need advise: engine

joe@1813

hi to all zth.

i've bought myself a kenari with L5 engine for my second car. So my question is,

- How reliable this engine for my daily use?
- What is the different between JBJL and JBDET? how to recognized it? Is there eny different in engine output? torque/ hp?
- Since that engine come in stock condition, i'm about to buy a BOV for her, any suggestion? or maybe someone are about to sell their additional BOV to me?
-what is the consequences if i convert the i/c to the front mount?(bigger size) any turbo lag?
-How to recognize whether the engine in superb condition? which part do i need to check most?

Hope otai2 can help me to figure out this engine since i'm new in L series..:adore:

hi to all zth.

i've bought myself a kenari with L5 engine for my second car. So my question is,

- What is the different between JBJL and JBDET? how to recognized it? Is there eny different in engine output? torque/ hp?
- Since that engine come in stock condition, i'm about to buy a BOV for her, any suggestion? or maybe someone are about to sell their additional BOV to me?
-what is the consequences if i convert the i/c to the front mount?(bigger size) any turbo lag?
-How to recognize whether the engine in superb condition? which part do i need to check most?

Hope otai2 can help me to figure out this engine since i'm new in L series..:adore:

whoa! another JB series owner... :wavey:

me no otai or expert, but i can answer a few..I'm a JB-JL users on a Kancil

been using dis engine since Feb 2009 wif initial odo reading 10x,xxxkm and all are stock, turbo and all... now approaching 122,xxxkm so far no worries, even boost up to 0.9 bar... my daily driving habit is 100kmh cruise to and fro work (kajang - USJ) with occasional sprints now and then :driver:

reasons why i choose this engine because lotsa my frens used dis engine for 2-3 years so far nothing major to report... just that some parts might need changing (normal la, hafkat kan?) like turbo, water pump and aircond compressor

Dis is my JB-JL
http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/papagoines/My%20Car/EngineSwap/Engine/IMG_1961-resized.jpg

I think JB-DET head cover is somewhat different and the intercooler are larger and thicker

From factory JB-DET is rated 64 ps (47.07 kw) / 6000 rpm & 106.89 Nm / 3200 rpm

whereas JB-JL is rated 64 ps (47.07 kw) / 7500 rpm & 100.03 Nm / 4000 rpm

some say that JB-DET uses twin scroll version of the same turbo as JB-JL... but i just heard only

can go for hks ssqv... default choices for k-car lovers :love:... but for me, if it ain't broken no need to change it

the final 2 i can't answer... when sourcing for the halfcut for my engine, i bring along my mechanic fren to choose

but, if you wanna do a front mount intercooler, better go for bigger turbo as well la :burnout:

thanx for the useful info. by the way, i'm working at kajang as banker. maybe we could have tt someday.:wavey: one more question since u already boost up ur engine, are u using metal gasket to support higher boost?

sure thing :love:...

maybe i could bring my mates along...JB series owner of course...

my boost was set that way since i replace the turbo actuator.... the original actuator kong.....gave my car a whopping 1.5bar if unrestricted.... the replacement actuator frm hafkat, apparently the previous owner 'set' it to run 0.9 bar..... since JB-JL uses metal head gasket from factory, no need to replace it.... but still if the boost reaches 1bar, there still boost cut to prevent it from exploding, God forbids :adore:

owh really? means there shud be no problem if i just boost up the engine? i means between 0.7-0.9 :rolleyes:

slow down bro... do a lil research 1st.... as i said, there might be more diff between JB-JL and JB-DET

can i interest you in another forum i'm in? join us at Enjoy! K-Car Life... there the place i learned alot of these k-car specs....

btw, my nickname there is blalangtempur...

see ya there... :burnout: