need a bit of advice here...

robokopf

hi guys... i was involved in an accident this morning. my rear bumper was damaged. the damage was more on the front passenger side area. the bumper has dented in about the side of a big milo can and the paint chipped off.

now i've got several options available. i was offered rm120 for a new taiwan bumper, plus paint add in another 150. if i do not want to buy a new bumper i can repair it buy knocking it out and spray it back for rm230. so which one is a better deal? i'm thinking of changing the rear bumper altogether as i'm afraid knocking it back won't be that nice anymore. anyone got any advice or suggestion? or anyone has a better deal?

change to new one better. dun repair. or can stret change to 99 rear bumper. new one will cost u RM200-250.

I'm selling OEM bumper at 250 only. Why buy that TW bumper if ORI is just 100+ extra. TW bumper might don have the mouting points for ur rear lip. Quality no need to say.

I believe ur bumper will not as nice as last time if u knock it out. Price is no big different also.

Why not u claim it from the person tat bang u?

the guy at first suggested that we should report police. i was in a hurry to rush back to nilai that time. so i just tell him to exchange contact number and IC number but the guy hesistated and said no need for that and he kept arguing. he says that if want to report then better report now coz if later scared i might do more damage to it or something. but end up paying to me rm200.

bastard trying to avoid at first because his old corolla only suffered paint chip. he just said "maybe we should just drive carefully next time" and pretend to be in a hurry and want to escape right away. i just tell him, if you "walk" away now i will definitely report to police as i've snap your car plate number with my handphone.

200 is too low loh... at least 300 from him lah. Paint job also 150 already.

i think 200 is ok. if he decided to lodge a police report then he will only get saman RM300 n later do rayuan n just pay RM150. then later u cannot claim to insurance due to only minor damages.

Xenix: cannot find AccordRacing's nickname ler. :)

rm120 for the bumper. paint rm150. still have to chip in rm70. so confirm eh the paint definitely rm150?

I got mine 350 due to he crack my rear bumper. He don want to report Police so settle outside. Even 200-300 we still can claim his insurance wat.

but dengar citer they say they need to apply a coat of chemical so that the paint will stick on. thats why need rm150.

robokopf said:
but dengar citer they say they need to apply a coat of chemical so that the paint will stick on. thats why need rm150.

I can say price range is 100-150 for 2k paint. If branded paint it will be above 150.
Yup without that chemical, ur paint will not stick on nicely. That's why some car paint can peel off in big piece just like tat.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v622/robokopf/accident.jpg

here's the situation, it's a one way road and my car was parked there. on way out i was reversing and my eyes were locked on the right side for incoming car and i didn't notice the other car reversing from the left because he wants to get to the junction of the right side instead of just going straight as it is a one way road. he didn't notice i was reversing and i didn't notice him as well. and we bang-ed into each other. i think i'm right because he shouldn't reverse like that on a one way street just to get to the nearest junction instead of going one way and end up taking one big round.