nissan ad resort

I think it's better to change to the meter panel with the RPM built in. Cheap tachometers aren't really that accurate and also external tachometers are target for getting stolen.

Originally posted by julie2121@Jan 30 2005, 19:30
:huh: y got few post lost ?? :o :o
zth got hacked so they reverted to an older database :)

Paul Tan,
Brother...sorry for not calling you on Sunday! Fell sick la...due too much stress and getting caught in the rain. haha! Anyway, when will you be free to yam char and as you said drag our machines? Must tell me in advance...cos my gf staying with me for the weekends, so if she around means no dragging...if not i sure get nagging! :P
Anyway, i am just waiting to see yer new machine and also yer old and faithful Sunny. Gotta hear the sound generated from yer muffler la...i heard it is beautiful! haha! Well, we should catch up real soon! ;)

andy, about black tinted, i dont get question by traffic officer but i never pass jpj roadblock so far. I think should be fine.
2. if u always speeding, car without power steering is recommended. but if they have something like sensor when its reach certain speed the power steering will be off, then should be fine but my adr dont have that. Steering is very light at the high speed ... dangerous.
3. if the muffler doesnt block a flow... should be fine but i dont think it will gain any hp improvement
4.get a meter

btw, thank to member who r join the tt last sat, lot of nice car were there especially julie the mooneyes hehehe, the sky blue monster, the dark blue n etc but for me all them have a nice ride ...

Originally posted by ANDY_RESORT@Jan 30 2005, 23:49
Seriously, what happened to the other posts posted last nite?

Got questions:

1. What is the ratio of getting stopped by JPJ/Police if we tint the ADR rear side dead windows to total blackness? :huh:

2. Dont have power steering for my ADR, shud I install one if I change to 16" rims? Dont wanna lower the car as I hate it. So far, with the stock 13" I'm OK while parking and I love it when crusing, steering coz not so sensitive/responsive.

3. I have a exhaust drum (muffler?) waiting to be attached to my ADR. QUestion - will it make the car under-powered? No mods on the entire system, just the drum with twin outlets (custom la) :D

4. Shall I change the meter panel to 97 model or just add an RPM meter ? Whc is more afforable and durable?

5. Lemme think ... hmm...

THANKS in advance! Appreciate to all the sifus of ADR! Im a true fan of wagons! Including the Forester... hmm...
Hey Andy_Resort...

I advise you not to tint yer glass totally black. My fren did it and kena saman. He had his tinted glass for like 6 mths and many cops he passed back did not bother. However, recently he unlucky la...the authorities getting stricter...so he got a RM150 fine. If u want a tint, just tint sikit sikit la...don't tint until totally black...unless you carrying illegal stuff in the back of yer car la! haha!

Um, abt changing to 16" rims. Good idea if you want better and smoother ride on highways and also slightly better handling. I changed to 15" rims, cos 16" tyres cost me abt RM100 more! Sheesh! So for 4 pieces, i need to folk out another RM400 on tyres. So i opted for the 15s. So far, i like them. Can really feel a difference when cornering...gives me more confidence when taking corners at higher speed. Parking...no problem....in fact i find parking my car easier also! Seriously man, the 13" are way to small for such a big car we drive.

Abt modifying yer exhaust drum...i really dunno ler! I am not expert in this. However, i did change my muffler and center piece to the racing type. I do get much better acceleration and low-end power...but do feel a loss in mid-range. <_< So i really need to downshift all the time, if i want to lose some guy tailgating me. Damn makan minyak also!

ANDY:ratio gettin stop?? now CNY season, sure kena. but as an excuxe u can say that ur car don have the cover at the back.if dun tint ppl can sell wat inside. ;)

if wan to put 16"better install p/steering. if not wah !! u know when u install it. ur hand will b pumped up like popey lol :D

for meter panel it will cost u around rm200 gua i think. then for rpm meter depends wat brand. as i know u say wan to convert to rally style, then i prefer u go for rpm meter. more ganas and scary.

for the drum it wont effect much but one thing, no matter wat exhaust u install, ur fuel consumption will b a bit lower.

ALL: HI HI , to all . hows life?? today monday , i feel suck later wan to go snake round round c got ADR ppl on the road or not??

I agree with Bobkidi that cars with power steering is very dangerous for speeding. Can easily oversteer and spin your car to the divider. :(
That is why most real sports cars don't have power steering. And also many continental cars like the Volvos, BMWs and Mercs...have progressive power steering. Means that when you go faster, the steering also gets heavier. So u get the right steering response for the speed you travel at. Imagine you travel at 180km/h, and you have power steering...you accidently turn your steering too fast and too much...sure go skidding! I have seen and experienced this before.

My friend was driving his Wira at about 130km/h on the highway, i dunno what the heck he did...but apparently he wanted to avoid a pot hole and he just turned the steering too much and he lost control...we went skidding all over the road. Damn lucky for us, there were no cars nearby and he just managed to miss the curb before gaining back control. REALLY SCARY!!! :(

Julie2121...you are the king for making excuses la! haha! Such an excuse to give to the cops...u also can think off! Good la you! :lol:

Haha! I also lke what you said abt the power steering. But we all are guys la...no need power steering. We want to build arms like Popeye! ;)

if like that , u wan popeye i can suggest u one thing. u put 17" lowered the car then wide tyres!! ur arms will grow bigger in the shortest time mah

Wahaha! Good idea la! Julie2121...I heard that you are using 17" rims right? So yer arms got get bigger ar?

