S15 Or Evo 8 MR ....???

koolspyda said:
"Handling is more about the balance, feedback, reaction to input, that kind of thing." most true! A well "balance" car (i.e. lotus elise) even when provoke; or a accidental slight oversteer is able to recovered by driver (off throttle slightly & the back comes back in). ~ exception to the rule where the if momentum exceeds its car limits; bang, spins just like a hammer spinning uncontrollably.

To me, 50 - 50 weight distribution allows the car to feel "balanced" in corners. However, without driver aids; the car (BMW) will understeer (again i mean coming hot in corners); & if it happens in mid-corners its can prove to be a painful experience.

grip and traction to me will be part & parcel of the car handling abilities (feedback, reaction to input) weight distribution, long or short wheel base, height, power to weight constitute what the cars ability to overcome

colin chapman knows that a car's overweight-ness is detrimental to having an ideal cornering abilities. But with todays car electronic driving aids (BMW, Audi, merc, VW) the shortness in drivers ability (geek drivers) is well overcomed. all the "balance, feedback, reaction to input" talk is diluted . The car WILL feel balanced.

what i trying to say is that todays electonics will give the "feedback, reaction to input" thats is crucial to allow better cars handling abilities.

I have seen an audi demo where switching aids off; the car is no able to handle in extreme wet conditions even with good tires. switching back on (with its 4WD) ; even on snow it is able to handle well.

I dont know if I'm coming across well in my defination but your take is also correct.
err, where am i, now?:embaressed_smile:
Hehe, we have once again taken over a thread and ran wide.

Anyway, I disagree on the driver aids making handling better bit. Driver aids make life easier for the driver but it doesn't make a car handle better, unless you talk about 4wd systems. If anything, driver aids tend to intrude into the connection between driver and car, making it seem like you've lost control of the vehicle and someone is driving.

Cars can be naturally well balance, eg. the Elise like you mentioned and cars like the Noble. And driver aids put into performance cars like the M3 tend to come in as late as possible, therefore not affecting the driving experience unnecessarily.

And sometimes, manufacturers dial in a bit of safe understeer as a last warning to the driver that he's being an idiot and will probably crash if he doesn't back off a bit.

Anyway, we should really take this some place else. Haha.

ivanlim said:
what you think about Vw Golf GTI? An Exclusive European Sportscar with 2.0L FSI turbocharged, 200Bhp / 280Nm, 6 speed automatic - DSG (Latest technology gearbox), The performance acceleration 0-100km/h :- 6.9sec with 235km/h top speed. Need further information, call for an appointment - 012-208 3960.

visit showroom and view the cars with my dad...a great car.....but pricy lo...a veli good car i said

koolspyda said:
i have a Best motoring video where NISMO prepared a S15 for demo. The bits does to help it to handle well.

Unfortunately no nissan cars stand out in that department. It is for that reason the S13,14 & 15 (silvias) twitchiness allowed it to "drift". Floor the throttle & the back will just go. without some guidance or being a novice ; it can be a harrowing experience. However with proper guidance (drift teachers) that "disability" can be harness to an expert drift show car.

a "actual" 8MR is a really good car (not some badge exercise like some wannabes).

My term on handling would mean "handles like on rails" in corners , that alone differentiates whats "good handling"

Did u mean no nissan's car provide good handling.. i think the GTR34 handling is hell good.. and for safety if u wanna speed i suggest u get the evo if u really want 2.. as the s15 tends to tail.. if would be dangerous if you dun know how to counter... so be on the safe side.. get the evo.. at least if it understeers just release the pedal and back on the line you.. anyways for more info on understeer oversteer i reckon we read this first

http://www.autozine.org/technical_school/tech_index.htm#Handling

No point arguing i believe the article should best give information on 4wd vs RWD..

And about drivers aid.. i believe most driver's aid would end up causing the car to understeer, and on track driving understeer is not a desired feel, in other words the fun factor is taken out.. during cornering a slight oversteer would help some times.. therefore the driver's aid is out to make the driving experince safer thats is all

davidcnz said:
hey guys, help me out here... wanna get some opinion from you guys about this 2 car..can anyone help me about it??? which car is worth for me buy ???

if you ask me, i will go for the evo8. anyway, in deciding which car, you have to go back to basics, what is the objective of buying it. personal use, rally, track use, modify further, etc. from each of the type of use, i think you can list down the pros and cons each car has in relation to your buying objectives.

this is really a problem solving and decision making analysis, hehehe..

just my 2 cents..

truly agree.

cars can be different cattle for different people, some like hannah, some prefer amber , others go carmen..........

ahhh weekend