guys,
just got an ek, want to change sum stuff..
can sumone xplain the following...
1.ground wire??wuts the use??price??
Hmm this one, I just studied a bit on this in my recent 'adventures' with my LM-1 Wideband and Auxbox kit, and finally I think I can talk about grounding wires and what they do. Thanks to the terms "ground offsets" in the innovate manual. You can look them up and read them.. it's in the logworks software that's freely downloadable.
So the first question.. what do ground wires do?
A: Ground wires essentially tries to fix ground offsets.
Imagine our car as a metal sheet, and due to various factors, may have different resistance for each point of grounding, since we bolt them on, instead of the usual soldering work.
So, if you were to try and check voltage from positive terminal to one random point in your car, you would notice minute differences in voltages (in my case, it's within the 0.1-0.9V range.. one point read 12.3, one point reads 12.4, one point reads 12.1, etc. etc. without ground wires.)
Use digital multimeter to test for better resolution, in this case. Analogue works, but resolution is not as good.
For certain devices that tracks voltage differences like the ECU, which takes readings from the various sensors, these minute differences affect the sensor readings because most sensors are grounded to the car's body as well.
However, ground wires also introduce EMI interference, if you use the "super cikai cap ayam sold for cheap at kedai abang" brand.. Thick insulation, but core wire? chait!
Which is why HKS, Apexi, etc. is selling their ground wires not so cheaply.. but before you think I'm promoting them, I think the apexi one is nice, but price is a bit too #$%#@$% expensive! (O_o). So I ommited ground wires on mine, except the normal stock ones.
2.adjstable abs...what brand best n affordable 4 ek??price??..used??price??
Subjective.. maybe others can give a clue.. I don't know how to answer this one.
High low adjustables without helper springs usually a bit harder, to some, acceptable, to some, not acceptable.
3.which rims best used..15''...16''...17''...??which need to change absorber from stock ones??...
Depends on how much you want to spend on tires.
15" means you can get better quality tires for the price you pay for normal 16" tires.
Some people willing to use 2nd hand taiwan tires of dubious quality so they can use 17-18" rims on their cars, but for me, tire is my lifeline, it keeps my car on the road, it is my source of control.
4.side fender...where 2 get those??used??price??
Why side fenders? EK99 spec conversion? You'd need more than that for a full conversion.
5.bucket seats??used??price??
some of the forummers here are selling this stuff, including me, seats are usually 2.5-3K, depending on condition, some could be more, if they're really well kept, and depending on what seat rails they come with.
6.the speedometer went crazy when drive for long periods...any suggestions??
This one a bit technical, could be loose connections, could be the speedo gear already worn, etc. etc.