysian Formula One Grand Prix.

PETRONAS first entered China in 1991 in the oil and gas exploration sector. Since then, the company has expanded into the downstream sector of the country's oil and gas industry. It has a liquefied petroleum gas joint venture in Jiangsu Province and in 2004 entered China's lubricant market through a Shenzhen-based marketing company, PETRONAS Marketing (China) Co. Ltd in Shenzhen.

Issued by
Media Relations Department
PETRONAS

2 September 2005

Sources.... http://www.petronas.com.my/internet/corp/news.nsf/24F01A9E1040218948256ABF00275C65/70972284511869224825707000254107?OpenDocument

good, later we will see china cars tapau-ing our gtis

oh i forgot we have 'CAMPRO'

sorry sorry my bad my bad

Proton should have taken up Petronas's offer but instead they decided to go with their own CAMPRO engine. Sigh... so pathetic.

I heard the E01 engine produces about 100bhp per litre ( similar to Honda's type R engines ).

One day, the China cars will tapau our cars....hahahaha

hehehe... china's car with malaysian engine will tapau malaysian gti with japanese engine... hehehe... oh oh i forgot campro hahaha camTAKpro... in malaysia got many good engineers but bcoz of 'egoness' of proton wanna use own engine and dont want to join venture with petronas has destroy our car maker scene... damn proton.. potong kepala... later china car compete with hondas n toyotas while our beloved proton still will be given the worst car of the year by UK Magz

Smart move by Petronas... effectively killing Proton while conquering the cheap car with performance engine market.

I wonder if Petrons powered cars will be considered local cars when it comes to the import + AP issue.

hehe, I want Felipe Massas's Petronas ;)

imagine chery A160 with E01 tapau all malaysian cars

hahahaha

e01 is as powerful as toyota's 3sge BEAMS if not better, all the numbers and figures on the spec sheet is very close.

oh well, instead of complaining, lets hope for e01 halfcut available soon.

InitialD said:
Proton should have taken up Petronas's offer but instead they decided to go with their own CAMPRO engine. Sigh... so pathetic.

I heard the E01 engine produces about 100bhp per litre ( similar to Honda's type R engines ).

One day, the China cars will tapau our cars....hahahaha
wah... sure ar our E01 engines produce 100bhp per litre??... thats much much more than our normal mitsu engines wor... wonder why proton never wanted to use them... afterall, they are still malaysian engineering product... then we no need to import mitsu engine already ma...

darn those protons... never use brain one... :thumpdown

At last we here the EO1 being commercialized.... but our local car manufacturer were stupid enough to let it go to someone else....!! :mad:

its basic specs are 2L @ 200++ bhp... it has variable valve if i remember correctly...

i once was in a friends GTI and we met the petronas GP1 GTI with the EO1 engine in it at a traffic light. we decided to have a friendly battle.... my friend started pumping. The guy make dunno only... but when the light dropped green... he took off. It was fast, believe me!! no match at all!! and the sound was really-really sweet!! the exhaust was not the loud type... the super sweet sound was coming from the engine!! almost boxter like!!! :rolleyes: my friend's GTI was on 99 MMC ecu with minor mods... exhaust, filter, larger TB and P&P... but by 3rd gear the GP1 was already about 4-5 cars length in front!!! and it just kept going!!..it was something i won't forget...

It is a mystery why even with the Malaysia Boleh spirit, Proton and Petronas never opted to put the E01 into Proton production cars. What the hell happened there. And now, flogged off to the Chinese. Right. As if the Chinese don't have enough going for them that we have to sell our R&D to them.

TypicalGuy said:
CAM mana nak PRO?

CAMPRO?

i'm not about to hold my breath on this ep01 engines. The press release said nac are studying the feasibility of using the ep01 "technology" for their cars.

i wont be surprised if you see a family of very normal mass produced engines with the usual variable valve(ep01), emmissions control..etc. technology finally being produced.

its one thing to build a high revving high powered one off prototype engine, but a totally different thing altogether to mass manufacture engines for bread and butter cars.

im gonna agree with gary. just like the toyota 4AGE 20V, the prototype hand assembled engine churns out impressive figures as a concept. 160PS and 160Nm and all that. the engines that roll out of the production line will be lucky to have even 130 (at the crank) on them. mass production is a totally different story.

and a fact of manufacturing, is that after the feasibility study is done, not all of the features on the prototype engine may make it on the production version. it could be components, subsystems or materials. its up to their definition of cost & efficiency. that is, IF the E01 even passes their feasibility evaluation. however i know the china carmaker will grab anything and make it into a profit, but i highly doubt that the production variant of the E01 will come close to these specs. i may be wrong but thats my 2 cents and a popcorn. we just have to see :D hehe

BlackSamurai said:
E01e sound like a 3 stage VVT for me. Thumb up for Pertronas.
Shame of Proton.
No shame in designing and having the IP rights to it's own CAMPRO engine (which contrary to popular opinion is tune-able) than buying Petronas' engine which was costly to begin with. The power figures may be impressive. But what about emmisions and consumption? These all matter to a mass manufacturer.

I think public opinion towards the Campro would have been better if it actually lived up to its name.