new at this..

wormtail8

guys,

just got an ek, want to change sum stuff..
can sumone xplain the following...

1.ground wire??wuts the use??price??
2.adjstable abs...what brand best n affordable 4 ek??price??..used??price??
3.which rims best used..15''...16''...17''...??which need to change absorber from stock ones??...
4.side fender...where 2 get those??used??price??
5.bucket seats??used??price??
6.the speedometer went crazy when drive for long periods...any suggestions??

thanks guys...
appreciate the help..

guys,

just got an ek, want to change sum stuff..
can sumone xplain the following...

1.ground wire??wuts the use??price??

Hmm this one, I just studied a bit on this in my recent 'adventures' with my LM-1 Wideband and Auxbox kit, and finally I think I can talk about grounding wires and what they do. Thanks to the terms "ground offsets" in the innovate manual. You can look them up and read them.. it's in the logworks software that's freely downloadable.

So the first question.. what do ground wires do?

A: Ground wires essentially tries to fix ground offsets.

Imagine our car as a metal sheet, and due to various factors, may have different resistance for each point of grounding, since we bolt them on, instead of the usual soldering work.

So, if you were to try and check voltage from positive terminal to one random point in your car, you would notice minute differences in voltages (in my case, it's within the 0.1-0.9V range.. one point read 12.3, one point reads 12.4, one point reads 12.1, etc. etc. without ground wires.)

Use digital multimeter to test for better resolution, in this case. Analogue works, but resolution is not as good.

For certain devices that tracks voltage differences like the ECU, which takes readings from the various sensors, these minute differences affect the sensor readings because most sensors are grounded to the car's body as well.

However, ground wires also introduce EMI interference, if you use the "super cikai cap ayam sold for cheap at kedai abang" brand.. Thick insulation, but core wire? chait!

Which is why HKS, Apexi, etc. is selling their ground wires not so cheaply.. but before you think I'm promoting them, I think the apexi one is nice, but price is a bit too #$%#@$% expensive! (O_o). So I ommited ground wires on mine, except the normal stock ones.

2.adjstable abs...what brand best n affordable 4 ek??price??..used??price??
Subjective.. maybe others can give a clue.. I don't know how to answer this one.
High low adjustables without helper springs usually a bit harder, to some, acceptable, to some, not acceptable.

3.which rims best used..15''...16''...17''...??which need to change absorber from stock ones??...
Depends on how much you want to spend on tires.
15" means you can get better quality tires for the price you pay for normal 16" tires.

Some people willing to use 2nd hand taiwan tires of dubious quality so they can use 17-18" rims on their cars, but for me, tire is my lifeline, it keeps my car on the road, it is my source of control.

4.side fender...where 2 get those??used??price??
Why side fenders? EK99 spec conversion? You'd need more than that for a full conversion.

5.bucket seats??used??price??
some of the forummers here are selling this stuff, including me, seats are usually 2.5-3K, depending on condition, some could be more, if they're really well kept, and depending on what seat rails they come with.

6.the speedometer went crazy when drive for long periods...any suggestions??
This one a bit technical, could be loose connections, could be the speedo gear already worn, etc. etc.

im working slowly on my ek...mayb gettin a v-tec in a yrs time
so will fittin a ground wire will effect anythin??

lets just say i want to lower my car, make it more stable on corners....how much do i need to spend without compromising the comfort?? do i need an adjustable abs, or just change the springs??affordable wise..

im working slowly on my ek...mayb gettin a v-tec in a yrs time
so will fittin a ground wire will effect anythin??

lets just say i want to lower my car, make it more stable on corners....how much do i need to spend without compromising the comfort?? do i need an adjustable abs, or just change the springs??affordable wise..

VTEC in a years time is good, planning is good, but have you heard of new h/cut prices for B-series engine? Getting more expensive due to the fact that they're running out, I think.

Grounding wires, I leave it to your own opinion...

Think about the following before you say you need or not.

a) got high drain devices in your car? high power ignition unit/big subwoofer/amplifiers?

b) is your car suffering from bad cases of ground offsets? (Don't know about you guys, but almost all the STOCK cars I see without grounding wires are running fine without them.)

Suspension wise.. sorry, cannot help.. I'm don't know how to explain or talk about suspension stuff.. one guy says TIEN good! one guy says TIEN hard! One guy says BuddyClub good! One guy says BuddyClub stiff!

So how to even compare like that?

What I did was, set a budget, then buy from a reputable brand.

