what daihatsu engine suitable for race/time attack??

Waaa!!! Took me an hour to understand this thread...

If talking specifically about kancil n the newer sub 1000cc engine available in the market is surely the king JC-DET (which is an upstroked JB-DET with additional tweak to its head design) as per 4gbanger was talking if i'm mistaken

Using stock, you easily approach 190whp from its tiny 713cc mill

Since that engine rather rare, you can get a JB-DET from an Move L9 or Copen. Upstroke it to get 713cc... i believe it could reach 170whp

Coupled that to a L5 manual gearbox which is close ratio, you can a beastly tiny lil time attack car, after considering suspension n chassis upgrades of xcourse

All with a piece of mind that it won't cause trouble with the authority n reliable at the same time as evident of this one guy i knew you joins snf last year n using same setup also joins a track day at kg gajah, melaka (correct me on the kg name) and did not suffer any mechanical issue

Why JB-DET? same block as JB-JL (L5) but with improved head n you can adv tuned the engine's since the ecu fully control the ignition... having tps that can see throttle opening oso helps

I'll share the dyno chart when i get home. It was posted in another forum.

# Replied via Tapatalk on my mobile. Apologies for typos & brevity

660 L2s engine already fetching more than 160whp by many drag king...and reliable too :biggrin::driver:

Yes... i'm aware :)

Either generation is good... just that i'm leaning towards 4cyl :D

Don bang me aaa... :p

yep.. i agree also.. both also got pro n cons...its up to owner to decide :driver:

Yes... i'm aware :)

Either generation is good... just that i'm leaning towards 4cyl :D

Don bang me aaa... :p

Oh u were the 4cyl legend that won that Kei car Track day? :rofl:

Too old ma to be a racer

Fyi, the said winner oso in this forum... lurking about hehe

Then can't be 4banger, cuz his car not ready yet :rofl:

Must be Danz's Speedy Gonzalez. :rolleyes:

As promised here's the dyno chart

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/t1.0-9/q72/s720x720/1979579_10201385491432898_1811960615757872051_n.jpg

The bottom one is JC-DET stock standard... but with boost tuned to 1.7bar... daihatsu claimed you can boost reliably up to 2 bar with the stock turbo (RHF4 variant if not mistaken)

The top one is JB-DET 660cc + custom intake + ct9 turbo....

The owner's original comment
Power JCDET lbh kurang 166HP dan JBDET 177HP. Cuma power JCDET dtg awal sikit sbb kelebihan 713cc dan square engine (61mm x 61mm). Lagi satu ialah custom intake JBDET guna intake runner pendek, jadi aku rasa kalau JBDET guna intake manifold oem, powerband lebih kurang sama jer dgn JCDET.

in English:

JCDET tops around 166hp & custom JBDET is 177HP. JCDET power came earlier due to advantage in displacement (713cc vs 660cc) + a square engine (61mm x 61mm). If JBDET use OEM intake manifold (longer runners) , the power band could be the same as JCDET

The owner also comment that you oso can get the same powerband if 3cyl upstroked to 740cc... but then, 3cyl have advantage of having 850cc or 1000cc... making it a torque monster :driver:

As promised here's the dyno chart

https://fbcdn-sphotos-h-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-frc3/t1.0-9/q72/s720x720/1979579_10201385491432898_1811960615757872051_n.jpg

The bottom one is JC-DET stock standard... but with boost tuned to 1.7bar... daihatsu claimed you can boost reliably up to 2 bar with the stock turbo (RHF4 variant if not mistaken)

The top one is JB-DET 660cc + custom intake + ct9 turbo....

The owner's original comment

in English:

The owner also comment that you oso can get the same powerband if 3cyl upstroked to 740cc... but then, 3cyl have advantage of having 850cc or 1000cc... making it a torque monster :driver:

Damn...u poisoning me. But at the same time putting me in dilemma whether to go for 4cyl or 3cyl. JB-DET is 4 cylinder right. EF-RL is 3 if not wrong.

That's what I heard, L5 engines especially 4cyl have limitations while 3cyl like L2s have advantage of gaining higher performance. 4cyl max also cannot be more than 150hp or else easy to letup.

Correct me if Im wrong :top:

Damn...u poisoning me. But at the same time putting me in dilemma whether to go for 4cyl or 3cyl. JB-DET is 4 cylinder right. EF-RL is 3 if not wrong.

That's what I heard, L5 engines especially 4cyl have limitations while 3cyl like L2s have advantage of gaining higher performance. 4cyl max also cannot be more than 150hp or else easy to letup.

Correct me if Im wrong :top:

4cyl is harder to tune because not many malaysian have the engineering know-how.

3 cyl easier since they can relate to L2.

