what daihatsu engine suitable for race/time attack??

Damn...u poisoning me. But at the same time putting me in dilemma whether to go for 4cyl or 3cyl. JB-DET is 4 cylinder right. EF-RL is 3 if not wrong.

That's what I heard, L5 engines especially 4cyl have limitations while 3cyl like L2s have advantage of gaining higher performance. 4cyl max also cannot be more than 150hp or else easy to letup.

Correct me if Im wrong :top:

Faster plonk in loh! With 160 horses, power to weight already beat my VR.....:smokin:

---------- Post added at 09:12 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:10 AM ----------

For me, stock performance for 4cyl is more than enough for me.... just that i kinda loathe its close ratio gears.... imagine going 110kmh in 5k rpm in top gear

110kph at 5k RPM, really high, but good for track.....:driver:

that makes 2 of us but dono wether i can keep up wit tha power that lies within gonzales.maybe when urs is done, i might wanna sit beside when u gonna test it & feel the force within

wifey lenovo wit tapatalk

LOL! Won't be so soon bro. Maybe within 2 years. I got many other plans to prioritize at this time and age. :rofl: Will be slow but will happen.

Faster plonk in loh! With 160 horses, power to weight already beat my VR.....:smokin:

110kph at 5k RPM, really high, but good for track.....:driver:

Sure or not? If yes I want to mod it to keep up with u :rofl:

LOL! Won't be so soon bro. Maybe within 2 years. I got many other plans to prioritize at this time and age. :rofl: Will be slow but will happen.

Sure or not? If yes I want to mod it to keep up with u :rofl:

Yup, with 160 horses in the super light mousedeer easily better then mine...:driver:

sifu papagoines...wanna ask u...my bro in law using kelisa 1.0 engine in his kancil, but its still mated with his old 660 manual box..
can it tahan ah? or will soon kong?

sifu papagoines...wanna ask u...my bro in law using kelisa 1.0 engine in his kancil, but its still mated with his old 660 manual box..
can it tahan ah? or will soon kong?

Guys, i'm flattered but dun call me sifu la. Not qualified yet :o

I think it'll not be kong.... just that gearing is shorter to complement the lower power the 660cc carbie is giving

Might be good in city driving (point-&-squirt peppiness) but is tedious on highway... he/she might wishes a longer gearing or an additional gear or two like i'm feeling now :banghead:

# Replied via Tapatalk on my mobile. Apologies for typos & brevity

Yup, with 160 horses in the super light mousedeer easily better then mine...:driver:

Then is on! But then need to either get JBDET or EFRL only can achieve that HP safely without risking a letup engine.

Guys, i'm flattered but dun call me sifu la. Not qualified yet :o

I think it'll not be kong.... just that gearing is shorter to complement the lower power the 660cc carbie is giving

Might be good in city driving (point-&-squirt peppiness) but is tedious on highway... he/she might wishes a longer gearing or an additional gear or two like i'm feeling now :banghead:

Kelisa gear ratios is very good. Even for auto itself. Power delivery very smooth and timing quite right.

Love it. But then with YRV turbo AT in Kelisa, then lagi OOOMMM! :top: :love:
But then aint touching kelisa since home minister car. Mousedeer it is. As long faster than vr2turbo's VR4 can liao. :rofl:

Then is on! But then need to either get JBDET or EFRL only can achieve that HP safely without risking a letup engine.

Kelisa gear ratios is very good. Even for auto itself. Power delivery very smooth and timing quite right.

But then aint touching kelisa since home minister car. Mousedeer it is. As long faster than vr2turbo's VR4 can liao. :rofl:

Pick up can be faster but got no top speed.....:biggrin:

Kacau thread orang edi

Need new thread if to discuss gear ratio :D

i'm the TS here.. so if ya'll stills discussing about L2 or L5 or K3, it is still allowed.. hehe :biggrin:

the kelisa 5th gear is quite long.. but the 1st to 4th quite good.. 1000cc engine with 660 gbox is quite good on accelaration.. might beat stock L2 or L5 turbos..

i'm the TS here.. so if ya'll stills discussing about L2 or L5 or K3, it is still allowed.. hehe :biggrin:

the kelisa 5th gear is quite long.. but the 1st to 4th quite good.. 1000cc engine with 660 gbox is quite good on accelaration.. might beat stock L2 or L5 turbos..

I'm going to use the final drive. All other ratio 1 - 5 remains stock hehe

rhe ratio is good but 1st & 2nd gear is in 1 gear lever so goin uphill is headache coz it's hard 2 keep the 1st gear to run @ higher rpm, if oni can get an AT gearbox that have lever to control each gear to match wit the fish

haha remember my thread bout the gear ratio

This one?
http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/perodua/436675-gear-ratio-2.html

sorry i hadn't notice it before

below are my calculation for stock JB-JL gear ratio (final drive 5.545) versus if using rather long kelisa final drive 3.938

http://i42.photobucket.com/albums/e346/papagoines/Cars/Technical/stokvskelisafinaldrive.png

it was bro flamefox tht suggest me dis

if can swap, i can finally cruise in peace otw to work via MEX hehe

* matter of getting the $$$ and the time since the kancil is my only ride for now *

bro. im wondering, is JBJL and JBDET has difference bore n stroke. cause kei tuner in japan (DTM powerhouse) did a kacuk of JBJL - JBDET and get abit higher cc than 660. it was like 780cc they claim. im pretty sure they do honing..

If not mistaken, all JB series has the same block, just the head design are different hence the JL and DET designation

JB - JL from Mira L502 http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/daihatsu/mira_tr-xx/1997_5/10801/
Bore = 61mm
Stroke = 56.4mm

JB - DET from Copen http://english.auto.vl.ru/catalog/daihatsu/copen/2002_6/9757/
Bore = 61mm
Stroke = 56.4mm

you can see both have the same bore and stroke...

tuning house such as kcarsport, dtm powerhouse, freedom etc tries to emulate daihatsu rally engine, the JC-DET that have 713cc engine (square 61 x 61 mm) but increase its bore a bit to increase its edge. that's why its displacement was way more... 780cc... but i doubt it's not streetable