NEW 2007 WAJA and SAVVY

how about power window and the door handle?
will it break within 1 year?

FIRST LOOKS

2007 Proton Savvy and Waja
January 19, 2007 03:30 PM Author: Chips

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/article_786/P1190081.jpg

If, when following behind a Proton Savvy, you always had the feeling it was driving towards you, that sort of sensation should no longer occur in coming months. This is because Proton has removed the ‘beak’ which mimicked the front end causing the backside of the car to look like the front. The change is one of a number to be found on the 2007 version of the Savvy which was launched this morning at the Proton head office complex.

Also launched was another ‘enhanced’ version of the Waja which also features notable cosmetic changes to the front end plus some improvements in the cabin. To distinguish the 2007 version from older ones, there are five new colour choices, all of them metallic – Twilight Blue, Iridescent White, Burgundy, Metal Grey and Brilliant Red.

Addressing guests at the launch, Proton MD Dato’ Syed Zainal Abidin said, “These two models are a prelude to a series of other products we intend to introduce this year. Despite the tough market environment today, we are committed to continuously enhance and introduce new or refreshed models at a very affordable price range.”

The new models remain unknown though last year, it was rumoured that there would be a Gen 2 sedan variant and also that Proton was working on a replacement for the 21-year Iswara, not to mention a MPV. It’s unlikely that all three would come into the market at the same time so we’ll have to wait and see.

2007 Savvy
Besides the new rear end looks, there’s also a standard roof spoiler now and at the front, a new less fussy grille is evident, with the ‘beak’ also removed. The body colour range has been expanded from four original colours to six, the two new ones being Genetic Silver and Energy Orange.

For those who hated the rear end, it is possible to buy the new rear door. The cost is estimated to be RM1,500 but it is not known if Proton will change the doors on all the existing unsold 2005 stocks. If not, then customers would probably negotiate such a deal at the time of purchase.

There are no changes to the 1.2-litre engine which is mated to either a 5-speed manual transmission or the automated manual transmission (AMT) which is actually a manual transmission with robotic operation for automatic shifting of gears. Proton does draw attention to the fuel-sipping nature of the Savvy which achieved 5.3 litres per 100 kms on a drive around the Peninsula last year.

Likewise, no changes have been mentioned for the suspension which, of course, has benefited from Lotus tuning. However, 15-inch alloy wheels are fitted to the High-line version.

Addressing the criticism that the Savvy lacks airbags, Proton now offers them in the High-line version (only available with AMT) that costs RM45,481. As with most cars nowadays, the restraint system includes pre-tensioners for the seatbelts to increase their effectiveness. This version also has ABS as standard and an engine immobilizer.

In case, you forgot what the original looked like
All other features remain the same for the medium line 5-speed manual version (RM40,240) and the AMT version (RM43,182). The interior has not changed much though owners of the earlier Savvy will notice that the textures of the panels are different and so is the interior colour scheme.

Low cost of ownership is highlighted – engine oil change every 10,000 kms; oil filter change every 20,000 kms; and a change of radiator coolant every 60,000 kms. Every Savvy now comes with an extended warranty package for the first 5 years or 175,000 kms (whichever comes first).

2007 Waja
Only two versions of the Waja 1.6 Campro will now be offered – one with manual transmission (RM59,388) and the other with automatic transmission (RM62,888). The most significant of the 14 changes is at the front end where the ‘beak’ which characterised the ‘corporate look’ (since the early 1990s when a British firm developed it for Proton) has now been made less of a ‘beak’. That middle section is no longer an extension of the bonnet and the Proton badge is now linked more to the bumper visually.

The headlight clusters which were eye-catching when they first appeared on the Waja have also been restyled under the plastic covers. And with the reprofiling of the front bumper, the designers also took the opportunity to put in a new auxiliary light module which incorporates the foglight and signal light.

The interior looks better and is pretty much like that of the Waja Campro. Leather upholstery is now standard and as with the new Savvy, the texture of the dashboard has been changed to something that looks less cheap. A small improvement which may go unnoticed is that the glovebox now has damping – it doesn’t drop down but instead the lid slowly lowers. However, the inside areas are crudely finished, which is a disappointment. The equipment level is comprehensive and value for money, with the audio system having MP3 and Bluetooth capability.