I give u the same advice an otai once give me. Go for an engine where you can get someone who can tune it for you

To each his/her own

For me, stock performance for 4cyl is more than enough for me.... just that i kinda loathe its close ratio gears.... imagine going 110kmh in 5k rpm in top gear

Maybe need to mod gearbox to use kelisa's to bring the rev down

like 4gbenger(if not mistsken) said the 4cyl engine is maid too compact to fit the car size that sum parts r 2 small to linger wit so it limits the mod 2 be done

wifey lenovo wit tapatalk

4cyl is harder to tune because not many malaysian have the engineering know-how.

3 cyl easier since they can relate to L2.

I give u the same advice an otai once give me. Go for an engine where you can get someone who can tune it for you

To each his/her own

For me, stock performance for 4cyl is more than enough for me.... just that i kinda loathe its close ratio gears.... imagine going 110kmh in 5k rpm in top gear

Maybe need to mod gearbox to use kelisa's to bring the rev down

5Krpm is kinda high FC man..:rofl: Going 100km/h at 3Krpm+ in kelisa already feel like the rpm too high. Haha! But if you bring down the rev, power loss will be the problem? Yours is stock JBDET?

like 4gbenger(if not mistsken) said the 4cyl engine is maid too compact to fit the car size that sum parts r 2 small to linger wit so it limits the mod 2 be done

Ya, that's what many said. L2 have more space to mod bigger pistons and etcs. While 4 cyl have limited space. Too compact.

5Krpm is kinda high FC man..:rofl: Going 100km/h at 3Krpm+ in kelisa already feel like the rpm too high. Haha! But if you bring down the rev, power loss will be the problem? Yours is stock JBDET?
Mine is JB-JL from L5.... will change to JB-DET when this one died later haha

So far JB-DET is cheaper than JB-JL, and they do have thicker and stronger con-rod, so in theory can handle more boost :biggrin:

And JB-DET TPS measured in percentage + ignition is controlled by ECU so you can plug in emanage and tune it more than JB-JL

Ya, that's what many said. L2 have more space to mod bigger pistons and etcs. While 4 cyl have limited space. Too compact.
Not quite, JB-DET have history of attaining 200whp just by making it squarer (upstroke it to 713cc) as per JC-DET....

more power you want? kancil known to handle Charade GTTI engine and YRV K3-VET :listen:

all daihatsu kei engine has its own pro & cons.. just that, the most important thing is how much power or what type of driving u r lean to..
if its a daily drive/street tune and want to maintain most of stock parts targeting only around 100 ~ 110 hp, it is easily achievable by 4 cyl.. its just that if u want to tune ur 4 cyl to drag with monster drag L2, u need a whole lot of freaking cash and extreme engineering..

---------- Post added at 08:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:43 PM ----------

bro papagoines here sure have alottt of knowledge about kei car.. u can see he's presentation.. :adore:

Mine is JB-JL from L5.... will change to JB-DET when this one died later haha

So far JB-DET is cheaper than JB-JL, and they do have thicker and stronger con-rod, so in theory can handle more boost :biggrin:

And JB-DET TPS measured in percentage + ignition is controlled by ECU so you can plug in emanage and tune it more than JB-JL

Not quite, JB-DET have history of attaining 200whp just by making it squarer (upstroke it to 713cc) as per JC-DET....

more power you want? kancil known to handle Charade GTTI engine and YRV K3-VET :listen:

Seriously can masuk YRV? I think that wouldn't be street legal right? Most probably more for drag rather than Touge? Not sure bro, I have seen turbo kancil turtle, that's why I also dare not go too extreme. But weird as well when compare price. JBDET is really cheaper than JB-JL but a better engine.

4banger is playing EF-DET

all daihatsu kei engine has its own pro & cons.. just that, the most important thing is how much power or what type of driving u r lean to..
if its a daily drive/street tune and want to maintain most of stock parts targeting only around 100 ~ 110 hp, it is easily achievable by 4 cyl.. its just that if u want to tune ur 4 cyl to drag with monster drag L2, u need a whole lot of freaking cash and extreme engineering..

---------- Post added at 08:44 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:43 PM ----------

bro papagoines here sure have alottt of knowledge about kei car.. u can see he's presentation.. :adore:

I couldn't agree more. Which is why I keep saying glad he is back. :rofl: :adore:
Suddenly can learn so much things and useful info. From u already very good. Adding him in, damn. Kei Car knowledge is unlimited.

one more thing... i think if i can change the final drive of my L5 gearbox using kelisa's maybe lots of rev can be tone down

gotta find where i put my notes on gear ratios so i can calculate a bit

---------- Post added at 08:58 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:50 PM ----------

Poison bro SF summore

Daihatsu Mira TR-XX L200S K3VET

http://www.autospeed.com/cms/A_109795/article.html

that makes 2 of us but dono wether i can keep up wit tha power that lies within gonzales.maybe when urs is done, i might wanna sit beside when u gonna test it & feel the force within

bro papagoines is rite.. i sure he knows that one kancil in nilai even transplant a HD-E 1.6L detomaso engine.. in stock can clock 125bhp..

Write your reply...