350Z or Evo 8?

which one should i get?

• 350Z

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Evo8

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Originally posted by jwrx@Jan 31 2005, 18:23
my 2 sen..giving a inexperience "P" driver a high performance, REAR wheel drive car is asking for trouble.

u want to see your bro pass his 19th birthday..give him something safe and easy to drive for the first few years..
u never know what raging hormones can do :ph34r:

Of coz go for 350Z la... price more than double, comes standard with turbo, traction control, abs, e-braking assist, airbag, etc.etc. need I say more? Ohh yeah 0-100 in 4.x seconds if I'm not mistaken :)

I've driven it. not bad.

Originally posted by cyclonite@Feb 1 2005, 02:48
Of coz go for 350Z la... price more than double, comes standard with turbo, traction control, abs, e-braking assist, airbag, etc.etc. need I say more? Ohh yeah 0-100 in 4.x seconds if I'm not mistaken :)

I've driven it. not bad.
sure or not...with turbo and 0-100 under 5? :D 911 turbo meh....

Originally posted by cyclonite@Feb 1 2005, 02:48

I've driven it. not bad.
4.x secs 0 - 100 km/h??? Yao Mou Lan!!! :P

Its 6.0 secs. You must have been looking at modded 350z's man.

Originally posted by NoTiGuY@Feb 1 2005, 01:11

i must agree with jwrx on evo viii being too common on the roads (cant blame, malaysians are getting richer each day). wrxs' are less common but that doesnt mean its not as good as a evo nor because of the status factor. The setback here would be that the 1.6 impreza is already made available in the market at rm120k and the only differences you can see would be that the WRX/STi has the large open air intake on the bonnet and the large rear wing (not forgetting the interior's seats). I would assume that it will be just as common as the wiralutions with evolution 1,2,3 in the near future. (no hard feelings)

nevertheless, i would like to make a comment on your statement here. The particular wrx u have here is the WRX, and its not the STi. The evo will and should always be compared to the STi, be it in style, pricing, performance, gimmics etc.

hehe...never pretended that my car was a STi...i dun have sti badges or sti stickers..MI is having a hard time selling the 1.6, so i doubt there will be many STImulations around..unlike in singapore where the 1.6 is damn cheap

mine might be a humble wrx, but my butt dyno tells me i can take on a e7 GTA anyday..real e7 no way lar...at least 2 tiang

my answer for this question very simple! :D

if you want a Ready to Race Car go for EVO 8 (you really need a race car?)
but if you prefer a Real Sport Car like me, of course go for 350Z!

no offend to EVO 8 lovers :)

Its the Guinness World Records. And what did the car actually do?

Anyway, its irrelevant.

The dude wants to buy a car for his little brother who just passed his driving test and got his license. Like someone said, a high powered, rear wheel drive sports car is a no no. Get him something he can handle first. If he wants something sporty, get him a Toyota Celica or something not too powerful, front wheel drive and easy to handle. I've heard the 350z is a bit hard to handle because its hard and edgy and because its such a big brute.

If he has lead feet then it doesn't matter what car he has, he's going to wrap it around a tree or a post somewhere. So, buy him a Humvee instead. At least its big and built like a tank, so he's more likely to wrap the tree around the car than the other way round.

Originally posted by jwrx@Feb 1 2005, 10:03

hehe...never pretended that my car was a STi...i dun have sti badges or sti stickers..MI is having a hard time selling the 1.6, so i doubt there will be many STImulations around..unlike in singapore where the 1.6 is damn cheap

mine might be a humble wrx, but my butt dyno tells me i can take on a e7 GTA anyday..real e7 no way lar...at least 2 tiang
bro,

i hope i didnt sound like i was trying to be cynical here, neither did i mention anything that you wanted ur Rex to be a ' STi poser' but just to outline your thoughts of you getting a WRX instead of the VII is of different league. Thats all. :)

As for the 1.6 Imprezas, there wont be much of them on the road due to the hefty price factor now, but down the line in a year or two when prices drop due to poor sales, we'll be seeing pretty much of it then. (Eg. EP3 now compared to 2-3 years ago)

come on dude...... a tiptronic versus ur manual rex? come on....pick someone ur size.... :lol: i'd bet v-tec king 6600 would eat me my car for breakfast :( and any of these cars mentioned here in this thread for supper..... :blink:

Originally posted by jwrx+Feb 1 2005, 10:03 -->
QUOTE (jwrx @ Feb 1 2005, 10:03 )
--QuoteBegin-NoTiGuY
@Feb 1 2005, 01:11

i must agree with jwrx on evo viii being too common on the roads (cant blame, malaysians are getting richer each day). wrxs' are less common but that doesnt mean its not as good as a evo nor because of the status factor. The setback here would be that the 1.6 impreza is already made available in the market at rm120k and the only differences you can see would be that the WRX/STi has the large open air intake on the bonnet and the large rear wing (not forgetting the interior's seats). I would assume that it will be just as common as the wiralutions with evolution 1,2,3 in the near future. (no hard feelings)

nevertheless, i would like to make a comment on your statement here. The particular wrx u have here is the WRX, and its not the STi. The evo will and should always be compared to the STi, be it in style, pricing, performance, gimmics etc.

