what daihatsu engine suitable for race/time attack??

ahh.. i see.. they probably mix some good parts from each engine to build one good engine. so based on your experience, what do u think about tuning a EF-DET for racing/time attack? its a DOHC and good high end power. its a 3 cyl big bore.. easily bored to 72mm kelisa piston.. no temperature problem like EFJL.. but abit less aftermarket performance parts to choose..

i'm the TS here.. so if ya'll stills discussing about L2 or L5 or K3, it is still allowed.. hehe :biggrin:

the kelisa 5th gear is quite long.. but the 1st to 4th quite good.. 1000cc engine with 660 gbox is quite good on accelaration.. might beat stock L2 or L5 turbos..

Wow serious? As in Kelisa if swap with a kancil 660cc gbox, gonna beat L2 or L5 stock? :stoned:
That's sounds interesting. But bet FC will be affected LOL!

My kelisa is auto though

This one?
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/perodua/436675-gear-ratio-2.html

sorry i hadn't notice it before

below are my calculation for stock JB-JL gear ratio (final drive 5.545) versus if using rather long kelisa final drive 3.938

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/papagoines/Cars/Technical/stokvskelisafinaldrive.png

it was bro flamefox tht suggest me dis

if can swap, i can finally cruise in peace otw to work via MEX hehe

* matter of getting the $$$ and the time since the kancil is my only ride for now *
so lower final drive will have better torque? Sorry dont really know how to read gear ratios actually.

ahh.. i see.. they probably mix some good parts from each engine to build one good engine. so based on your experience, what do u think about tuning a EF-DET for racing/time attack? its a DOHC and good high end power. its a 3 cyl big bore.. easily bored to 72mm kelisa piston.. no temperature problem like EFJL.. but abit less aftermarket performance parts to choose..

JB-DET sounds interesting. Even though EF-DET also sounds good.

Me have no experience in racing... all my experience so far is just owning a turbo small engine haha

but in theory, it would make it an oversquare (big bore + short stroke) which is good for heat dissipation (otais saying because larger piston area) but it'll be kinda peaky i.e. great top end but not that high torque.. but that can be remedied using closed-ratio gearbox la...

couple to the DET head, means the ignition also controlled by the ecu gives more tuning option for you

---------- Post added at 09:23 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:15 AM ----------

Wow serious? As in Kelisa if swap with a kancil 660cc gbox, gonna beat L2 or L5 stock? :stoned:
That's sounds interesting. But bet FC will be affected LOL!

My kelisa is auto though

so lower final drive will have better torque? Sorry dont really know how to read gear ratios actually.

THere's one quote from bro twisted gear ratio thread that makes it easier to understand

Shorter FD (Larger Number i.e 4.7) = More acceleration, less top speed
Longer FD (Smaller Number i.e 4.4) = Less acceleration, more top speed

JB-DET sounds interesting. Even though EF-DET also sounds good.
that one going to be a great and honest comparo between 3 vs 4 cyl... since both has the same head design

There's one quote from bro twisted gear ratio thread that makes it easier to understand

It is like the bicycle with 21 speed. 3 gears in front, 7 gears in the rear. small drive big, more power but no speed, small drive big, no power but got high speed....:biggrin:

anyone had any experience/encounter modded n/a that is mixed wit high compression piston coz i have a fren that had done it, massive torqe, can wheel spin anytime but never asked bout top speed. as shown in movie born to race, the red monster truck, got torqe but loss in top speed.

wifey lenovo wit tapatalk

anyone had any experience/encounter modded n/a that is mixed wit high compression piston coz i have a fren that had done it, massive torqe, can wheel spin anytime but never asked bout top speed. as shown in movie born to race, the red monster truck, got torqe but loss in top speed.

wifey lenovo wit tapatalk

ask him swap into higher duration camshaft....mostlikely because his current camshaft design focus on low-mid range torque...

Btw, anyway to actually improve a 660cc performance? Anyone have experience? Actually if possible, it would be a good experience and achievement before really transplant a L5/L2s engine. Just out of curiousity whether can make a carb 660cc engine perform better than stock.

If can be on par with 850cc Kancil also good enough liao haha!

Btw, anyway to actually improve a 660cc performance? Anyone have experience? Actually if possible, it would be a good experience and achievement before really transplant a L5/L2s engine. Just out of curiousity whether can make a carb 660cc engine perform better than stock.

use 12v head from japanese L2 carbie... but have to find a competent mech since it's vacuum hoses are way more than standard perodua ones...

some otais used bigger carbie from iswara 1.3 or better yet, stack 3 small carbie from motorbike hehe

or... if you are lucky, you can get one of those carbie turbo set from earlier L2s.. you get a blow-thru carbie, turbo & intercooler... said to be on par with 850cc and a bit lower than the injection-turbo.. but these are rare

end of the day, you might want to consider swapping either to 850cc or L2 turbo :listen:

use 12v head from japanese L2 carbie... but have to find a competent mech since it's vacuum hoses are way more than standard perodua ones...

some otais used bigger carbie from iswara 1.3 or better yet, stack 3 small carbie from motorbike hehe

or... if you are lucky, you can get one of those carbie turbo set from earlier L2s.. you get a blow-thru carbie, turbo & intercooler... said to be on par with 850cc and a bit lower than the injection-turbo.. but these are rare

end of the day, you might want to consider swapping either to 850cc or L2 turbo :listen:

In other words, amount spent is not worth it right? :rofl:
Seeing now RM2700+ can get a turbo engine.

Nothing beats bigger displacement.....:driver:

Yes.. if wanna stay NA, bigger displacement is the way to go for massive power hike

if not mistaken, last 4 -5 years back got one kancil using kelisa 1000cc engine + hi cam + toyota 20v itb (mod to suit)

it ran on par with 660cc turbo with moderate mods in the drags... :adore:
:love:
imagine the throttle response and it's intake sound... 3cy throb + itb raspiness = triumph speed triple?

Yes.. if wanna stay NA, bigger displacement is the way to go for massive power hike

if not mistaken, last 4 -5 years back got one kancil using kelisa 1000cc engine + hi cam + toyota 20v itb (mod to suit)

imagine the throttle response and it's intake sound... 3cy throb + itb raspiness = triumph speed triple?

turbo aka forced induction also considered bigger displacement......ha! ha!:biggrin:

force induction sometimes called displacement on demand

pre-boost you get fuel economy of the said engine displacement... in this case 660cc

on boost you get performance of a much bigger engine, sometimes up 2x the original displacement..

Another poison to keep my car NA :rofl:

Dun die aaaa... lots where that came from :nurse:

Thought of it since is cheaper. RM1k+ can be done.
On 2nd thought can mod my kelisa and remain NA

hi cam + toyota 20v itb (mod to suit) :biggrin:

i think it'll gonna cost you a bit... i believe that guy using standalone ecu to make the itb working

me oso learn about it via photos in car mags and forums a while back....