PM : Be safe and courteous on the road

satria_95

PM: Be safe and courteous on the road
PETALING JAYA: Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi has called on Malaysians to practise a culture of safety and courtesy at all times when on the road.
The Prime Minister's advice was conveyed in a special road safety message, which was carried by major newspapers yesterday.

This was the first time Abdullah was reaching out to all road users in this manner.

Abdullah said the culture of safety was very prevalent in Malaysians' daily greetings, such as selamat pagi, selamat petang, selamat malam and selamat pulang.

He said festival greetings such as selamat Tahun Baru Cina and selamat Hari Raya also began with the word selamat which meant “safe” in Malay.

“Hence, the need for us to practise pandu cermat jiwa selamat (careful driving saves lives) for our own safety, and that of our families and other road users,” he said.

He said the need to practise safety and courtesy at all times was all the more relevant in preparation for Visit Malaysia Year 2007 when Malaysia would play host to foreign tourists.

“Unfortunately, a lot of our attractiveness can be lost if tourists cannot rely on our public transport system or do not feel safe driving on the roads,” he said.
Abdullah said all Malaysians should make a commitment this year to never take any more risks while driving, including not speeding, not using mobile phones while driving and giving due care to pedestrians.

He said parents needed to be very strict in controlling their own behaviour as well as their children's.

Meanwhile, Transport Minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy said in his message, which appeared after Abdullah's in the papers, that the number of road accidents had reached a worrying level.

He urged motorists to change their behaviour so that the National Road Safety vision of reducing road deaths substantially by 2010 could be achieved.
“Accidents will continue to occur if our carelessness prevails,” he said.

satria_95 said:
He said the need to practise safety and courtesy at all times was all the more relevant in preparation for Visit Malaysia Year 2007 when Malaysia would play host to foreign tourists.

“Unfortunately, a lot of our attractiveness can be lost if tourists cannot rely on our public transport system or do not feel safe driving on the roads,”

drive safe , ultimately for the sake of msian tourism lahhhhh ... isnt that the issue that is trying to be implied ?

satria_95 : the government just concern about the country/people...

u really got nothing to do

jiak pa bo si jo....doh

2zzge,
Perhaps I wasn't specific enough. I meant to relate this to the rempits who are part of the cause of problems on the road. On top of that, I also meant to relate this to people who don't know how and where to park their cars, people who don't know courtesy and etiquettes (at least the common and basic ones) on the road. Also, I meant to relate it to pedestrians who walk like they're the only ones on the road (usually, these pedestrians would be the rempit kind, punks, mat rockers, etc.).
Obviously, the PM is concerned about the citizens and the country, but I also meant to indicate that he should touch on other areas as well that relates directly to the citizen other than this road usage issues.
But really, I'm not going to explain a whole lot. Of course, you're free to express your thoughts and opinion, I'm cool with that. It's the way a person structures his words, the way he puts expression into his posts and the way he meant for his post to be felt that would decide on the impression that will be displayed. Just a thought to share.

And yeah, at that time, I had nothing to do and now also nothing to do. And no, I haven't "jiak pa" (if that's what I think it means) and again, yeah, "bo si jo" (if that's what I think it means) at that time. It's CNY holidays, long holidays. hahahaha

Just for those who, somehow, didn't even notice it, this is clipped out from The Star online.

satria_95:

We're not called to judge other people, if you feel the article does not apply to you then just forget it la, let the rempits themselves read it and if they don't then too bad it's not within your control.

You can't expect pak lah to be addressing only rempits right? Because it's a general statement for the safety of all Malaysians.

cyclonite,
Well, yeah. hhmm.... come to think of it, I seem to have been bitten by a newbie ZTH bug. hahaha But then again, ..... nevermind la. It'll just be another long post if I post my opinion on your statement that says, "We're not called to judge other people, if you feel the article does not apply to you then just forget it". I'll just let whoever who can see it through, see it through.

aiyah...we should be prooud mer...at least the PM is ''concerne' about us...

ermm..i think hor..the worst factor of being save on roads is...those kancil(660-850, auntie,uncle + dumb driver and not those l2 or tune up drivers) when drive slower cars..please look left and right before cutting into faster lane...
ermm...i think those slower car drivers almost killed me once or twice in highway...

alantan,
hahaha And many would think that slow cars are safe, but in fact, they seem to be the one that's contributing to accident statistics. haha I mean, those slow and don't know what they're doing on the road wan la.

the slow cars contributing accident statistics..?

so u think everyone's car as fast as yours?
or everyone drive fast like you?
or everyone drive big engine ?

sorry i drive a 1.3 corolla only.....not big engine not super fast car but defitenley i have brains to maintain at the right speed in the highways considering teh situation i'm in...

-slwo cars are contributing in accident is a fact and nobody is lying.
-many car is faster then mine
-i don;t drive fast, i just drive as fast as i could.
-1.3 is small

small big car also contributing in an accident ...sigh

because in malaysia small car more than big car...thats why statistics higher

Then dear PM, would you tell your gamen 'servants' stop using the police force to clear the bloody highway for their own bloody pleasure when they feel like it? Furthermore they do this at speeds definitely higher than the speed limit. If i'm not mistaken, the highway was built with taxpayers' money, and we pay toll too. So please, look in your own backyard, and before you dish out some advice, best to taste your own medicine first. It's happening too many times already liao.

satria_95 said:
alantan,
hahaha And many would think that slow cars are safe, but in fact, they seem to be......
I mean, those slow and don't know what they're doing on the road wan

2zzge said:
the slow cars contributing accident statistics..?

so u think everyone's car as fast as yours?
or everyone drive fast like you?
or everyone drive big engine ?
I'll take this as a joke.

Glocker said:
Then dear PM, would you tell your gamen 'servants' stop using the police force to clear the bloody highway for their own bloody pleasure when they feel like it? Furthermore they do this at speeds definitely higher than the speed limit. If i'm not mistaken, the highway was built with taxpayers' money, and we pay toll too. So please, look in your own backyard, and before you dish out some advice, best to taste your own medicine first. It's happening too many times already liao.

You must also remember the reason why they clear highways for ministers and VIPs is because those are very important and very busy people and their valuable time is needed to run our country properly. If they get held up by traffic on a daily basis then they wouldn't be able to work effectively with the time they have. You must realise that our PM is much more busier than we are and he has so many tasks to accomplish everyday.

cyclonite said:
You must also remember the reason why they clear highways for ministers and VIPs is because those are very important and very busy people and their valuable time is needed to run our country properly. If they get held up by traffic on a daily basis then they wouldn't be able to work effectively with the time they have. You must realise that our PM is much more busier than we are and he has so many tasks to accomplish everyday.

wahseh sound so convincing ... if only i can belive that is the truth

Do the Sultans and the Agong have anything important to run other than making their appointment at golf clubs? BTW, saw a red Lamborghini Diablo (must have been royal family member, has a number 1 license plate) on my way back to KL. Was stuck in a jam in the stretch of highway after Ayer Keroh thanks to some idiots. Impressive (the Lambo I mean), but it must have been hell to drive that thing in a traffic crawl.

Anyway, I want to talk about accidents as well. If you manage to crash or get into an accident on nice, straight, long, wide roads such as the PLUS highway in the dry...may I suggest you kill yourself because you are stupid. Yes, you are stupid. Only your stupidity could have caused you to crash. Only exemption from this rule is if stupidity came looking for you through no wrong doings of your own ie. a stupid was tailgating you or a stupid lost control and veered into you. Otherwise, you crash, therefore, you are stupid. Hope you pay the price and no thanks for causing everyone else to be late.