New method of measuring fuel consumption/efficiency

RENESIS VIII

The other day someone was arguing regarding fuel consumption. Let me post out what the person told me about fuel efficiency.

Myvi 1.3 and 1.5 drive and press the same level of petrol. 1.5 will be faster rite? Since it use the same level of petrol. Let 1sec = 0.1litre of petrol.
Another example.
The myvi 1.3 take 5 sec to reach 10m .
Compare with
Myvi 1.5 take 5 sec to reach 10.5m.
Myvi 1.3 used (0.5litre/10m)= 0.05litre/meter
Myvi 1.5 used (0.5litre/10.5m)=0.0476 litre/meter.

I was dumbstruck when I read this... First time in my life I heard such a thing. :adore: this person just rewrote the history of how to measure fuel consumption

Most of the time, even a 1.5 vs 1.5 of same make, model will return differ FC.....:driver:

Did you check out the latest scientific journal this piece is probably being published there!:biggrin:

Erm..bigger cc means bigger engine capacity thus need bigger explosion or combustion to utilize the optimum level. Thus the thing you read is incorrect. This is my opinion and understanding on internal combustion engine. You may argue with my opinion and I'm all open to learn more =)

The other day someone was arguing regarding fuel consumption. Let me post out what the person told me about fuel efficiency.

Myvi 1.3 and 1.5 drive and press the same level of petrol. 1.5 will be faster rite? Since it use the same level of petrol. Let 1sec = 0.1litre of petrol.
Another example.
Compare with

I was dumbstruck when I read this... First time in my life I heard such a thing. :adore: this person just rewrote the history of how to measure fuel consumption

I liked your post because I'm as dumbstruck as you are.

The fella is assuming both cars have the same A/F ratio and both have exactly everything : weight, aerodynamics, etc.

If that is true then perhaps his formula works. But I'm pretty damn sure it's not true therefore he's a complete idiot. :biggrin:

I liked your post because I'm as dumbstruck as you are.

The fella is assuming both cars have the same A/F ratio and both have exactly everything : weight, aerodynamics, etc.

If that is true then perhaps his formula works. But I'm pretty damn sure it's not true therefore he's a complete idiot. :biggrin:

Too subjective!
Put a Myvi 1.3 DVVT to a F1 body and chassis, fc very niceeee~
Izso reply laaaa.

Another example.
Compare with

First of all, how did you get 1 sec = 0.1 L. I'm not asking why is 1 sec = 0.1 L (I know these values are just an example). I am asking what method did you use to get the sec per L or L per sec unit. Were the cars moving or idling to get this 1 sec = 0.1 L?

If the cars were moving when this measurement was done, then both cars with the same 0.1 L/sec would travel the same distance in the same time, assuming all conditions were kept the same as each other. If this is the case, then your given example of one car travelling further than another is flawed.

But if the cars were only idling when the measurement was done, then there is a possibility that one car could travel further or in a shorter time than another car, despite both cars having equal 0.1 L/sec. Why? L/sec unit does not include an important factor of how much fuel it takes to move your car. This unit L/sec is more useful to give an idea how much fuel is burned during car idling.

First of all, how did you get 1 sec = 0.1 L. I'm not asking why is 1 sec = 0.1 L (I know these values are just an example). I am asking what method did you use to get the sec per L or L per sec unit. Were the cars moving or idling to get this 1 sec = 0.1 L?

If the cars were moving when this measurement was done, then both cars with the same 0.1 L/sec would travel the same distance in the same time, assuming all conditions were kept the same as each other. If this is the case, then your given example of one car travelling further than another is flawed.

But if the cars were only idling when the measurement was done, then there is a possibility that one car could travel further or in a shorter time than another car, despite both cars having equal 0.1 L/sec. Why? L/sec unit does not include an important factor of how much fuel it takes to move your car. This unit L/sec is more useful to give an idea how much fuel is burned during car idling.

Allo kawan..u got read properly or not

They believe :
The throttle is the 'minyak'..thus pressing the same amount of throttle injecting the same amount of minyak...

The amount of fuel used during idling does not relate to the amount of fuel during acceleration (high load) or cruising (low/mid load)...

More quotes from previous argument before the one on top
Saying that about official manufacturer fuel mileage results.

For your information u get is all calculated from the computer. Thats not accurate since it haven count on he presure of the wind and the engine power on the up hill road.
Simple. If 1.3 and 1.5 drive up hill road. Which will consume more petrol?
Dont tell me when you drive down hill you go and step on the petrol? Hahaha

Measuring FC of cars are like measuring a lenght without a ruler...

you can never be correct, because so many limitatations are involved, tyre pressure, weight, gradient of the road,
exact speed for the exact time, pressure applied on the accelerator, viscocity of the engine oil and many many more....

Measuring FC of cars are like measuring a lenght without a ruler...

you can never be correct, because so many limitatations are involved, tyre pressure, weight, gradient of the road,
exact speed for the exact time, pressure applied on the accelerator, viscocity of the engine oil and many many more....

Yeah! it's very subjective. In the end, I'll just pump rm80 and monitor the KM covered by my lousy daily ride. If it return around 10km/l on city drive and 13km/l on highway drive (+/-) , I know my car and budget is doing fine.
Traffic condition aside, If I start to get higher FC, I'll just check the tyre pressure(regularly) and maybe some DIY TB and air filter cleaning. EO does affect the FC as I experience swapping between few brand before finally settled for the smoother engine feel in Eneos.

As for those calculation :
Another example.
Compare with
Myvi 1.5 used (0.5litre/10.5m)=0.0476 litre/meter

I would like to see him do the comparison between F430 and 599GTB :rofl:

More quotes from previous argument before the one on top
Saying that about official manufacturer fuel mileage results.

For your information u get is all calculated from the computer. Thats not accurate since it haven count on he presure of the wind and the engine power on the up hill road.
Simple. If 1.3 and 1.5 drive up hill road. Which will consume more petrol?
Dont tell me when you drive down hill you go and step on the petrol? Hahaha

Where did you find this person? I wanna go visit the site and troll him.

If both cars were to go uphill at the same rate, the 1.5 is not going to go further just because of displacement, it'll just have less effort going uphill. The rate of fuel burning is exactly the same assuming all factors are the same. In fact, if anything I think the 1.5 will burn more assuming the 1.3 doesn't bother trying to accelerate harder to go faster.

And what the hell is "pressure of the wind"?

If both cars were to go uphill at the same rate, the 1.5 is not going to go further just because of displacement, it'll just have less effort going uphill. The rate of fuel burning is exactly the same assuming all factors are the same. In fact, if anything I think the 1.5 will burn more assuming the 1.3 doesn't bother trying to accelerate harder to go faster.

Yup, bigger capacity will take more A/F too.

Wind Pressure aka wind resistance.....:biggrin:

Facebook. LOL. I can PM you the profile. SupraFanatics knows who he is. I showed him the post at fb and he told me to post it out here and share to you all :rofl:

Maybe he thought that, for example
Murcielago and Kancil going at a straight like as long as 1km
Let's say Murcielago finishes the 1km distance in 20 seconds.
Kancil reaches it in 100 seconds.
Both cars on full throttle of course.
If I applied the theory of this person, does that mean Kancil uses more petrol than Murcielago because Murcielago is on full throttle for 20 sec while Kancil is on full throttle for 100 sec.
I guess that is how he measures fuel consumption. :rofl:

If the lambo throttle is the same as of kancil's, it probably wouldnt even reach the end line after an hour