Pioneer stuff

differ

question to all ICE sifus.

i already own a Pioneer CD/Mp3 HU which has served me really well for coming up to 2 years already.

my question. what about Pioneer amps and speakers and subwoofers? good/moderate/bad?

so far.... as my observation..... japanese company that makes HU dont produce very good amps and speakers.... juz my observation...i might be wrong....
except alpine F1 amp.... :D

pioneer ODR are good, pioneer premier also good. both are costly though, good stuff dont come cheap, u get what u pay for :D

pioneer had released its new amp and subs meant for SPL purpose.
they hit pretty good numbers but their speakers range are average but costly. HU is good and value for money though.

i see. so Pioneer Amps and Subs are good value for money.

what would you recommend for speakers tho?

i dont think they are value for money as the good stuff is only their most expensive stuff, uknowhatimean?

give us your budget range we will give u a few brands to look at.

what i meant is the HU is value for money. Not the speaker and amps. Their tweets tend to be harsh and comp is average.

pioneer HUs, according to many installers (those who sell them, of course) are reliable/ low faulty rate..
agree with zenn, their premier & odr models are excellent stuff, but high price.. IMO, there are many other choices, with that kind of pricing.. as for speakers, the same goes.. ie: good stuff for higher end models & high price.. ;)

hmmm, i guess my budget is pretty much what i save up to... i'm pretty clueless when it comes to ICE as yet. i'm planning to change speakers first, then only moving on to the amps, and finally subs.

but i listen to the rock/punk genre a lot. at times hip-hop. what would be the recommended setup ?

IMO, brands like JL Audio, JBL, Lightning Audio kinda perform well for rock/ punk music.. Morel, Focal perform better for vocal type of music.. DLS is the in-between.. DLS Reference Magnesium series eg. MS6 works well for rock/ heavy metal songs.. anyway, there are many brands out there to choose from...
if budget permits, go for at least the mid-level series of any particular brand that u like.. if u have step by step ICE plan, i think having a good/ decent headunit is the best start eg: HU with build-in crossover, TA/ time correction, EQs etc etc
:)

hmmm, i'm using a Pioneer (Mosfet 50Wx4) Mp3 HU for the moment. for rm500 i paid around 2 years back, it's serving me pretty well, reads every disc i put in. i plan to change it but it would not be the first.

assuming i skip the HU step, what would be next?

pioneer HU are known to be quite reliable.. :D
if your current head unit has 3 pre-outs, it provides more flexibility.. ;)
maybe u could stick to your plan ie. speakers, then amp, then sub..
or u could also do the speakers, amp, sub all at once.. if do all at once dun have to strip your ride many times..
if do step by step, maybe have to plan ahead to match the stuffs that u'll get later eg. amps that will drive the speakers/ sub.. anyhow, very often the installer will 'poison' u & u end up doing everything at one go. :cool: