Passive Xover or direct....

velodyne82

To all ICE hardcore,:regular_smile:

I'm an ICE newbie and I m planning to install my new ICE.With 1x2ch power amp for my front 2 way component set, is it advisable for me to use a passive Xover??
Im using JVC KDG-615 HU.

second question:
1xjvc HU 2 (preout)
2x2ch power amp
2xsub
2 way component set(for front only,ignore back)

Do i need any component that i missed out??

Pls advise,cheers:X-:

Thanks to both gurus...
craziechild, what do u mean by my HU can go active??

thanks for da advice.
craziechild, wat do u mean by my HU can go active??
Do u think the JVC kdg-615 capable for this setup??
cherrzzz

i dunno about your HU... but there are only a few high end HU tht can do this... mostly are 1k++ HU... check your HU manual for the info...

active is you can control your tweets and mids frequency cut off point manually... so when you are runninng active you dun hav to use the passives... search the thread for more info... cuz i am very kame in explaination... sorry....

cheers...

oldskolboyz said:
Minimum req... 1 4ch + 1 2ch amp or 3 2ch amp... but you only have 2 x 2ch amp..

oldskolboyz,

U see, i m running only a pair of 2 way component set, n 2 subs. so my configuration would be:

Amp A(2ch)>2 way passive xover>2 way component spk

Amp B(2ch)>2 sub:regular_smile:

so, is this setup reasonable??

craziechild said:
i dunno about your HU... but there are only a few high end HU tht can do this... mostly are 1k++ HU... check your HU manual for the info...

active is you can control your tweets and mids frequency cut off point manually... so when you are runninng active you dun hav to use the passives... search the thread for more info... cuz i am very kame in explaination... sorry....

cheers...

thanks buddy...i will burn the mid night oil today.....hahaha:X-:

velodyne82 said:
oldskolboyz,

U see, i m running only a pair of 2 way component set, n 2 subs. so my configuration would be:

Amp A(2ch)>2 way passive xover>2 way component spk

Amp B(2ch)>2 sub:regular_smile:

so, is this setup reasonable??

What I mean earlier.. Full active set-up.. either direct from HU or using e/cross.. that the min req. for amp. If I not mistaken your HU don't have built in crossover.. Your plan is basic set-up... not a prob at all unless your amp don't have built-in crossover, phase adjustment & sub sonic filter..

HU can run full active direct from HU.. Alpine 7998 (3way), Clarion HX-D2 (4way)