problem of helix S6

frank_ckn

hi, all sifu here~~! among u all who is use helix S6 competition component set? now i face some problem~~! can help? now my tweeter is very nice and good but my mid is very weak~~~! my mid no enough strong? why?

thank~~!

Hi

frank_ckn said:
hi, all sifu here~~! among u all who is use helix S6 competition component set? now i face some problem~~! can help? now my tweeter is very nice and good but my mid is very weak~~~! my mid no enough strong? why?

thank~~!

Hi bro frank, u r running active or passive? How much r u feeding the comp set?

yeah...what's the power u feed to them? passive or active?
give more info like...what amp, what Hu? what sub?

sometimes, it's a sub the help for the mid for some kick....

Frank u should bridge the ppi and drive the comps with 160w x 2 via the passives. That would solve ur prob. 40w x 2 won't give u much midbass.

i believe he is bridging them...
that was wht he told me not long ago.

mnkh0027 said:
Frank u should bridge the ppi and drive the comps with 160w x 2 via the passives. That would solve ur prob. 40w x 2 won't give u much midbass.

after we bridge it
will we lost some of the details?

marantz599 said:
after we bridge it
will we lost some of the details?

You gain something, you lose something. A good high powered amp with 100w x 4 or so ain't cheap, so in this case we have to give and take.

Artnet: I shall double-check with him.

Frank: Check that the speaker phasing is correct. If the mids is out of phase, you'll lose midbass response.

wow, i never knew that bridging the amp will lose the 'details' of sound.
why is it so?

Hi

artnet said:
wow, i never knew that bridging the amp will lose the 'details' of sound.
why is it so?

Ermm dunno about losing details, but the thd will increase by 10 times.

The ppi has a thd of 0.02%. So with x10, it's only 0.2% still much better than many amps with 1% Thd at bridged mode.

i use PPI 44n bridge 160x2watt but the mid still no strong~~! how micheal?

I think you need a sub lar...
No matter how strong midbass is, it still wont play sub frequency...

I need a sub too for my setup... no matter how nicely my front comp plays, it feel lacking a punch or life without a sub...

frank_ckn said:
i use PPI 44n bridge 160x2watt but the mid still no strong~~! how micheal?

Next week meet in Projet, say Tues or Weds. You pick. Will check out your install, do a phase check and we'll work from there.

You installed in Kenny's SoundQuest as recommended right?