rx8(engine & fuel consumption)

griffentai

hi there,i've been searching for the forum and cant find the answer,so dont mind if i ask ya. I considering to buy a rx8 but i heard lots of people give bad comment bout the engine easy break down and no one can repair it,2nd they say the fuel consumption is much much too high for N/A car,so can let me know how much for full tank (v-power),and how far can it go for a full tank,thanks ya

repair work for the Rx8 can be carried out by Ah Choi and ST Wangan. A few of our members have already blown their engines which "obviously" required a rebuild. And yea, fuel consumption is rather high.... full tank urban city driving gets you between 270km-350km.

wat does it mean by "obviously"? that mean rx8 engine really fragile or wat?

Define "fragile". Its easier to abuse than other engines because its designed for smooth running.

If you are silly enough to abuse your own car then you deserve to spend the money to fix it.

I have one kaki, his car is 2003 model. Til today, not a single problem. We occassionally push our cars at Bkt Tinggi area and Genting uphill.

so tat mean dun rev too much? those sale person and mechanic words are killing me,ask me dun buy it,will this and that la,then fc will never reach 300, engine confirm blow in 1 year++,i dun have any knowledge in RE,so sorry if i ask any silly question

I think the car is not too bad. All the easy break, FC high are just not 100% true. Proper maintenance can let the car last longer. Driving hard and abuse are 2 different things. If normal driving FC is like Perdana V6, high rpm driving is slightly more than a 1.6 Mivec on high rpm, will be consider high FC, then RX8 should be made as a 4 doors K-car.

But no doubt, rebuilding the engine will be expensive. And the only solution is to do full rebuild, in stead of like a normal piston car, can do top overhaul or full overhaul.

The engine can last 1 year + definitely is a rumors, else will be a particular individual case. Original coil, water tank sensor failing are no doubt faster than other car. Maybe after market parts can help.

so...full tank = rm? litter? how long can the engine last till rebuild & how much it cost? wondering...

1. Fuel Consumption:
- 6 - 6.5KM per litre.
- Full tank is 60litres.
- Generally you will want to pump petrol once you've gone 300-360KM.

This is one thing that rotary owners just do not want to talk about. Note that Perdana V6 does 11KM per litre.

2. Engine Rebuild:
- road tax is RM70 or so
- Oil changes are about RM180 - filter + mineral oil
- tear-down inspection with minor parts change can be up to RM1,200
- complete rebuild due to damaged rotor housing up to RM7,000
- When apex seals break and cut into the housings, need to replace
- recommended tear-down inspection at 80,000 - 120,000KM

To be honest, now that I own a rotary, methinks the general population should just stick with pistons. Only consider a rotary if you are freaking rich, have a knack for engine stuff or just crazy about rotaries. TCO is really very high due to petrol prices.

oh yeah, forgot something. You should compare sportscar with sportscar.

FD3S with 280HP is 6KM/Litre
LanEvo 8 with 300HP is also 6KM/litre or something like that

hmm,i own a altezza now,v-power pump till full when warning light appear=rm170, around 280km,been using it for 1 and half year,so the FC is almost the same,i hear from those tezza member mayb the o2 sensor need to b clean,but i'm too lazy...and my father ask me to change...so wondering and searching,btw if rx8 can go around 350km is slightly better than mine ady,but i just afraid bout the engine problem and other parts?

Omfg...u gotta be kidding me right...rm170 go 280KM?!!!!!!!!!!!!

That's supposed to be fuel consumption for 400 hp monster cars weh! NOT for a slow saloon car!

SELL the damn thing!

That's supposed to be fuel consumption for 400 hp monster cars weh! NOT for a slow saloon car!

SELL the damn thing!

....altezza is rated as fast saloon car...and "the damn thing" is abit !@#$^

SELL the damn thing!

that's hilarious haha looks like this fuel thing is driving everyone nuts:mad:

I compare my rx8 to my sister's PV6, not much of different on FC when driving in town or cruising. From Kuantan-KL don't need even half tank. I think 6km/L is on the red line. Else, either my engine is super healthy or your engine have lower compression.

SELL the damn thing!

Thats actually worse than a 500rwhp fd3s.

SELL the damn thing!

not to light a fire here, but all due respect, please be considerate on what you're saying. Altezza's known weakness points are their O2 sensors, MAF sensor or the throttle body, so when it's dirty, FC are greatly impaired. like what RX series have with their apex seals. No doubt i'm a FD lover myself, so i'm not biased. I'm stating facts. Obviously, he did say he was lazy to inspect and clean the sensors.

On a full tank, we could go up to 450-500km on urban and 500-550km on the highway.. So, please get your facts right.

And what's with "slow saloon car" and "damn thing"? Why'd HKS take it as one of their pioneer drift cars? I know it has no match for a FD, but please do show some respect. Altezza's are one of the affordable performance sedan cars, mind you. And would you like it if someone said the sentence, "SELL the damn thing!" or "slow sports car" to you about your car? No?

My 2 cents. No offense intended. :biggrin: Just sharing my thoughts. :adore:

not to light a fire here, but all due respect, please be considerate on what you're saying. Altezza's known weakness points are their O2 sensors, MAF sensor or the throttle body, so when it's dirty, FC are greatly impaired. like what RX series have with their apex seals. No doubt i'm a FD lover myself, so i'm not biased. I'm stating facts. Obviously, he did say he was lazy to inspect and clean the sensors.

On a full tank, we could go up to 450-500km on urban and 500-550km on the highway.. So, please get your facts right.

And what's with "slow saloon car" and "damn thing"? Why'd HKS take it as one of their pioneer drift cars? I know it has no match for a FD, but please do show some respect. Altezza's are one of the affordable performance sedan cars, mind you. And would you like it if someone said the sentence, "SELL the damn thing!" or "slow sports car" to you about your car? No?

My 2 cents. No offense intended. :biggrin: Just sharing my thoughts. :adore:

Well the assumption was gathered based on the posting. nevertheless, i do not believe anyone is here to lambast or to criticise any particular make for that matter. so lets keep to the topic at hand.

end of the day bro.. it all boils down to $$ and your passion towards the car. Owning a sports car is definitely a one of a kind experience. Preparing for the "damage" to be incurred in terms of $$ is always good. But there is a healthy scene in "car owners clubs" in Malaysia, they are always more than willing to share and help out... In some cases they even go out of their way to help out.