mine might be a humble wrx, but my butt dyno tells me i can take on a e7 GTA anyday..real e7 no way lar...at least 2 tiang [/b][/quote]
EVO 7 gta not bad for an auto car......my friend stock evo 7 gta dyno tested 220bhp on wheels....the evo 7 gta second batch without the evo 7 spoiler is better and faster....handling wise stock vs stock... the e7 gta a lot better....
tested with stock wrx version 8..after 120km...e7 gta leads the way..
just me 2 cents ;)

Sorry,,, a bit off topic...

But,,, why u wanna part with ur gorgeous 996 .....? i hope u r upgrading to the newer model....

anyway,,,, u lil bro is one lucky guy man.... but get him an easier car to drive... coz i heard that the "z" got a long front end with low sitting position just like any sports car... much harder to drive....

as for E8,,,, its a quite decent & easy car to drive...but got a lot of raw power there... young guyz with raging testosterone in a high powered car is bad combo... ( believe me,,, been there... )

why dont opt for a normal everyday car coz it is his 1st car anywayz ......

just my humble opinion... ;)

i have not driven either cars but for me, i'd go for the 350z.

the evo8 is living proof how good you can make a 4door sedan. looking at the components alone, i think it is a very value for money proposition. i know because i drive a normal 4door sedan and if you were to do the sum of not just buying and installing, but engineering the following to work well as a complete package-turbocharger, oil cooler, intercooler(even basic cooling from radiator), brakes, suspension, flared arches, bodykit, recaro seats, 4wd transmission with the multiple LSD's, AYC, rims and tyres and more, then you will see that the evo8 is in fact very cheap for what you get. try to spec up a normal lancer to evo spec with brand new parts and it'll cost way more. i really think there is a lot of assets on it straight from the factory for a reasonable asking price.

the evo8 is also a very practical car since its a 4door sedan.

the evo8 flatters any drivers due to the genius in its handling. it doesn't take a very good driver to get a very decent lap time.

the evo8 is perfect on paper. period.

but the evo8 is not a grand tourer(GT) and certainly not a sports car. it is a car in sync with the modern world of instant noodles, 3in1 coffee sachets, quick shags, quartz digital watches etc. it does what it seeks out to do with ruthless efficiency. it is instant gratification.

the 350z on the other hand, in comparison, is the car parallel of old fashioned approach of making noodles fresh from scratch, coffee ground straight from the bean and espressoed with pressure, a deep and meaningful relationship in a temporary world, and a carefully handcrafted watch with a tourbillon mechanism.

it doesn't look too shabby either on paper-individual throttle bodies on a 6 cylinder(albeit V) engine(today, the only other place you get that is on the m3 and rb26), brembo's all round, double wishbone front and multi-link rear suspension(the ideal layout for a sports car), rwd(the driving enthusiast's choice), naturally aspirated biggish cc(the purists' choice).

where the evo8 will flatter you all the time even if you can't really drive, the 350z penalises you for that and rewards you accordingly when you have improved. i think its a good platform to learn how to drive.

but the most important point to me, i feel, is that the 350z has more passion. it has that inexplicable emotional factor that just makes you feel different. its pure and simple. of course it doesn't have the passion of them italians, but whatever i say here is in comparison to the evo8.

so, the 2 cars aims to provide driving pleasure but took diametrically opposed approaches. though i feel the evo8 started off with a compromised platform compared to the 350z, driving pleasure wise.

but everyone is different. this is my opinion, and why i feel so. i only wished i could confirm my opinions by owning both to know them deeply.

a new driver can easily screw up a RWD, it's never easy...once u get penalised, who knows wat will happen? U dare to take that risk? Some idiots can't even control an FF car well and bang! Some idiots can't even control the car with LSD.

I was P driver, and I know most of us gets slight accident b4, but hey, wat if that's a vital accident? *touch wood*

just my 2 cents, get him neither Evo 8 or 350z, try getting him a slow FF car 1st.

P drivers nowadays always think that they are Schumacer or wat, tiong here and there, speed here speed there, they can't even control the clutch properly or the steering and their instincts are so damn poor still without any experience, a fast car is not a solution

Originally posted by GTi_T@Feb 2 2005, 06:13
But,,, why u wanna part with ur gorgeous 996 .....? i hope u r upgrading to the newer model....
The guy's buying an F430 which is a better car.