The only reason why you wouldn't go that route is when you've tested another set on the same make of car you're driving that make you go "I WANT THIS!". :P

thanx alot!!

bythe way...since youre not really into suspension>>may i just ask what type fo absorbers or springs ur using for your car??wuts your initial cost??

wuts the price of a b-series in todays market??

thanx for the advise!!

anyone on th board can give me a heads up on suspension??

thanx alot!!

bythe way...since youre not really into suspension>>may i just ask what type fo absorbers or springs ur using for your car??wuts your initial cost??

wuts the price of a b-series in todays market??

thanx for the advise!!

anyone on th board can give me a heads up on suspension??

I'm using Spoon Sports absorbers, I think I posted photoes of them somewhere in zth before, about slightly less than 2K, 2nd hand when I bought them. They're non adjustables though, so might not be to people who think about lowering their cars. It also runs on poly bushes, instead of pillowballs, so not as hard as more hardcore drivers might like.

As for futher suspension upgrades, I just bought a camber kit to solve my camber problem.. using EK knuckles on EG resulted in -1.5deg camber on all four ends, so I had to get around that problem before even thinking of getting adjustable shocks. I haven't made any thoughts of what absorber to use though, since the spoons' one works pretty fine for my current application. I have my earlier camber alignment printout, so I'll try post it sometime later, when I'm actually at home.

The price of the B-series is quite crazy now.. one h/cut shop actually quoted me 6.5K for a B16A eg9 halfcut.. wargh! That's used to be near the price of an EK halfcut already oh!

Of course, EK one is always pricier.. so expect the worst in terms of h/cut pricing next year.

If you have the storage space, the moment you get a good quote on the halfcut, start it up, test for leaks, and cart it home and store it till you want to convert.

If you're in KL, obviously it's not an option for you, unless you have a workshop friend that's willing to hold on to them for you without 'menghilangkan' the engine.

ok, rite now im in kl...

other than the engine, wut else shud i do to convert my engine to a b series...
wut is the total package cost of the whole setup, put aside the price of the engine since it may change...and where's the best place in kl to do it??
my car is actually an EJ6, a manufactured EK in m'sia rite..and my father recently passed it to me since i started working...so im really taking my time in converting it..starting with the wheel followed by the engine

take ur time.u cud reply when u have the time,,,ok...thanx alot =)

If you're on northern i may help you. Let me quote you the normal price here :-
1. EG9/6 Halcut - RM5.5K ~ 6.5K . Nowday mostly are EG6 halcut (around 5.5K).
2. Workmanship - RM1K
3. Part Change - RM1K.

Do spare about 1K for exahaust system and runner fees too.

- Suspension - Around 1.5K ~ 1.8K can get the adjustable abs.

can sumone xplain to me wut this means??

1. hi/lo soft hard(adjustable)

cheers!!

sumore..

1. 21 step soft hard??
2. 8 step soft hard??

recommendations??

sumore..

1. 21 step soft hard??
2. 8 step soft hard??

recommendations??

I know the terms, but I cannot recommend and say "XXXX" brand is the best, because each brand uses different spring rates and damping, so each brand has a different feel.

High Low
, means that you can adjust it higher, or lower.. (but how high is limited by the shock stroke and the uncompressed spring height (minus sag) (the term is sprung height, means that the height of the spring when it's mounted on the car, and the car is on the road, not on a jack).. unsprung height, is the height of the spring when it's not on the car.

Soft hard means that it's damping adjustable.. there's two types of damping, compression damping and rebound damping.

For most shock setups, the adjustable damping refers compression damping, or in a way it refers to to the speed at which the dampers compress when absorbing shock. In this way, shock absorbers can be made to feel harder, or softer..

The damping slows down the speed of the spring compressing, and so the rest of the energy travels up to the shock mount, if it's not dissipated by the damping. So it would feel hard, although you and I both know that they're the same spring, with the same spring rate.

The steps are simply increments, when you turn the dial on the shock, you are moving the internal valving for the shock. Some, like the ohlins full race shock, have no increments all all.. no stepping, just based on number of turns.

Normally, you'd have thought that to make the suspension harder, you'd mount thicker springs, but compression damping can mimic the effect as well, though there is a limit to how much you can slow down the compression stroke before the damping valve seals give way.

Rebound damping, isn't usually seen on shocks, but shocks do exist that do have adjustable rebound damping usually are both compression and rebound damping adjustable, and have a price tag of 5 digits.

Rebound damping controls how fast the shocks return to their full sprung height... too fast, and the car will feel bouncy, too slow, and the car feels like it has the shocks sticking..

Hope that helps. Learning all the terms will help you understand better what the shop people are explaining.

thx man!!

alot of help from u in u'standing these thins...
u must hav a degree or sumthin on these stuffs!!

No, I don't... I just talk to workshop people a lot...

I find they are more willing to share their info if they know you understand what they are talking about.