Uncooled intercooler for turbo engines..

Areoulz

What happened if intercooler of turbo engines not properly cooled by a proper air ventilation like blocked by a bumper, hood or I just want to hide it off? Will this condition may reduce the performance drastically or even damage the engine?

I just don't want to make a hole to my hood. My engine come with top mount intercooler like Scooby..

Instead of cooling it down with fresh air youre going to be using recycled hot air under the hood bro... what car do you have anyway? :hmmmm:

What happened if intercooler of turbo engines not properly cooled by a proper air ventilation like blocked by a bumper, hood or I just want to hide it off? Will this condition may reduce the performance drastically or even damage the engine?

When u have an intercooler not colled properly,Most common problem is hot air enters ur engine cause inefficient burnt sue to lower air density per volume flow. Low density = low oxigen.

Worse case scenario when u are boosting is the air gets heated during when it's compressed in the intercooler piping and enters ur engine caused heat in your cylinders and then cause detonation...

if you dont mind me asking why you hiding your intercooler bro??

Some ppl just like to be low profile...

U can convert it to front mount...

I think it's MYVI....

go front mount n spray it black.
or make a side mount ic like.there one car like dat.forget which one

Err.. Yes.. It just myvi fitted with YRV Engine (K3-VET):tongue: My mechanic advised me to bring the intercooler to front for a better cooling (and show off), but i liked it with original condition (plus to reduce additional cost on metal piping/hose work)..

I see some of converted KANCIL owner don't bother to put scoop for air to cool their L5 intercooler, so i guess it's gonna be OK.. Or wrong?

its gonna be ok...just a lil bit hotter and less performance only...and more fc too...

Use air intake hoses to diverge the cold air outside to the top of your inter-cooler bro :) 2 or 3 hoses should get the job done perfectly. I've seen a few myvis doing this.

[/COLOR]
Err.. Yes.. It just myvi fitted with YRV Engine (K3-VET):tongue: My mechanic advised me to bring the intercooler to front for a better cooling (and show off), but i liked it with original condition (plus to reduce additional cost on metal piping/hose work)..

I see some of converted KANCIL owner don't bother to put scoop for air to cool their L5 intercooler, so i guess it's gonna be OK.. Or wrong?

kancil has a vented front grill. Some MYVI, tarak. So, there are a few suggestion.

1) change to vented hood sold on aftermarket. Bit it looks extremely ugly to me. Sorry, just IMHO/to my point of view/purely personal preference/etc... But since u don't want to cut ur bumper, then u may be in the same group, so it's out of the selection.

2) rise the hood at the hinge with some washers, get a Cold Air Intake hose and direct the cold air to the intercooler. Doing this will only cost u
3) if urs is the newer version, the u can even save the CAI, just mount a plate on the subframe
and separate the hot air from exhaust and at the same time directing air to the IC. Can be done within RM20.
Cheers.

i'ts wiser to put some scoop to direct air into the intercooler... yes, on a cool day you can live w/o the scoop... but try maintaining boost i.e. during hill climb and you can feel the engine lethargic

When I first swap my kancil with L5 turbo, most ppl sez either go for front mount or never put a scoop... me? I took the hassle of 'kahwin' a Move L6 scoop (the same engine as L5) to my bonnet

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/papagoines/My%20Car/EngineSwap/Exterior/th_21022009-01_BonetSkupGeneralView.jpg
http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/papagoines/My%20Car/EngineSwap/Exterior/th_21022009-02_BonetSkupCloseUp.jpg

I know it's not pretty but it does the job...

before the scoop (didn't install it at first, because need to go to jpj first for inspection)... on WOT for a long interval... my car seems bogged down a bit....it became worst on a hot day at the traffic light... when you sprint when the light goes green.... it feel bogged as well... but still fast enough to escape those big boys hehehe

but after doing the scoop... it's not that bogged down...the faster you go (hence the faster airflow into the scoop) more livelier the rpm and boost meter shoot up hehehe

one more thing, in my experience w/o the scoop; my plugs tends to be whitish.... it supposed to be choclate2 a bit...

I'm pondering front-mount since my kancil round light provide ample space for a behind-the-bumper mounting and sprayed it black just like 3zz mentioned...but have to wait until my std turbo kong first... replace it with a bigger turbo then front mount hhahahahah

just put the yrv scoop to ur myvi lo..its nice yet big enuf for cooling

if u worry its not enuf, do a water spray + nozzle lo....like oem scooby....spray whenever u wan

or u can try to mod ur bonet with internal rail to let air enter from front like pajero 2500cc...... lol .....

front mount, you will lose power with no air flowing through your intercoolers, with hot air, less density, creates detonations and knocking, ignition would retard, power loss, fuel consumption would be bad.

its good to have cold air bro, i mean theres a reason why they have intercoolers and why all oem car air box design to suck in cold air =)

Subaru has a different story... I have a few friends with scooby have the intercooler coverted to front mount. But have overheating problem...

Then change back, ok edy...

advisable to leave the IC to be based in front to get better air flow cooling system,some rules are never meant to be broken :burnout: