SMT5

Originally posted by Danny@Jan 15 2005, 04:37
I don't know how complicated it is to tune SMT5 but if you have a wideband sensor you should at least be able to tune your a/f ratio accurately. As for other functions such as ignition advance it's best to leave it with an experienced tuner.
Ignition timing also affects the air fuel ratio.

Its not simply getting the A/F ratio right first and then dialling in the ignition timing later.

Both has to be tuned simultaneously.

If its turbocharged engine, its even more complicated as variables such as exhuast gas pressure & temperature and manifold pressure plays a part in getting the right set-up

Fast cars needs lots of go-fast bits. But without a competent tuner, its as good as wasted.

Originally posted by Joeker+Jan 16 2005, 04:06 -->
QUOTE (Joeker @ Jan 16 2005, 04:06 )
--QuoteBegin-Danny
@Jan 15 2005, 04:37
I don't know how complicated it is to tune SMT5 but if you have a wideband sensor you should at least be able to tune your a/f ratio accurately. As for other functions such as ignition advance it's best to leave it with an experienced tuner.

Ignition timing also affects the air fuel ratio.

Its not simply getting the A/F ratio right first and then dialling in the ignition timing later.

Both has to be tuned simultaneously.

If its turbocharged engine, its even more complicated as variables such as exhuast gas pressure & temperature and manifold pressure plays a part in getting the right set-up

Fast cars needs lots of go-fast bits. But without a competent tuner, its as good as wasted. [/b][/quote]
Well said!! I initially wanted to learn how to tune my SMT6 myself but when I went through the software I found that there were so many variables to be taken into consideration and since my knowledge about engines is not that good, I decided to leave the tuning to the experts! :rolleyes:

Having to do another total rebuild is not something I want to try again! :huh:

yo SpeedDemon..

r u using 'perfectpower' SMT6? what car r u driving now?

Do u mind if I ask u to give us some details of what SMT6 can do and help

out cars to do better performance? I mean in detail..

And why do we need it for? what are the benefits?

what makes it differece for our cars with it?

Joeker, can u briefly explain why changes in ignition timing effects air-fuel ratio? I thought it's the air-fuel ratio that determines what igntion timing to be used, coz leaner mixture requires more advanced timing (leaner mixture requires more time to combust)? PS : SMT shouldn't be able tu modify ignition timing on mechanical distributor with mechanical advance right?

Originally posted by DJ-EVO3@Jan 16 2005, 17:30
yo SpeedDemon..

r u using 'perfectpower' SMT6? what car r u driving now?

Do u mind if I ask u to give us some details of what SMT6 can do and help

out cars to do better performance? I mean in detail..

And why do we need it for? what are the benefits?

what makes it differece for our cars with it?
Yes, I'm using the SMT6. I'm driving a Daihatsu Charade turbo. I needed it because I'm running higher boost, so I needed a way to control my fuelling. Initially, I used the Apexi blue screen SAFC, but I didn't really feel any difference and my fuel consumption remained the same.

So I switched to SMT6. One major difference between the SMT6 and SAFC is the fine tuning you can do with the SMT6. The software is much more informative and intuitive compared with what you can see on the SAFC screen. My car ran much smoother, I could run higher boost more safely and my fuel consumption actually decreased when running at 1.0 bar(when compared to using the SAFC).

But frankly speaking, piggyback ECUs are only really worthwhile if you have done quite major mods to your car which requires detailed A/F tuning. Otherwise, its not really necessary.

In my case, I'm running higher boost, larger injectors and an external fuel pump. So I need it.

Visit http://www.perfectpower.com for more details on what the SMT6 can tune. Hope this helps. B)

thank you SpeedDemon... I really appreciate ur helpful comments from

your experience...

thanks dude.. I like ZTH because of the people like u here.. sharing all the

useful info from real experiences..

woi buang laa smt engko tuh masuk laa microtech kekekekekek

how fast do u want laa.. isk isk... 150whp on 1.6 satria twin cam still not enuff haaa??? aiyooo.. u want to tapau vtec .. isnt it?? :ph34r:

ppl.. if u wanna know.. this guy got a sacry 1.6 dohc with beribu lemon ponnies inside.. hehe he wished to optimised his 1.6 up to nowhere laaa... kekekeke :lol:

Speed Demon where u tuning your car. SMT also can control fuel and ignition no need safc and itc.

