Polisher for beginner

DA would be a good choice (that is if you can stand it's vibration) if you don't plan to do much of heavy corrections. Even if you do want to, modern compounds/polishes and pads are now available that can make heavy corrections on a DA possible....though it'll take longer time than a rotary....

Tell you what, a machine 'feeling' gathering is in the pipeline. A few guys wanted to get the feel of the few available machines so that they could choose which one would be more suitable for them. Maybe you want to join the 'fun'.....hehehe...

---------- Post added at 10:06 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:03 AM ----------

Getting a swirl free or hologram free finish with a rotary is far more difficult than burning through the clear coat....
Ah, interesting. May I know when is the gathering? Thanks!

IMHO rb wont easily screw up your paint unless you stay put on one part and dont move it. It is safe when its always in motion and at low rpm. Sifus kindly correct me if I am wrong.

RB will screw at the edges when doing compounding. Taping is necessary. The speed/motion is depends on your own style. Some people use low speed with slow motion, some people use high speed and move fast, and some they use high speed but move slowly cause wanna get more cutting (sometimes will end up dry buffing)

depends on experience la. RB need some skills to operate. DA is good for begginer and pros. Pads and polishes nowadays are getting better. I never use Rupes before but by just seeing the pros comment i think should be not a issue, so far i use Flex to correct paint even on Honda which have heavy swirls. The finishing also awesome. now RB is going into the history of detailing. Not now, but soon. :proud:

For most diyers and weekend warriors like me, a da will more than satisfy your requirements. Most of the time when its put into use, its just for paint cleaning, aio, and waxing. I dont think many do compounding that often but even if the need arises, the da is capable of doing it.

Of course, if time is an issue then rotary will be better as da you have to go slow and steady.