S15 Or Evo 8 MR ....???

si|verfish said:
I doubt our friend here actually will buy either of the cars. He's just asking a question for fun, a flight of fancy. I can't imagine someone who's going to splash out that kind of money not knowing a damn thing about the cars.

Anyway, since I'm in a good mood today, I'll go along with it.

If you want to go along almost any roads really really fast, the Evo with its advanced 4WD system, will eat almost anything else for breakfast. If you prefer the purity of driving, with lots of balance and feel, or you just like to go sideways, go for the S15, with its very good RWD balanced chassis.

They've both got 2.0 litre turbocharged engines, so both should still have lots of horsepower in reserve that can be eeked out.

Yes agree with u silverfish. Spent for more than RM150k for the car, but known nothing about its purpose. like go to market buy a fish or kangkong....

si|verfish said:
I doubt our friend here actually will buy either of the cars. He's just asking a question for fun, a flight of fancy. I can't imagine someone who's going to splash out that kind of money not knowing a damn thing about the cars.

Agree
Anyway, since I'm in a good mood today, I'll go along with it.
Bro, I would say that your mood is damn good today.

A 2nd hand S15 would put you back probably RM 160K to RM170K. A 2nd hand EVO 8 MR would put you back probably RM200K to RM210K. Both are different price range and totally different type of cars.

Besides, if you're looking for fuel economy, both the cars definitely does not suite your criteria. It'll guzzle fuel like nobody's business. These are performance cars, not our average day to day Accord, Camry or Sonatas.

EVO8 spec:
For 2004 Evolution VIII to boast a maximum of 271 hp at 6500 rpm and 273 lb-ft at only 3500 rpm, down from the unofficial 300+ ponies found on the Japanese-spec Evo VIII. For 2005, the engine has been upgraded to 276 hp and 286 lb-ft.

Silvia RV 2002 spec:
Max.power (Net), kw(PS)/rpm 250 ps (183.88 kw) / 6400 rpm
Max.torque(Net), N*m(kg*m)/rpm 28.0 kg*m (274.59 N*m) / 4800 rpm

si|verfish said:

you be surprise that a high majority of (these) buyers in malaysia dont know much about them except "my friend said this & this"; "oh this is very Powderful & it was my friends recomendation"

why do i know? (8/10 conversations with owners I bum(er) to who owns them)

si|verfish said:
....go for the S15, with its very good RWD balanced chassis.

not balance that car which is why its perfect for drift. a little (more) tap on trottle it drifts easily (with a skilled driver this is made to perfection) . Just ask adian/kiki (R3) who happens to own one (was participating at the JB "time attack"~D1drift show last weekend) & if any of you who likes S15, there's ample S15s (just arrived not to long ago) at friends car showroom.

a little more exclusivity = S15, else the EVO8 MR is a damn good little rocket.

for me,i'd pick a S15...turns lotta heads...as for evo...no matter wat version evo,its just....still an evo to me, 4wd,280bhp,bla bla bla...S15 is unique,sweet sweet design n curves...its a japanese drift monster.evo..? same ol cuttings...just lil bit difference here n there... IMO,overated.

my 2 kupang

koolspyda said:
you be surprise that a high majority of (these) buyers in malaysia dont know much about them except "my friend said this & this"; "oh this is very Powderful & it was my friends recomendation"

why do i know? (8/10 conversations with owners I bum(er) to who owns them)
A sad fact isn't it.

koolspyda said:
not balance that car which is why its perfect for drift. a little (more) tap on trottle it drifts easily (with a skilled driver this is made to perfection) . Just ask adian/kiki (R3) who happens to own one.
Wait, you mean it has oversteery balance? Now I don't own one, and neither am I an expert in drift. But a good handling car, which is good for drift, should be easier to control at the limit, so you can hang the tail out as much as possible and it won't bite your head off. And a good handling car should have near perfect 50-50 balance. Please enlighten me.

si|verfish said:
A sad fact isn't it.

i know! but its the true motor enthusiast (like you & me) who CANT afford thoroughbreds. reasons only WE (malaysians) know.

