Honda EJ/EK

Hikaru said:
There are only 2 versions for the local civic: Vtec and nonevtec. The Vtec is wearing black valve cover and usually auto while the opposite is usually manual, both SOHC.

how come mine one wearing normal valve cover but got vtec? how to check that this engine really got vtec or not?any other signs to look?

HI guys,

Bad news for me..havent got the chance to see the car..alredy sold.. ( its a JDM EK3 1.5 with multimatic gearbox..selling at 46 oni...alredy sold...SHIT...

Lost the faith in getting EK alredy..

there are many others around.....rule of thumb when u buy car, do not rush!!!

woo...thanks hattech!

so..if DOHC vtec, that solenoid probably 2pcs...am i right?...

daniel is right...i have to look for 8 months for miine..and i could say that its worth the wait... so, i guess that was ur previous engine bay hattech? correct?? heheh now post la ur current engine bayy...kamoonn..

hehehe..poison...

Hi sifus

Anther question b4 i decide...

In all of ur opinion, is a normal 1.6 exi Manual better than a 1.6 Auto Vtec?
(both is SOHC engine)- one is with vtec and the other one without Vtec.

Ima actually planning to get a 1.6 EXI one just because its manual...the reason why i dowan 1.6 auto Vtec is because i heard some rumours that when i want to convert to b16a manual, the mounting for the gearbox needs to readjust which basically means mountng on the engine needs to be change...how true is that..

as for if i get manual ( 1.6 exi), then when i wanna convert to b16, i dun need to tempered any of the mountings..

thanks for the valuable advise..
one more thing, which one in term of power ( 1.6 EXI manual and 1.6 vtec auto is powerful)

phil

exi or efi?
one thing 1.6 vtec auto drag with 1.6 efi manual non-vtec - the efi will win.
but it depen on the skill of using the gear on auto from d2-d3-d4.
if u planning to convert to b16a manual better get the 1.6 efi manual coz it will less hassle for u when getting approval fr jpj. no need to ask permission letter fr unit kawal selia putrajaya.
for 1.6 auto sohc vtec to b16a,
mounting wise nothing different. only u have to mod a bit the gear leaver...

Sorrie bro, its actually EFI..heheh
so that means it doesnt matter if its auto le cause it wont affect any mounting when i plan to convert to a b16 rite.
About the jpj thing, i think its not that hassle unless i wanna plonk in a 2.0 littre inside..
by the way, all the interior and exterior of a sohc(vtec and EFI) is the same rite including the chasis.

for u, which one u prefer to buy if u have the intensions to convert later on?

phil