Originally posted by DJ-EVO3@Jan 17 2005, 21:05

your experience...

Not a problem. That's what forums are for. But don't just take people's word for it. Go do some research yourself and talk to the tuners too.

tkk: No, I still retain my MAP sensor.

Originally posted by Speed Demon+Jan 18 2005, 10:11 -->
QUOTE (Speed Demon @ Jan 18 2005, 10:11 )
--QuoteBegin-DJ-EVO3
@Jan 17 2005, 21:05

your experience...

Not a problem. That's what forums are for. But don't just take people's word for it. Go do some research yourself and talk to the tuners too.

tkk: No, I still retain my MAP sensor. [/b][/quote]
cool man..

so long never heard from you. so what turbine you using it now?

i my self also got do some research on the SMT6 even i downloaded the software n play around on my friend car... smt6 have 8x16point to tune analog MAP + injector Map + Ignition Map

very cool. but i think is not easy to tuner without dyno show the AFR...

Originally posted by tkk+Jan 18 2005, 10:43 -->
QUOTE (tkk @ Jan 18 2005, 10:43 )
Originally posted by Speed Demon@Jan 18 2005, 10:11
--QuoteBegin-DJ-EVO3

your experience...

cool man..

i my self also got do some research on the SMT6 even i downloaded the software n play around on my friend car... smt6 have 8x16point to tune analog MAP + injector Map + Ignition Map

very cool. but i think is not easy to tuner without dyno show the AFR... [/b][/quote]
Hehehe...sorry dude, but I've forgotten who you are. :P
I'm using a hybrid turbine now.

True, tuning on a dyno is much easier. GT Auto tuned my car on the road before this and recently I did a A/F reading on a dyno and found out I was running really rich at the higher revs. I'm supposed to go see them for some fine-tuning actually, now that they have their own dyno, so that my fuel consumption will be better and also perhaps get a few more hp. ;)

Wow, the software looked impressive, tuning looked easier & more refined than SAFC, provided that a laptop is available :)

Originally posted by Speed Demon+Jan 18 2005, 11:06 -->
QUOTE (Speed Demon @ Jan 18 2005, 11:06 )
Originally posted by tkk@Jan 18 2005, 10:43
Originally posted by Speed Demon@Jan 18 2005, 10:11
--QuoteBegin-DJ-EVO3

your experience...

cool man..

very cool. but i think is not easy to tuner without dyno show the AFR...

Hehehe...sorry dude, but I've forgotten who you are. :P
I'm using a hybrid turbine now.

True, tuning on a dyno is much easier. GT Auto tuned my car on the road before this and recently I did a A/F reading on a dyno and found out I was running really rich at the higher revs. I'm supposed to go see them for some fine-tuning actually, now that they have their own dyno, so that my fuel consumption will be better and also perhaps get a few more hp. ;) [/b][/quote]
hi dude,

you are the one asking me bring out the turbo fin for you in sunway lastime?

so fast forget me...
is ok man. so what hybrid turbo you using it now? how the feeling of SMT6 ?

Originally posted by satria~95@Jan 14 2005, 14:28
Who used the SMT5 hire. Can we share the knowledge how to tuned the SMT.

I just tuned my smt5 at sunway. The tuners say that I cannot upload or modified the setting I just can download the setting from my SMT5. But when first n second time I login in my smt using my laptop (just to see the setting ) I can read the global setting. But now the global setting just show the general and test date only.

-:When I login the first and 2nd time I don’t modified anything at the setting :-
u can do self tuning...

if u know how to read ur AF ratio from dyno readings or AF meter

without them....u wont get the best of it...

hi all,

I just enter your forum, very nice....

I just have a SMT6 fitted on my Proton Wira 4WD, RVR Turbo Engine and I wish to know if someone there did it before and may be can share opinions and maps with me.

I am from Mauritius Island.

Cheers