old scool beetle modification

maintain the original engine and original looks....
if i not mistaken is air-cooled right? :) never need to remember to check radiator level. :D

hmm....although is aircool...
but we must know this type enjin is more suitable in uro country.
as seen, even proche tryied to develope water cooling system already.

sometime stuck in traffic,can imagine how hot is the enjin....all the hot air around....i also affraid the enjin will boom. some time a enjin temp gauge is needed for vw

there is no such thing as 1.8 block. all vw engine late models came with 1584cc, nothing more.

to get 1.8 u need 90.5 or 94 pistons. you can get these installed reliably.

there are already 2386 and 2442cc running around town already.

expensive hobby.

brader-bob said:
is it ka have 1.8 block.... wat kind engine he take the block maa... wat i now only 1.6 have...
but 1.8 dun now arr...

yeah u r rite.... its a 1.6 engine..... but bigger piston, bore bigger then become 1.8, bro =)

Anybody from KL? I've started this hobby since 1998, when I bought my almost junk 1966, Ipoh plate Bettle for RM2,500.00. Since then I have spent almost RM10K just to maintain the wear & tear.(you will be surprised to see my beetle still looks like a junk!!) Most of my RM went to mechanical things...eg. change engine to 1.6 (bought at RM600.00 in 1998, with no papers!!) and still maintaining 1.3 gearbox, fully chrome the engine for RM750.00, change to twin solex carburettor (bought for RM1,200.00), short throw shifter, change all 4 abs, change all 4 brake shoe & etc. etc. and you know what, at the end of the day my car still have the old junk car look with faded maroon paint, surface rusted body parts with dented bumpers but can RUN until finish the speedometer..around 120MPH if not mistaken!!

chroming the engine is a BIG mistake. it makes the engine run hot and these taiwan made tin does not have the correct internal cooling vanes as the original.

trust me, your engine will be even faster with originals.

finish speedometer is around 90 mph. you using 14 or 15 inch rims?

doing up a beetle takes a lot more than 10K.

solex carb...they are OK, but wait till you try a pair of dual throat carbs.

btw, who u send your car to?

Basic upgrade and restore almost done there...
Maybe another 4k for a paint and bumpers...thats all for a budget beetle

120mph meter? 944 ah?

BV5015 said:
BP is a heaven of modding beetle ler....
those Beetle Rotary/EJ sifu all there....hehe

wht i know is ''new beetle rims'' , ''34ICT
944 meters....his locate JB

yeah man.... in bp so many those who modified beetle.. the one top if i not mistake lar...the owner named "man volkswagen".. his bengkel area jalan tongkang pechah... so many orang "lama" modified the beetle....
i seen one beetle blue color with white stripes area bp using rotary engine... very powerfull "ooo".... dun now where he put the radiator tank larr.. maybe ikat pakai dawai kat belakang...hehhe..

solex carb...they are OK, but wait till you try a pair of dual throat carbs.

Bro, what is the difference between twin solex carburettor and dual throat carbs. My twin solex carburettor is like twin webber carbs, comes in a pair, one on each side with round shape open pod filters and linkage.

Yes, my engine tend to overheat, maybe due to the chroming!! Anyway for me to de-chrome?

I'm looking for 12 volts wiper motor and a pair of front disc brakes set, any contact?

twin solex are single barrel carbs. means 1 butterfly on each carb.

dual throat carbs have 2 butterflies. they come with better quality and more accurate linkage as well.

how do you know your engine is due to overheat? chrome makes the engine run hot, but not to the extent of overheating yet.

is your engine built properly?

to dechrome? remove all the chrome you put and use original black colour engine tin.

no links on the wiper...disc brakes? try and ask around, alot are already running Japanese Nissan brakes. they are much better in terms of braking and can also use back your EMPI 8 SPOKE rims.

yeah man.... long time not sign in at zerothundred... so many works arr... don have time to upgrade... hehehe ..
brake disc at halfcut have arr..u can find the parts in there... dun now wat type but can fit to beetle.the cos about rm1000 like that lar.... im also want to find full set front and rear brake disc to fit my beetle.... beetle engine can insert turbo ka frens... who know wat turbine can insert to beetle engine??

Write your reply...