No Intercooler on a VR4 engine

Originally posted by vestax@Sep 9 2004, 04:15 PM
haha when u wanna take me jalan jalan cari fighter on highway ?. :lol:
hihihihi...uhuk uhukkkkkkk....batuk lorr....cali fighter ahh????haiya...wan me to blow my turbo,fry my engine,bald my tires ahh????hehehehe.....takut ooOOoo...master pump oso rosak...disk depan mirage....blakang lagi drum.....haiyaaaa....tarik pickup steering lari lari wannn...sumore kereta banyak hodoh...cat suma sula kuar oOOoOO.....malu saya.....hahahahHHhHHAHHHAhahha :lol: :D :P

Running without intercooler is not part of the original VR4 spec... very risky! Otherwise, they won't put it in the 1st place... :P

wow...really got balls to run a VR4 without IC. first of all, we need to know why the intercooler is fitted. VR4 intercooler is huge by any standard. it is an air-to-air cooler to cool down the air before it enter the combustion chamber. Now, hot air carry less oxygen and that is why the intercooler is placed in front of the radiator. to cool the air. Why? because when the turbo is in operation, it literally forced the air into the chamber, therefore, huge amount of heat is generated. Now fren, your engine is still running doesnt mean it is in good condition. Put this in the picture, normal ppl can sit in sauna=engine for 30 min, but if u continually sit inside the sauna, very soon, u will be steamed alive. There r signs that the engine is stressed to the maximum already. Water temperature. the reason the water temperature is rising is because the circulating water cannot absorb and dissipate all the heat produced by the engine. You are running extremely lean air/fuel ratio....thus the excessive heat. Try to put an exhaust temperature gauge into your car and see...i believe it is in excess of 1000 celcius...perhaps even more. A normal turbo engine operate between 700-900 celcius running on full boost. you are killing the engine in a slow n guaranteed death....and when the engine die, it never tell u.....it will just melt n go...

My future E39A rebuild... must use this intercooler... :P

kekeke aiyo i think use this better la !

http://www.adely.fivio.net/galant/img88.jpg

http://www.adely.fivio.net/galant/img99.jpg

vestax,

That fella welded 2 intercoolers together... cannot fit in the Galant ler... unless custom make new bumpers.

hihihihi....i know the effects of running w/o intercoolers.....as for rite now still no greens for the piping....since u guys got extra money why not dun have to go disko and donate the money to me....hahhHAHHahahaha....that way i'm running wif intercooler....

By the way how much now do i/c piping....no need stainless steel...just besi ekzos oso can.... :D

i think wif RM 700 - 900 u can do full i/c piping oredi..
stainless steel le of course .. and i think it is included wif those silicone hose..u can try J'FA or mebi Jiang Hian ( i wonder if i spell correctly )
i saw the work of that werkshop..quite nice and good job

Originally posted by GSR5559@Sep 14 2004, 04:55 AM
stainless steel le of course .. and i think it is included wif those silicone hose..u can try J'FA or mebi Jiang Hian ( i wonder if i spell correctly )
Wahhh 700-900....jaafar and ah heng high end wan.....Jiang Hian dunno lar...but high end i cannot afford rite now...better worst i cant afford forever....thinking of kedai exhaust mebbe...wif normal steel...that way can do bigger pippings.... :D

dude.... i get shivers reading this thread of you running a VR4 with no I/C... :o i pity your engine... get any I/C laa... try a GSR one... cheaper.... see how that goes.... never heard of anyone "down grading" to GSR I/C before. Maybe you could be the first. :lol: If you do it... keep us posted.... ;)

yo bro , when wanna go yamcha ? i wanna see your iswara vr4 with no intercooler :lol: . i got mirage intercooler , u want ah ? but got slight leak , can weld one no prob . :lol:

Originally posted by GSR5559@Sep 14 2004, 04:55
wahlao
so cheap???
i spent 350 on piping from filter to turbo
and another 300 just a small bent from throttle body upwards - maybe 10" long.
and it was done in JFA.

i dunno if using mild steel as opposed to stainless steel for your intercooler piping is safe or not..

given time, the insides would surely rust and all that will be going into ure engine.. long run... :(

CCL - JFA is reknowned thats why the prices are higher. I have a friend who did full stainless steel piping for the engine bay for RM900 also.

danny kalau pening pasal intercooler piping best tak payah intercooler
i sponser u rubber hose from turbo to throttle..

Originally posted by minivan@Sep 14 2004, 16:40
dude.... i get shivers reading this thread of you running a VR4 with no I/C... :o i pity your engine... get any I/C laa... try a GSR one... cheaper.... see how that goes.... never heard of anyone "down grading" to GSR I/C before. Maybe you could be the first. :lol: If you do it... keep us posted.... ;)
I/c i got....got aledi from beginning...but not install yet due to need to do piping....No $$$$ lar...but got I/C.....hhehhehehe :D

Vestax....weh nanti lar yumcha bro....my car aledi senget sebelah u know...VR4 very heavy lor.... :D :D :rolleyes: :lol: