monoblock amp?

Fluffy

hey sifus,
i've got one question. wats the diff between a monoblock amp and a "normal" amp?which is better for pumping 2 12"subs?
i heard that monoblock amps give a "cleaner" sound?
need clarification!thanx!

Mono means one. Monoblock = one channel amp. It's meant to be used for subwoofer only. "Normal" amp is multichannel amp. consists of 2/3/4/5 or even 6 channels.

If you're going to decide which amp to be used for your 2 subs, you'll have to consider:

1. Is your sub DVC or SVC and also the impedance of each voice coil.
2. Is the amp stable when wired down to lower impedances. (2ohms or 1ohm)

I don't know why ppl say a monoblock produces "cleaner" sound but I would say the efficiency rate of a class D monoblock would be higher, as most of the multichannel amps are usually Class A, AB ermm...but I think Class A and ABs would provide better control of bass.

Yeah, no worries. Class-T monoblock does exist. But I think it sure does cost alot too. So, it's best to mention the common ones that are available in M'sia.

yup...it's freaking expensive..
not everyone can afford that price...

but i haven heard ppl say class D will have cleaner sound...
oni those multi channel for front portion i heard b4 :D
especially tube amp... :D

netken said:
spoon DC5,

excellent setup dude, and cool ride!! cheers ... :D

still newie in ICE world..
paiseh... :p
and yet...struggling to get a proper centre imaging.. :mad:

Spoon DC5 II said:
still newie in ICE world..
paiseh... :p
and yet...struggling to get a proper centre imaging.. :mad:

he heh he... i also face the same issue. Achieving good sound staging needs installation skills and more moo. I gave up already for my staging.