Need Help and advise

alantjw

Dear All Sifu sifu sekalian, i just remove my top part of my engine yesterday and noticed there is a damage in the cilinder wall number 2 as per mictures attached below:-

IMG_0417.jpg

IMG_0414.jpg

IMG_0407.jpg

im currently using sand paper with water to smooth out the surface and use back the block.... is it the best solution? my pistons is already 87mm so i am unable to kimm anymore... besides anyone know the cause of the problem and another method to rectify this horror?:banghead:

so sorry to say dat u r using the wrong way. bcoz the cylinder wall surface got a special finishing dat help to maintain engine oil on it.

walao eh..... you can't sandpaper the cylinder liner bro.
send the block to machine shop to re-bore and use over-size piston.
or ask the machine shop to re-sleeve the cylinder liner.

Damage caused by engine knocking/detonation? Don't think u can save the block unless u re-sleeve the cylinder liner even then don't know if there is that expertise in M'sia..correct me if I am wrong

walao eh..... you can't sandpaper the cylinder liner bro.
send the block to machine shop to re-bore and use over-size piston.
or ask the machine shop to re-sleeve the cylinder liner.

yeah man.. i thought of that too... but i cant re-sleave anymore as im already as 87mm... my engine wall is already too thin therefore im using this resort...

resleeve mean installing new sleeve(cylinder liner) into your engine block, you can order stock/original size piston, or other size of your choice to match the new sleeve.
don't have to sakit kepala so much bro, just send it to the machine shop they can kaw tim for you, this is not something you can DIY =)

if u hv no idea about what im talking about, check this out>>
http://www.nwsleeve.com/sleeves.html

sorry ah, i tak pandai explain.

---------- Post added at 10:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:46 PM ----------

Damage caused by engine knocking/detonation? Don't think u can save the block unless u re-sleeve the cylinder liner even then don't know if there is that expertise in M'sia..correct me if I am wrong

this ain't no rocket science, all those engineering shop that deal with automotive workshop doing it day in day out.

two places that i know of is sang engineering at old klang road, and grand engineering in pjs7 sunway(behind motorsport playground)

is more expensive than re-bore(you only remove material from the block), extra cost of re-sleeve cause you need to get material(sleeve) install into the block and engineering works and labour.

dear freind,how to 4g93sohc to dohc

---------- Post added at 11:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:28 PM ----------

is possible 4g93t head cylender fitted on 4g93sohc engine block. what,s changes of parts.
please conform me

KEE aka Storm>> Wah you seems like very pro leh sifu... How much will i need to invest of this Sleeves? if use this sleves i need to use smaller pistons liao loh?

alantjw,
not pro la, know a bit bit only =P
you can choose standard piston or oversize piston, the machinist will rebore the liner to match the piston after they insert the sleeve.

my suggestion is that you find out what cause the damage before you attempt to fix it.
btw, why you took out the cylinder head(engine top part) to begin with?

shanawan,
sorry bro, i don't have any experience with 4G93, have to wait for other sifu to answer your question.

i remove the top part cos wanna remove the pistons as we suspected that i need to change the piston rings... but unfortunately we found this horror... i think is tuning problem or maybe cos i use ron 95 on my ride... i think higer chance should be tuning problem as only chamber 2 is badly damage... knocking problem only caused by tuning problem rite?

u can check with ur workshop about custom machine shop sleeves.. or u can find a workshop that deals alot with custom sleeving.

FYI... Super90 (yes the S90 throttle body) also makes sleeves.. avantech uses them for their 600hp vtec turbos. contact them n see....

just remember that re-sleeving is expensive.

other option, buy engine kosong and install that

is possible 4g93t head cylender fitted on 4g93sohc engine block.

---------- Post added at 05:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:16 PM ----------

are you there

is possible 4g93t head cylender fitted on 4g93sohc engine block.

---------- Post added at 05:12 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 04:16 PM ----------

are you there

yes, straight fit. no problem.

i already check custom sleeve around RM680... engine kosong will cost how much? 3sgte

alan...better find another engine kosong instead of resleeving..
seen your block very thin edi...if rebore again sure crack wan.....

yup... now planning to sand paper first and use till kong... for the time being.. i save money to buy engine kosong.. XD.. now wan beli pistons also no money de...

BTW all sifu... i also need need advice cos my piston already toast... could i just replace the piston head only or i need to also change the con rod??? sorry for asking too much as im curently on a very tight budget...

but engine kosong wont come with pistons rite? i will still need to buy them... im thinking about replacing my Piston head and use untill it kong.. once kong only i buy engine kosong...

Write your reply...