RS Audio c-12 sub?

invecs

Just want to ask what you guys think about this sub? Is it good for SQ? How much different does it sound if compared to the seas lotus 12 sub?

Thanks!

yup pretty good for sq because its very transparent, easy to get the upfront sub sound. not so syiok if u want hard hitting bass though, seas would be a little better for that...

Zenn,

How do you find the upper bass performance of the RS? I am much more critical at this frequency region since most subs can play low but not all can play high. I just sold my IDQ 12d2v3...not at all contented on how its upper bass sounds. I used to have the Lotus 12...sold it a few years back...and I'm thinking of getting it again for the new system. BTW, I plan to cross the sub at around 70Hz so I need it to play high very well.

Thanks!

I'm an RS Audio C12 4ohm single coil user since 2004. Run it in 1.0 cu.ft sealed box powered by Xetec Prestige P4

To my opinion it is a good sub being transparent as well as could keep up with upper frequency well. This is due to the construction of the cone which is made of paper pulp make it light. For more thumping bass, you need to treat the cone with some coating. Can't remember what it is. So far mine is untreated as I want the sub to keep up with upper bass frequency well (in terms of cone response for up front bass)

Hope this helps

Hi Iswara,

How does the RS compare in terms of accuracy to other SQ subs that you've heard? This is going to be my reference system...so I really want it to sound very good.

why not u refer to W6 or W7? its a great woofer for me. if u want budget, recently i been poison by morel woofer (forgot the model) 350RMS. superb low bass, great staging, and yes, almost no lagging. my tuner said around RM1k only sigh

Because I don't like how the JL sounds. To me it lacks definition in the upper bass...sounds so thick.

I tested both Aliante Sub and Seas Lotus sub, i prefer Aliante sub more. Sorry no idea about Rs sub.

invecs frankly i never cross more than 60hz, usually 55hz, if 4 way system it will be around 45 or 42, upper bass i rely on midbass drivers, they handle it much better, but i guess rs one is pretty much quite good..

as far as accuracy is concerned, yes its pretty much up there with the rest

another sub u should consider is scanspeak 23W, most accurate so far....its only a 9inch so it doesnt go very low , if u need to go lower u need to add the passive radiator (23W minus the motor & magnet)

Hi Iswara,

How does the RS compare in terms of accuracy to other SQ subs that you've heard? This is going to be my reference system...so I really want it to sound very good.

To my opinion the sub is able to keep up and synchronize with my mid on higher sub frequencies. Blending is good to my opnion. But I might be biased as I'm using full RS Audio setup for my car

Zenn,

I understand your point. I often cross mine below 50Hz with a steep slope. But in this system that I'll be building...I want it to sound dynamic. A high xover point helps augment where the midbass falls short. I like the Scan sub...my only problem with it is it's low sensitivity and it is output limited unless I run 2 of them. But 2 scans cost too much.

Tohsan,

As much as I'd like to try the Aliante...I couldn't get it from where I am.

Iswara,

Since you have the RS sub...can you confirm to me if the basket used is a cast basket? In the pictures it looks like a stamp steel basket. I'm much more inclined to purchase again the Seas sub since it looks like that it is built much better than the RS.

Like sifus zenn and GT-R mentioned, the upper portion of the sub bass depends a lot on the "blending" of the midbass and sub. Choose midwoofers which can go low, like 50hz or lower.
Crossing the sub high will likely bring the bass backwards towards the rear and lose front soundstage as a result.
I am using SEAS mids and SW300 sub and I have no complain on the dynamism of my system.

Zenn,

I understand your point. I often cross mine below 50Hz with a steep slope. But in this system that I'll be building...I want it to sound dynamic. A high xover point helps augment where the midbass falls short. I like the Scan sub...my only problem with it is it's low sensitivity and it is output limited unless I run 2 of them. But 2 scans cost too much.

Tohsan,

As much as I'd like to try the Aliante...I couldn't get it from where I am.

Iswara,

Since you have the RS sub...can you confirm to me if the basket used is a cast basket? In the pictures it looks like a stamp steel basket. I'm much more inclined to purchase again the Seas sub since it looks like that it is built much better than the RS.

It is stamp steel basket as I can remember and I've to admit it looks pretty much like Jln Pasar sub. But it still work after 5 years.

Guys,

Thanks for all the replies. It's hard to make a decision since both subs are really good. I like to try the RS just for the sake of trying...but it seems I get more value if I go with Seas Lotus since it is built very well ( cast basket with compression binding posts). I haven't heard the RS which makes me lean more on getting the Seas because I had one in the past and is a solid performer.

dont let the build fool you, hehe.....go ahead and try it bro.....