Myth about Plug Cables

morning enthusiast

there is "more" to just the autolite brand that omniman uses. he did something to the plugs rather than a bolt-on setup.

Enthusiast said:
Hey guys.....so after discussing bout spark plug cables........lets discuss bout spark plugs now.....shiro can u explain plz? would like to know more......

And i've heard some pretty insane comments on the plugs that omniman used......autolite plugs (or have i mistaken it?).........and recently i saw them advertised on hypertune under one of those shops....forgot which one.....they were retailing for rm25 per set only??!!

something so good for such a cheap price??

for spark plugs, just buy Bosch Super 4... cheap oso wat.
some more need to chg regularly.. no need spend so much on it..
unless platinum one which can last longer oso..

plug cables... i only plan chg to ori stock brand new. cheap and
restoring power. no point waste money for 0hp.

interesting topic.......ive heard much saying tat honda stock cables r good enuff

besides, y keep doors closed? even china is opening up, this is the attitude tat will b keep us from growing

look at other countries, their forums so informative, free to disclose their mods (no offence TOM, u did great job bringing us together but it is our ppl thatr not)
unless u racing for money.....if not, y dun all us enthusiast gather in this local forum talking bout every bolt n nuts of our cars? we can all gain from everyones experience be it good or bad....

then we'll improve, thats y i totally disregard close door attitude......

hmmmm..sometime its not that people dun wanna share...but they simply dun wanna spoon fed those newbies (including myself). must put an effort to learn 1st, i think. simply put, we have to learn step by step, if they let us know everthing at one time aso no point...we won't be able to undertand the whole thing

nice info there shiroi. what about a normal plug (electrod & insulator is ok), but has carbon deposits around the upper plug threads. the carbon is easily cleaned off though.

Juz 2 share...... brands like NGK n Ultra r great substitutes 4 the OEM..... consistent delivery of spark charges n they last a whole lot longer!!!

Honestly, theres no real power gain n if there is u cant feel it....... where else the Nology n Spoon Racing cables r a diff case altogether...... they come wif built in ground cables n capasitors (i think tts wat they r called!)

these come in handy if u intend 2 push serious horsepower out of ur vtec..... it compliments ur other mods...... wat it does is realising power lost due 2 an inefficiency....... (juz like upgrading the clutch plate n flywheel, is does not giv extra horsepower but transfers more actual power to the wheels)

so the statement of all cables r the same is not entirely true......

so if u r runnin on stock ecu n chip......... stock cables 4 the budget player is fine.....

juz a little info....

vtecs r known 2 b runnin rich esp when it engages which is a common trait of a vtec...... fuel supply is increased but unfortunately the spark remains quite the same (theres where u c some cars puff out really big black smoke once the vtec engages) n it does not giv a good clean combustion due 2 excessive fuel.....

2 ways of settlin this problem......... retune it wif piggyback/standalone or fit spark amplifiers like MSD or Nology..........

hope this helps.........

J101 said:
there are better plugs cables that is if you are willing to spend more than RM700 brand new which serves the purpose of extreme modification.

Splitfire! (cough! cough!)
What's the current market price for those? Hahaa..

Seriously.. I only use aftermarket plug cables for the colour, like you do.. ha ha ha..

Next up, blue samco hoses.. no performance difference at all, and it's unlikely people will ever see anything under the hood.. but I like mah!! ROFL!!

shiro,
CHUP!!!SAMCO is VERY GOOD!!!gif u peace of mind too.....

J101,
hoit!who sed NGK n Ultra same?u oso know Ultra got a few type wat?get d red+white 1.bye bye ler..its d red+black 1...u know i know ler.....