Now i know why u change to 17" rims and dun mind losing power on yer car. You get bigger arms mah...all the girls will start coming to you! :lol:

ok lesson take, whoever want to be babe magnet
please take out ur power stering then start growing ur arm like popeye :lol:

Nickster82: sorry my arm still so small, coz my car come with p/steering. but all the muscle not at my arm, :( they all gome down to my tummy. thats y i also got big big tummy.

bobkidi: i wan to b the magnet but i also wan to keep my p/steering can ar ??

Forgot to post this..

Yesterday noon went up to Genting with 3 other guys - 4 guys in my ADR. Driving uphill was my favourite thing to do with all the momentum-gaining efforts and overtaking lansi cars.

We got to the top in 15 mins from kaki bukit. THen when coming downhill. it was already evening about 6pm. Road still dry but weather wasnt hot at all. Peviously, the normal thing of using low gears to descent with minimal braking was engaged but this time I braked too much. Reaching the foothills oni I realised that there were smoke coming out from my tyres. Stopped the car and found out that the brake pads got too hot thus produced smoke due to heavy braking while descending. Mak oi, terkejut aku man! Stop la for a while.

While want to resume journey, my brake pedal became so light as I step on it, it went till far back and got contact with the chassis!! As if I dont have the brakes anymore! But I kept on stepping on it and lucky it got back to normal. Slow only la going down hill but till reach Setapak I accelerate and it was OK all the way till back home. *PHEW* !

All I can say, I still need more skills in driving on hills. Perhaps I was too excited also when driving while blasting my CNY CD. :D Gong xi ah gong xi.... ! :P

andy for this case, pls make sure u change ur brake fluid. actually brake fluid is not recommended to top up. i say mot recommended , i didnt say cannot top up. coz when old brake fluid get mixed up with the new brake fluid, in terms of fizik it will turn to neutral. this mean that ur brake fluid cannot withstand and heat at all. worst to worst if ur lucky like andy, he escaped from boiling his main brake resevor.

last time i also been through this case, then i went to w/shop and change my brake fluid to dot 4, not is ok going up and downhill with my 17" still kool. pls check ur brake fluid!!

nowdays CNY almost here also not like is happening !!??

Julie - Does it got to do with the brake fluid ?? Coz the smoke is from the brake pads, not the fluid. I think there is more than 1 problem here - pads and brake fluid. What do you think? Brakes coz its cheap ones. Heard EBC brakes are best, whats your opinion? AS for brake fluid, shud I get the foreman to suck all old fluid and put in new fluid? Whc type of DOT4 fluid u reco ?

As for the power steering kit, heard it costs around RM400 to get it installed. Its a Sentra one. Can I not instal it if I fit in 16" rims? I malas la want to install and fork out another 400 bux for it...

for ur braking prob, i also suspect brake fluid. i havent drive ur car yet and i don know wat is ur pad condition. brake pad also will effect but till all the smoke also come out its more into brake fluid. any dot 4 fluid will do. as for me i use motul. but is expensive.

for stock my car i dun upgrade my brake pad. stock peformance, torque come very late sure stock brake pad can support. if engine already upgraded then i encourage ppl to upgarade braking sys.

then on ur p/steering, actually is up to u. for my i suggest u to install it. driving also more relaxing. for highway top speeding, progressive steering sys ?? is more into skills i say that. let say while ur doing 160-170km/h would u simply turn ur steering ??

progreesive steering doing at the high speed also ............ is more on how u drive ur car. last time i also modd an old nissan sunny doing 200++ without any progressive steering , just normal steering also can. even cefiro A30,A31,A32 also dun have that kinda of p/steering sys....

as i know japanese cars on honda. honda accord and others european cars usually have. 2 thumbs up to honda!!

Wah! Julie2121...u drive modded Sunny at 200+km/h! Respect man! I think my balls shrink when sitting in a Sunny at 200+km/h! I sat in my friend's Sunny before, he was driving it at abt 140km/h...i already takut! Whoa..u drive similar car at 200+...that is something man!

Um, for Andy's brakes issue. I have yet to hear anything like it b4...sounds pretty scary at that time for him. I really have no comments for this...except you better go check yer brakes...take care of it and dun brake so hard la! You gotta remember one thing...our stock brakes...have a serious problem with stopping quickly and short. Also if you brake too hard and too much...yer brakes will surely heat up too much. I used to brake really hard too...like to drive fast mah! However, my brakes heat up too much and keep needing to change the pads. Even my mechanic asked me to go easier on the brakes! haha! So remember this! However, it was recommended to me that i change to better brake pads which have better heat resistance and also braking power. I have yet to do this yet...but maybe you could try it and see if it helps.

Geez, men. Pretty screwed up la this forum. Whats happening la? Are there envious saboteurs trying to play play with us?? Or are they being jealous that AD Resorts looks too COOL than sedans after some simple, affordable mods? B) :D

Or am I just being paranoid? :blink:

I think the last posting was the supposed photo shoot at Putrajaya on the 20th Feb and not last Sun (yesterday) :P :P

CNY coming, car look so buruk with the old paint. SIGH, takpe la. Janji it works smooth during my angpau visits! HAHA ! Insya allahh... :D