si|verfish said:
Wait, you mean it has oversteery balance? Now I don't own one, and neither am I an expert in drift. But a good handling car, which is good for drift, should be easier to control at the limit, so you can hang the tail out as much as possible and it won't bite your head off. And a good handling car should have near perfect 50-50 balance. Please enlighten me.

good handling; most abused word by car manufacturers! what constituted a good handling in corners has all but diluted by marketing fellas. a 911 isnt 50-50 but (more of 45-55? balance) but handles well. these days with traction control, entering a corner a little hot isnt too difficult to counter. (traction control take care of that).

what is limit? Accolades to the new BMW 3 or 5 for their ability to handle corners far better then the competitors & its predecessors . Even proton Savvy is touted to handle really well!

I like mid-engine cars handling. no frills, no [i[electronic[/i] traction controls, etc.
ones that dont snap oversteer on the limit. but thats me.
To most, thats already 'beyond' their idea of their limits.

slight digression; how good is the new BMW M5 OTR & corners?I happen to have a company of a black M5 who wanted to *ahem*. well, i really sweated to just stay ahead of him in the corners #### highway back to sungai-way road. Looked like a mean, mean shark thats about to bite me off on my mirrors.:baring_teeth: I have new respects for it (BMW). BTW, my brother-in-law has one too (however its a 530D). awesome car that one.

koolspyda said:
good handling; almost abused word by car manufacturers. what constituted a good handling in corners has all but diluted by marketing fellas. a 911 isnt 50-50 but (more of 45-55? balance) but handle well. these days with traction control entering a corner a little isnt too difficult. (traction control take care of that).

what is limit? Accolades to the new BMW 3 or 5 for their ability to handle corners far better then the competitors & their predecessors . Even proton Savvy is touted to handle really well!

I like mid-engine cars handling. no frills with electronic traction controls, etc.
ones that dont snap oversteer on the limit. but that me. To most, thats already 'beyond' their idea of their limits.
Wahlau, don't talk in circles lar. So what is a S15s natural balance? Does it tend to understeer?, oversteer? or is it neutral through most corners? To make things easier to understand, based on drift king Tsuchiya's Drift Bible, the S13 is understeery, the S14 is quite neutral and the mid-engined MR2 is oversteery. That's what I want to know.

koolspyda said:
slight digression; how good is the new BMW M5 OTR & corners?I happen to have a company of a black M5 who wanted to *ahem*. well, i really sweated to just stay ahead of him in the corners #### highway back to sungai wai road. Looked like a mean, mean shark about to bite me off on my mirrors.:baring_teeth: I have new respects for it (BMW). BTW, my brother-in-law has one too (however its a 530D)
Mate, the M5 has got 500bhp on tap (count it, FIVE HUNDRED). And although it is quite a heavy car, it does well to mask its bulk in the bends, as long as you keep in the weight in mind and not be too enthusiastic. Unless you happen to drive a monster, you'd definitely be left for dead before long. But the M5 does tend to overcook its brakes easily, so choose a tight circuit if you want to take one on. And it is quite exploitable in the real world unlike some supercars. Note: Opinions based on road tests by other people.

for me....i go for evo......

S15 seems like a drift car for me.....coz owes see it in drift event....hehe

evo is 4wd....i more like this....

my 2 cent....

*U can test-drive both cars 1st.....then only make decision..test other brand maker cars as well...who knows at the end u buy Impreza...lolz

PocketRocket said:
or a GTR34 *hee....4wd also mar...widebody summore,stable

for gtt version...stil ok la the price.....for gtr...very expensive wo.....hehe

gtt oso 4wd?

prodigy said:
A 2nd hand S15 would put you back probably RM 160K to RM170K. A 2nd hand EVO 8 MR would put you back probably RM200K to RM210K. Both are different price range and totally different type of cars.

Besides, if you're looking for fuel economy, both the cars definitely does not suite your criteria. It'll guzzle fuel like nobody's business. These are performance cars, not our average day to day Accord, Camry or Sonatas.

dont think so about the pricing , u can get a unregistered S15 Spec-R with goodies for that price

i have a Best motoring video where NISMO prepared a S15 for demo. The bits does to help it to handle well.

