something strange happen to my car...

Rock Lee

hey guys...

I'm not a mechanic or something so im not clear what has happen to my car just now...and I'm not very clever when it comes to interior knowledge...
so if there's anyone is zth has a picture of what's going on...do lemme know yah thanks

Just now when i was driving my car to fetch my sister from school...
the weirdest thing happened to my car...
I was driving my car while stepping on the gas pedal(duh!!:lol:)...all of a sudden the gas pedal stopped supplying fuel to the engine(i just pumped oil into it yesterday)...I stepped deeper but no response...
so I decided to stop beside the road and see what happens...but then the brake got so hard to press...feels like stepping on a ROCK !! and the steering got SOOOOOO HEAVY i had to use force to push it sideways (this case happen in a turn so a lot of force is required) :ph34r: :ph34r:... luckily there was no car around
The "battery low" and "engine oil low" signs appear at the meter panel...
I sat there stunned thinking "what the hell happened"...just when everything was wrong...The car started come back to live!!! the steering was back to usual and so was the brake pad...

well...i do have second thoughts about driving again but since my sis is waiting for me...what the hell...just POK POK la...
If this is a normal case then i dun have to see my mechanic...coz he is located kinda far from my area...

anyone??
Advise would REALLY be appreciated

sounds like ur car just died, that's when the brakes got hard, steering hard to turn (power steering right)

some wiring loose perhaps

Originally posted by 916EK@Feb 19 2005, 14:59
sounds like ur car just died, that's when the brakes got hard, steering hard to turn (power steering right)

some wiring loose perhaps
izzit serious????? :ph34r:

hi there...

i've similar experience too...but its now normal to my car...it normally happens when the engine is cold...i'm sure ur car engine died, it is normal when the engine died...the oil n batt warning will trigger...just wanna make sure one thing...have u stopped the car? because if ur gear is still engaged n the car is moving...the engine is gonna start...r u using manual? if u r...y not u try this tip...do not press ur clutch when the engine is at high rpm...i.e like when we approach traffic light or sumthin...try to use the method clutch balance laa...or when ur bout to stop...press the clutch just b4 stopping...if ur car is an auto try to check the torque converter...if the problems occur very often...try to adjust the idling rpm...(there is a screw that controls the idling rpm at the throttle body...) if any of my saying does not match ur situation...sorry for that...i'm sharing based on my experience...hehehe

Once your engine die either due to faulty fuel pump, no petrol, etc you'll lose your power steering and brake because it is powered by hydraulic which requires the engine to run.

I once experienced this scenario when i slam the brake too hard on a manual car while going down from Genting. Damn scary especially I'm not use to the heavy steering and brake.

sounds like ur engine just stopped for some reason.. i suspect it to lack of fuel supplied into the engine.. mind telling us how high is ur fuel level when it happens, r u negotiating a corner at high speed or someting..

question, when you say the car came back to life again... means you turn the ignition again?

if so then i think your engine jsut died. some Wira's have a habit of doing that, the engine just stalls for no reason.

colleagues W/AB 1.5 same thing, happens most often when down-shifting gear.

some ppl say it's the T/B, it jsut closes and so does the ICV. fuel cut, engine mati.

i have the same problem last year on my brother-in-law wira 1.6 ( M ). i was not that lucky and the car cannot start after that. Somemore its happen 6am in the morning...haih
1st my brther-in-law came and change the battery. then can start and change the alternator when reach the workshop :lol:

If ur car can start with no problem, should not be electrical problems, IE flat batery, dying alternator. if its fuel injection, send to mech to check on the throttlebody .. very easily get dirty, clean it okay liaw.

mahfudz_mn
hmmm...there is a possibility due to cold engine...coz that moment i use my car...tat is 1st time of the day...
yup i'm using manual and no i did not stop my car...it just died off....
usually when i'm gonna stop my car...I will move to neutral mode and just focus on braking...

tajulsans
I just pumped RM30 fuel yesterday nite...and it was at 12 pm tat i drive the car again the next morning...
nope I'm going at low speed...it is in housing area after all...

differ
the engine came back to life just like that...I DID NOT touch the key when the engine died
and YUP it happen when i downshift gear to enter a corner!!
If it is a habit for wira to do that then i guess it will not be problem for me...what did ur fren did to his car when he face the same problem??

THANKS guys for all ur replies...
If problem persists then will handle the job to my mech...

anyways really appreciate all of ur replies~

i think it's your t/B RockLee... sounds very very familiar.

maybe some of the experts can shed some light, something to do with the ICV unit on his T/B?

Originally posted by differ@Feb 19 2005, 21:45
i think it's your t/B RockLee... sounds very very familiar.

maybe some of the experts can shed some light, something to do with the ICV unit on his T/B?
sigh...

can i ask something...

whats a t/B...and ICV...??

DONT SHOOT ME !!!!! :ph34r: :ph34r: :ph34r:

From what I can see, this is what happened:

- Your T/B (throttle body) or something clamped up and killed the fuel supply

- Engine died

- When engine die, your steering and brake gets hard due to no more power assisted.

- When your car is still in gear and continue to move, the engine starts again and everything ok.

Either that... or toyol la :lol:

Better have it checked.

happened to me...

it an indicator your ALTERNATOR wanna kong....

change it fast be4 u experience it
in a cold dark errieee night..hihihihihi

Originally posted by melnikor@Feb 19 2005, 23:22
happened to me...

it an indicator your ALTERNATOR wanna kong....

change it fast be4 u experience it
in a cold dark errieee night..hihihihihi
yeah....alternator... half kong stil can start n move..
fully kong canot start at all...

or either is the throttle body problem...proton cars famous for the throttle body problems... engine die off for no reason n then start back w/out problem again.

i agree with the prob of the icv proton cars are having...but i dont think its proton's fault...my mivec is having the prob with the icv too...

just some suggestions to those having the prob with stalling engines when its cold...drive without aircond til the temp is at where it should be lah...radio is ok...unless u have super ice inside...press clutch only when ur bout to stop...because i notice...the less significant the rpm drop...the less possibility ur engine is gonna stall...i.e from 3-4k rpm to 1k rpm is significant...but 1.5k to 1k is not significant...cheers...

Alternator has nothing to do with starting the car la, your battery is the one that provide the initial "spark" to start-up the engine.

Why do you think when your battery is flat, you can't start your car? regardless your alternator is brand-new or 15 years old...

Once your engine starts running, only then does the alternator take over. the battery then becomes a paperweight which is recharged back by the alternator as it spins.

THis incidentally is a good way to check your alternator. Start your car and once the engine runs, pull out the positive terminal of your car battery. If the engine dies, means your alternator is faulty and will need changing.

the ICV is the Idle-Controlling Valve. same shit happened to me during the first few months of my 4G93P.

what i understand is the ICV basically controls the flow of air into your intake when you are idling (throttle fully closed). without the ICV, your sensor would read the airflow as ZERO and thus cut off the fuel supply, which then leads to the car stalling.

in my case, the ICV was faulty... sometimes working sometimes not. changed the whole ICV unit and problem solved.

BUT... unlike yours, my engine didn't know how to start back up again. so i adapted very quickly by learning to start the ignition (turn the key) as soon as the engine stalled. ahhahaa, dangerous i know but what to do?

anyway, i can't explain how yours can come back to life.... :unsure: