Ron Dennis slams backmarkers
Ron Dennis has lashed out at F1 slow coaches who may have cost Woking based McLaren a 2005 world championship or two. With Kimi Raikkonen now unable to further challenge Fernando Alonso for the drivers' prize, the team principal pointed an angry finger at drivers like Tiago Monteiro and Antonio Pizzonia, who have both been involved in shunts with Juan Pablo Montoya while being lapped.
"Drivers who just don't get out of the way influence the outcome of world championships," the Briton slammed. "I don't want to name those drivers who don't behave like grand prix drivers, not respecting people who are better drivers and in better cars."
Dennis' Mercedes-Benz colleague Norbert Haug did, though, name a name -- Williams stand-in Pizzonia, who slipped on a puddle and took Montoya out of the Spa race.
The Brazilian was fined $8000, a penalty that does not fit the crime, according to Haug. "He got it wrong, badly wrong and it may decide the outcome of the championship. It would not have happened if Nick was behind the wheel."
Montoya and Jordan rookie Monteiro, meanwhile, argued in Friday's FIA press conference (Brazil) about who was to blame for their clash in Turkey. "He's the backmarker, he should have backed off," said Montoya.
Tiago replied: "I braked earlier but he had a flat spot or something." In the background, Juan mumbled 'no!'
"I braked 55 metres earlier," Monteiro continued. "You were 45 metres earlier, by the way," Montoya chimed in, "and he's done it before with (Jarno) Trulli. Why don't we move on?" Tiago said.
=======================================
hmm, i didn't watch the accident, so i can't comment about the incident involves Monteiro and Montoya. What do you guys think about it?
Why can't Ron Dennis just admit that McLaren's reliability and luck is sucks for the first half of the season that cost KIMI 30 championship point due to technical failure while KIMI is leading? I dun really think he care about Montoya, he just want to put blame on others.
Ron Dennis has lashed out at F1 slow coaches who may have cost Woking based McLaren a 2005 world championship or two. With Kimi Raikkonen now unable to further challenge Fernando Alonso for the drivers' prize, the team principal pointed an angry finger at drivers like Tiago Monteiro and Antonio Pizzonia, who have both been involved in shunts with Juan Pablo Montoya while being lapped.
"Drivers who just don't get out of the way influence the outcome of world championships," the Briton slammed. "I don't want to name those drivers who don't behave like grand prix drivers, not respecting people who are better drivers and in better cars."
Dennis' Mercedes-Benz colleague Norbert Haug did, though, name a name -- Williams stand-in Pizzonia, who slipped on a puddle and took Montoya out of the Spa race.
The Brazilian was fined $8000, a penalty that does not fit the crime, according to Haug. "He got it wrong, badly wrong and it may decide the outcome of the championship. It would not have happened if Nick was behind the wheel."
Montoya and Jordan rookie Monteiro, meanwhile, argued in Friday's FIA press conference (Brazil) about who was to blame for their clash in Turkey. "He's the backmarker, he should have backed off," said Montoya.
Tiago replied: "I braked earlier but he had a flat spot or something." In the background, Juan mumbled 'no!'
"I braked 55 metres earlier," Monteiro continued. "You were 45 metres earlier, by the way," Montoya chimed in, "and he's done it before with (Jarno) Trulli. Why don't we move on?" Tiago said.
=======================================
hmm, i didn't watch the accident, so i can't comment about the incident involves Monteiro and Montoya. What do you guys think about it?
Why can't Ron Dennis just admit that McLaren's reliability and luck is sucks for the first half of the season that cost KIMI 30 championship point due to technical failure while KIMI is leading? I dun really think he care about Montoya, he just want to put blame on others.