Stock MR2 (Gen1 225HP 1999 - Gen3 245HP 1997) have the tendency to snap oversteers on limits for novices.

The S15 isnt renowned for it handling prowness. (see Tsuchiya's comments in this Hot version video)
http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y96/koolspyda/MRSvSS15.jpg

Unfortunately no nissan cars stand out in that department. It is for that reason the S13,14 & 15 (silvias) twitchiness allowed it to "drift". Floor the throttle & the back will just go. without some guidance or being a novice ; it can be a harrowing experience. However with proper guidance (drift teachers) that "disability" can be harness to an expert drift show car.

back to topic. comparing S15 & EVO 8MR is almost like oranges & apples. a better perspective; imprezza Vs Evo; S15 vs 350Z vs any sport coupes in that league. To each his own, i suppose.

a "actual" 8MR is a really good car (not some badge exercise like some wannabes).

My term on handling would mean "handles like on rails" in corners , that alone differentiates whats "good handling"

koolspyda said:
i have a Best motoring video where NISMO prepared a S15. The bits does to help it to handle well.

Stock MR2 (Gen1 225HP 1999 - Gen3 245HP 1997) have the tendency to snap oversteers on limits for novices.

The S15 isnt renowned for it handling prowness. unfortunately no nissan cars stand out in that department. It is for that reason the S13,14 & 15 (silvias) twitchiness allowed it to "drift". Floor the throttle & the back will just go. without some guidance or being a novice ; it can be a harrowing experience.

However with proper guidance (drift teachers) that "disability" can be harness to an expert drift show car.

back to topic. comparing S15 & EVO 8MR is almost like oranges & apples. a better perspective; imprezza Vs Evo; S15 vs 350Z vs any sport coupes in that league.

a "actual" 8MR is a really good car (not some badge exercise like wannabes).

My term on handling would mean "handles like on rails" in corners , that alone differentiates whats "good handling"
That's more like grip and traction. Handling is more about the balance, feedback, reaction to input, that kind of thing. Take BMWs famed M3s with their 50 - 50 weight distribution. Its balanced, its neutral and its limits are accessible. It doesn't suddenly bite the driver's head off. But being a powerful RWD car, it is still very easy to unstick the back end with some throttle or with lift-off. Again, correct me if I'm wrong.

si|verfish said:
That's more like grip and traction. Handling is more about the balance, feedback, reaction to input, that kind of thing. Take BMWs famed M3s with their 50 - 50 weight distribution. Its balanced, its neutral and its limits are accessible. It doesn't suddenly bite the driver's head off. But being a powerful RWD car, it is still very easy to unstick the back end with some throttle or with lift-off. Again, correct me if I'm wrong.

"Handling is more about the balance, feedback, reaction to input, that kind of thing." most true! A well "balance" car (i.e. lotus elise) even when provoke; or a accidental slight oversteer is able to recovered by driver (off throttle slightly & the back comes back in). ~ exception to the rule where the if momentum exceeds its car limits; bang, spins just like a hammer spinning uncontrollably.

To me, 50 - 50 weight distribution allows the car to feel "balanced" in corners. However, without driver aids; the car (BMW) will understeer (again i mean coming hot in corners); & if it happens in mid-corners its can prove to be a painful experience.

grip and traction to me will be part & parcel of the car handling abilities (feedback, reaction to input) weight distribution, long or short wheel base, height, power to weight constitute what the cars ability to overcome

colin chapman knows that a car's overweight-ness is detrimental to having an ideal cornering abilities. But with todays car electronic driving aids (BMW, Audi, merc, VW) the shortness in drivers ability (geek drivers) is well overcomed. all the "balance, feedback, reaction to input" talk is diluted . The car WILL feel balanced.

what i trying to say is that todays electonics will give the "feedback, reaction to input" thats is crucial to allow better cars handling abilities.

I have seen an audi demo where when switching aids off; the car is not able to handle in extreme wet conditions even with good tires. switching back on again (with its 4WD) ; even on snow, it is able to handle well.

I dont know if I'm coming across well in my defination but your take is also correct.
err, where am i, now?:embaressed_smile: