Savvy with AMT (Automated Manual Transmission)

Christ! This is another example manufacturers being anal and trying to be different. Just like all the myriad type of memory cards you can get these days, CF, SD, XD, memory stick, etc. What's that all about? Why can't there be like just one type for all. Geez...

faisal said:
And driving a car normally you'd pull to upshift to fourth and push to downshift to third (3rd and 4th being the mostly used gears when "spirited" driving).
Strangely that wasn't the case with my old Datsun 160J SSS. 3rd and 4th were in the opposite direction, with 4th being up and 5th being down. Reverse was above 1st. Perhaps the gearbox was rather close ratio'd and it was meant for "spirited" driving in 4th and 5th instead.

Perhaps another theory which can add to the push/pull debate is this; it's certainly less tiring (in long races) to actually fight G-forces while shifting. So you're letting G-forces do half the work for you when you need to downshift when slowing down, upshift while accelerating.

Despite the above, I'd commend Proton for doing it right. A non-sports model is targetted at the mass market. Your average Joe/Jane would grasp the "push to upshift/pull to downshift" style more easily. Furthermore, this kind of gearbox is just making its debut here so confusing people off the bat is not very wise. I'm glad Proton called it AMT instead of some funky "Gear-tronic". The term AMT would make it easier to explain that it's a robotized-manual 'box rather than a torque converter.

Faisal, perhaps R3 can do a little re-wiring (without voiding the warranty) to invert the +/- controls. Or better yet, add paddle shifters behind the steering column. Well, that's just wishful thinking :wink:

si|verfish said:
The CVT also jerks? That's really odd. It's chain driven, should be as smooth as silk.

based on what i read. cant remember whether its autoca asean, motoring or cars.my...

too many of them in my room.

the jerk is actually not noticeable. at least better than beginner drivers manual gearchange.
i never test drove one, but i do believe the jerk is mild only. and if not mistaken, it was stated the jerk is more noticeable compare to driving with manual mode in the Honda City.

on the other hand, Savvy AMT is getting more interesting to me. too bad, the steering cant be adjusted lower...its just too high. only suitable to ladies or a big belly man.

si|verfish said:
Mate, yours look like a auto 'box with manual override ie. tiptronic. It is not an AMT.

woop..sorry mate,my mistake..i thought it is the same..will study about AMT..thanks

Can ask the sifus out there, if using AMG gearbox, ppl says when keep using the manual shifting can causes damage to the gearbox and thus faster dying gearbox... And also, if im step on it often while using the manual shifting, will the gearbox faster mati like the autos??

renault had been using this gearbox for quite some time, for sure they had fixed all faults arising from the gearbox. hoping the gbox in savvy AMT is good... at least can repair Proton's image for a better future :D

s want another
prozac said:
Strangely that wasn't the case with my old Datsun 160J SSS. 3rd and 4th were in the opposite direction, with 4th being up and 5th being down. Reverse was above 1st. Perhaps the gearbox was rather close ratio'd and it was meant for "spirited" driving in 4th and 5th instead.

Perhaps another theory which can add to the push/pull debate is this; it's certainly less tiring (in long races) to actually fight G-forces while shifting. So you're letting G-forces do half the work for you when you need to downshift when slowing down, upshift while accelerating.

Despite the above, I'd commend Proton for doing it right. A non-sports model is targetted at the mass market. Your average Joe/Jane would grasp the "push to upshift/pull to downshift" style more easily. Furthermore, this kind of gearbox is just making its debut here so confusing people off the bat is not very wise. I'm glad Proton called it AMT instead of some funky "Gear-tronic". The term AMT would make it easier to explain that it's a robotized-manual 'box rather than a torque converter.

Faisal, perhaps R3 can do a little re-wiring (without voiding the warranty) to invert the +/- controls. Or better yet, add paddle shifters behind the steering column. Well, that's just wishful thinking :wink:

1) Your SSS had what is termed "Dog Leg first" Tranny layout. Logic being 2nd 3rd 4th 5th being more generally used than 1st and reverse.

2) Yeah thank god for the AMT name and not something stupid. Did you know most terms use by the Auto industry are thought of by their marketing dept. Ford's "Technical Grain" for their dashtop's surface or Maserati's "Skyhook" for their adaptive suspension.

3) hmmmmmm how I wish...

faisal said:
s want another

1) Your SSS had what is termed "Dog Leg first" Tranny layout. Logic being 2nd 3rd 4th 5th being more generally used than 1st and reverse.

2) Yeah thank god for the AMT name and not something stupid. Did you know most terms use by the Auto industry are thought of by their marketing dept. Ford's "Technical Grain" for their dashtop's surface or Maserati's "Skyhook" for their adaptive suspension.
3) hmmmmmm how I wish...
The trophy still goes to Proton for implementing "Grip Assist" in all its cars. Beat that :tongue:

prozac said:
The trophy still goes to Proton for implementing "Grip Assist" in all its cars. Beat that :tongue:
That term is in hse for a part not marketing.

However the Ford terms and MAserati are widely spread out.. hahah. there's a few more. Remember "New Edge" design.

There will always be funny names. Most evident are colour codes.

Anyway, I found an interesting article about AMT/Quickshift5:

http://motoring.excite.co.uk/display/visualizzanews.php3?id=11157

i knw when in manual mode, there are 5 speeds.

how about in auto mode? i assume is the same since it is a 5 speed manual gearbox

yeah, same 5 forward speed and 1 reverse for automated manual version.

savvy

amt trasnmission on savvy very fun to drive....

But expensive on replacement & parts i suppose

putra4767 said:

We can't say that yet unless we personally owned a Savvy AMT and had to fork out lots of money to maintain/replace it. Otherwise, if it is covered by extended warranty the gearbox shouldn't be any different from manual in that sense.

putra4767 said:

:eek:wow really??where did you get this info from?

Do you have a parts price list? Do yo u have the manual for recommended replacement on parts?

Do you know if any given part has a certain time span. that cost a lot to replace?

Funny that, as the tranny is based on a Manual so it was suppose to be chaeper than a Auto (torque converter) tranny

Most new cars these days are covered by a 4 year warranty to cover your pocket shoul d anything fail. If anything it would be expensive on the Seller not the consumer.

silverfish ,

if u have driven enough car . u will mention that each manufacture has different +/- location .

BMW 3 series and the 350Z , i forgot which one + is upward .. but both are vice versa .

bridgestoneRE711 said:
silverfish ,

if u have driven enough car . u will mention that each manufacture has different +/- location .

BMW 3 series and the 350Z , i forgot which one + is upward .. but both are vice versa .
??????

well, most of the time the more expensive they are, the better the cars are. otherwise they'd be out of business already.

if you're paying less than RM 50k for a new car, don't compare it with a 200k beemer.. it's just unfair. a better comparison would be to pitch it up against another car in the same price range and target market.