To date, over 260,000 Wajas have been sold since its launch in 2000 as Proton’s first originally-designed product. Since that time, the only major change has been to the CAMPRO engine in January 2006, replacing the Mitsubishi-based engine,

New textures on dashboard improve the look and feel of the cabin, along with leather upholstery.

hmm...NEW STUFFs FROM PROTON!
wait a minute, at my 1st glance, i dun see any diff wif tht new SAVVY!! &*#^$^@!!

but the new WAJA is different...mayb proton want the waja to b categorie is 'luxury car' section..ahhaa..its still weird.. it looks 'older' than the previous waja..haha..proton still dont understand wat type of design malaysians need...just my opinion..

I JUST WANT PUTRA REPLACEMENT MODEL!!!

drew1.0beta said:
hmm...NEW STUFFs FROM PROTON!
wait a minute, at my 1st glance, i dun see any diff wif tht new SAVVY!! &*#^$^@!!

but the new WAJA is different...mayb proton want the waja to b categorie is 'luxury car' section..ahhaa..its still weird.. it looks 'older' than the previous waja..haha..proton still dont understand wat type of design malaysians need...just my opinion..

I JUST WANT PUTRA REPLACEMENT MODEL!!!

Well said !!

I agree :regular_smile: + no REAL IMPROVEMENT like new CIVIC or new SONATA or CHANGE of EXTERIORS just like the old PERDANA V 6 to facelift V6 . Can be done in ACCESSORIES SHOP :confused_smile:

haha..yup...'Brothers and other accessories shop gonna start selling the new waja bumper,grills and stuff d...haha
Proton can just Modify their car and sell it out as a new 'model'....wat is this man?
Mitsubishi sure damn happy when they come to malaysia...they'll b like , '' wow, our Mirage is still hot over here, and the best part is, malaysia is still selling it as a new car..look at their Saga, isnt tht my grandpa's car?''
Its not cos i wanna tembak them..but its true ma..facelifting nia..

they juz can achieve face lift level la...not mature enuf to make new model every 5yrs,or even 10yrs...

dunno the air bag really functional or not...hope it wont work as decoration only

but mine previous putra's abs systerm seems like not funtioning well....

5115 said:
but mine previous putra's abs systerm seems like not funtioning well....

hah! really ah... danger tuu...

last time my fren's EVO6 abs system jammed, then hit the highway divider....
almost total lost.....

5115 said:
dunno the air bag really functional or not...hope it wont work as decoration only

bro, look at the pictures at paultan.org...they're using SRS airbags...not proton punye brand...u think SRS will tarnish their reputation as the number 1 airbag manufacturer in the world by selling non-functional airbags to proton?? i don't think so..

ABS can't comment....haven't tested...heheh..

craziqbal said:
bro, look at the pictures at paultan.org...they're using SRS airbags...not proton punye brand...u think SRS will tarnish their reputation as the number 1 airbag manufacturer in the world by selling non-functional airbags to proton?? i don't think so..

oic...thanks for ur info bro,my concern is proton's QC...

that Waja does not look like a 'facelift'.
its FEELS like totally different design.

facelift models not supposed to make one
FEEL like that.

Just see Vios Facelift.
thumb-toyota_vios_facelift_2.jpg

And before that.
http://i1.autoworld.com.my/userimages/emzine/1399/7778890.jpg

craziqbal said:

dude i believe SRS stands for supplementary/secondary restrain system (SRS)
Where u got to know SRS is the number 1 airbag manufaturer in the world? OR because u see every car with airbag is written there SRS AIRBAG huh?

Kindly correct me if i am wrong

craziqbal said:
my dear friend,
SRS = Supplementary/Secondary Restraint System = air cushion restraint system (ACRS) = Airbag,
in short,
SRS = Airbag. It's not a brand, but a system (just like ABS).
For your reference.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Airbag

There are many airbag manufacturer in the world, some are from China. Different manufacturer offer different price and of course, different quality.

----------------------
Yes, VIOS facelift is another con job, this has been discussed in zth during the launching of Toyota Facelit.

haha...suddenly bring out the srs air bag topic