question about speakers

Fluffy

hey sifus,
i was wondering wats the diff between a 2 way component set and a normal 2way speaker?(or 3 way) like those 6X9 speakers?i hope u guys get my question..
thanx!

i use to have 4 way pioneer 6x9..
got 3 tweeters with different sizes on top of the
woofer cone.

the sound is bright.. very bright.. covered the front component.
so changed it.

er..no no..sorry coz my question was not clear..
i wanna know if a (2way for example)component set is better or a (2way for example) 6x9 speaker?
just say both are 2 ways la..which one would be better?is it providing the same sound?

go for two ways component set.

i bought alpine type s coxial and install in civic.
but i found the sound stage is below the dashboard.
even tough facing the tweeter upwards.

i then install my old pair of helix tweeter and addzest crossover.
find it better than the coxial alone.

oh okay...cool..thanx!

im trying to go for a 2way component and a pair of Lightning Audio coxial infront and also a pair of LA 3way speaker behind... :p
wats ur opinion?

a 2 way component set will always sound better than a 2 way coaxial type, but they are usually more expensive and need an amp to power it. if youre just using head unit power then go for the coaxials.

Fluffy said:
oh okay...cool..thanx!

im trying to go for a 2way component and a pair of Lightning Audio coxial infront and also a pair of LA 3way speaker behind... :p
wats ur opinion?
where do you want your speakers to be? rear or front?
If rear then I suggest coaxial.
if you put it in front then I suggest comps. and remove your rear speakers so your staging is from the front.

If you wan to get a better rating comps but you do not have an amp then you can only play it soft as your HU might not be strong enough.
Do not follow the maximum rating. Use RMS.

I myself would prefer my comps to be better. My choice would be like ermm focal, DLS, etc

Its up to your budget and choice. Also what kind of music do you like, what kind of setup.

Fluffy : LA products aren't really known for the SQ, unless you're going for SPL la. You're better off going for Alpine type-X or DLS components or even Peerless. There's this dude Xcheong who's selling them at bargain prices! Go look for him in the buy/sell section.

Btw, if I were you, I'd throw the back speakers and just use front comp (2-way) and 1 sub. Then your setup would be easier to play with. use a monoblock for your sub and use a good 2-channel amp (or 4 channel if you wanna bridge) and pump in 100 RMS watts in the front. If you position the tweeters properly and all, it'll fill the rear nicely too without back speakers. Trust me on this.. :) Ask unker soong (pisces23) to let you listen to his front comp+sub+2 amp setup and you'll understand what I mean. But of course, unker soong is one of those gila ICE people, just don't kena poison too much after listening to his setup :D

With the right tuning, the mid, tweet and even bass sounds can be projected to fill in the front (yes.. even the bass!) to make the sound very nice.

Also, good amps matter as well, don't use the HU built in amp if possible you wouldn't want to kill the HU in the long run!

Do what I am doing :

Front : Alpine Type-S comp set
Back : 12" sub
Amps : feed 75 RMS to front comp set and one 300 RMS monoblock to sub.

This cost me a little more than RM1100 cuz all 2nd hand. But I'm bloody happy it does the job of filling the back as well as the front very well. Looking to upgrade liao.. to 5.1 surround sound! Haha

Izso said:
Fluffy : LA products aren't really known for the SQ, unless you're going for SPL la. You're better off going for Alpine type-X or DLS components or even Peerless. There's this dude Xcheong who's selling them at bargain prices! Go look for him in the buy/sell section.

Btw, if I were you, I'd throw the back speakers and just use front comp (2-way) and 1 sub. Then your setup would be easier to play with. use a monoblock for your sub and use a good 2-channel amp (or 4 channel if you wanna bridge) and pump in 100 RMS watts in the front. If you position the tweeters properly and all, it'll fill the rear nicely too without back speakers. Trust me on this.. :) Ask unker soong (pisces23) to let you listen to his front comp+sub+2 amp setup and you'll understand what I mean. But of course, unker soong is one of those gila ICE people, just don't kena poison too much after listening to his setup :D

With the right tuning, the mid, tweet and even bass sounds can be projected to fill in the front (yes.. even the bass!) to make the sound very nice.

Also, good amps matter as well, don't use the HU built in amp if possible you wouldn't want to kill the HU in the long run!

Do what I am doing :

Front : Alpine Type-S comp set
Back : 12" sub
Amps : feed 75 RMS to front comp set and one 300 RMS monoblock to sub.

This cost me a little more than RM1100 cuz all 2nd hand. But I'm bloody happy it does the job of filling the back as well as the front very well. Looking to upgrade liao.. to 5.1 surround sound! Haha
ehhehe good explaination
the setup you suggest to him is something like mine
but I bridged my 2 chan amp to 1 chan for my sub. Using cap ayam(higher range) amp for rear and cap itik 12" sub. Surprisingly it works fine. heheheheeh
As for my comp amps I am goin for Alpine F545. hehehee Also goin for DLS comps.
:P
DLS MS6
But I am using my stock HU cause it looks nicer with my car and its compatible with my cd changer.

btw good deal you got there for your setup.
:)

Wah.. rodney you spent sooooooooo "much" on your rear and even more on your front? Haha.. I hate bridging unless it's using a good amp. Scared of cap ayam itik amps, later they are underrated and end up tak cukup power then I waste my money.

You think my setup good deal? Hehe.. I haven't even told you my brands yet :

Amp : JBL300.1 monoblock, Epsilon 2-channel
Sub : Blaupunkt velocity vcs1200 12" (SPL SUB!! WOOHOO! I want a 600.1 for this man)
comps : Alpine type-S (I wanted type X but moolah issues)

All for around RM1100. Good right? :D

Izso said:
Wah.. rodney you spent sooooooooo "much" on your rear and even more on your front? Haha.. I hate bridging unless it's using a good amp. Scared of cap ayam itik amps, later they are underrated and end up tak cukup power then I waste my money.

You think my setup good deal? Hehe.. I haven't even told you my brands yet :

Amp : JBL300.1 monoblock, Epsilon 2-channel
Sub : Blaupunkt velocity vcs1200 12" (SPL SUB!! WOOHOO! I want a 600.1 for this man)
comps : Alpine type-S (I wanted type X but moolah issues)

All for around RM1100. Good right? :D
yalor spent sooooooooo "much" on my rear. hehehehe
oh but my cap ayam amp is doin fine with my 12" cap itik sub. hehehe not for competition level of course but for normal listening with a limited budget. :P
My front not yet buy la. no budget
hahahaahhaa
if got kang tao like that for my targeted amp for my mids let me know ar
its still new so maybe after a few months got ppl wanna sell dii
haahahahahaha

of course can tell good deal ma
by the way you explain shows you ain't new. hehehehe
with that kind of price and setup i don't think you'd go for cap ayam or cap itik

well i feel everyone setup also different but most important of all is the owner likes it
doesnt matter what others think
:)
as long as sound pleasant to owners ear
hhehehehe
coz wat i like ma not be wat u like ma
individual preference
hehehe

Mabbe. I wanna do the 5.1 thing.. minus the DVD player and screen tho. I wanna save up for a dig processor and center speaker. :D

Izso said:
Mabbe. I wanna do the 5.1 thing.. minus the DVD player and screen tho. I wanna save up for a dig processor and center speaker. :D
hehehehe
might as well put in a real home hi fi
i intend to go full active nex time

aiya.. active tuning too hassle la.. very the mafan la wei

yalor
where got mafan
juz need $$
LOL
but in ICE definitely need to prepare $$ dii
and the results are really worth it ma