Oderf said:
hmmmm..sometime its not that people dun wanna share...but they simply dun wanna spoon fed those newbies (including myself). must put an effort to learn 1st, i think. simply put, we have to learn step by step, if they let us know everthing at one time aso no point...we won't be able to undertand the whole thing

newbie or not i dun think thats the point......point is sharing infos, not asking for deep x - y = z formulaes (shite even this is practised outside, gawd spare me)

everybody starts from 0........to hundred we're literally 'in here' anyway. Newbie should hav a chance 2 learn from the experience, we all gone through the same frustration b4 n we know how it feels. To assist them, not making the decision for them... we are learning everyday *yawn*

im still thinking positive that we can improve............Msia boleh :cry_smile:

xxxx said:
nology? haha....i've heard bad comments....

depends on ur application........ the problem is that nology creates a more powerful spark which is very risky esp on untuned cars/stock settings/air-fuel ngam2 .... imagine runnin lean all the time....... either the piston or the block will go 1st!!!

i m usin it....... made a lot of diff 4 me coz previously i was runnin way 2 rich till at the stage u can actually smell petrol while idling or when vtec engages...... when it reaches hi revs my car slows down instead coz its runnin 2 rich..... now its all the way..... some fail 2 understand the application of the these cables..... simple device but very damaging is used unsupervised.......

i m no expert but i learn some things the hard n expensive way...... i hav used the oem version (sumitomo), ultra 10mm (silicone) n honestly, so far the best i hav used is nology...... 4 my application ler..... hehehe

Nology ESPECIALLY making false claims....
they even make grounded coax type of shielding (claim to be capacitors)..
If the braided shield is grounded, more spark is loss all the way to plug
from distributor... i try find the article i read last time.. there are experts
making the testing.

NGK sure long lasting?????? My friend bought NGK power cables oledi 6 months plus.. oledi can see whitish color at silicone wall of plug socket.. (normally means sparking leakage to the engine cover (which is metal))... he chg back to ori cable now..

TODA.. i agree 200% wif u. don matter newbie or not.
knowledge is FOR ALL. If u suffer more to learn one thing,
y u want to let ur colleagues suffer too? thats NOT a way
for msian to progress. I always TEACH anything I know
and share the infos for everyone to learn... no matter who they are.
if i make mistake, i oso learn from it.

my 1 sen aja..

akuma,
if u can still find the red with the white stripe or even black stripe that is oldschool my friend. very rajin kedai potong i see huh?

shiroitenshi,
the good part abt the new spoon cables they come with extra earthing. the bad part about it, u cant put the spoon original kevlar plug cover. u can i mean but it looks pathetic.

oderf,
maybe you can try Lin Hup Seng at Jalan Ipoh. i would definitely wanna know how much it is brand new :)

doncityz,
since ure using stock cables, what engine do u run now at the moment?

J101, thanks for the guide. i've called LHS n they said ORI B16A STOCK CABLE they sell at rm185 only.....surprise..surprise....i might consider to get one set myself soon....

Bigger spark doesn't always mean good, adequate (ngam-ngam) spark is good. Ive encounter spark plug tip which "putus" !! The combination was MSD 6al with nology wires + iridium 7 plug.

The setup was on a drag car, this combination was to much even for a 12 ++ compression engine, we get to knew how big is the spark when we tested on body,,,and it was very-very "THICK" spark (no wonder our engine kept blowing) cause of engine lean out. After we change to ultra cable, engine gets more lighter (not stressed out) and power is very smooth through the RPM. So dont be conned by smart advertisement,,, "balanced" spark with fuel was the way to go.

Dont be confused on Nology wires,,it is good but nology with MSD (amplifier + ballast) is not good. Nology itself is OK, ultra wires with MSD is OK, it all depends on the combos.

i'll take note of that. thx

Oderf said:
J101, thanks for the guide. i've called LHS n they said ORI B16A STOCK CABLE they sell at rm185 only.....surprise..surprise....i might consider to get one set myself soon....

Well, like i said b4...... it all depends on ur application...... some feel nology is over rated n some say its great..... stock settings wif nology is not much use.... try it on a dyno n u can c the power as well as the air-fuel difference.... from there u will understand wat can b done n what u need 2 do 2 compensate wif the flat spots!!

my bro is usin NGK hyper silicone n it has been a year oredi...... so far (touch wood!) no problems of such...... sometimes bad luck.....

J101,
whr got rajin?so happen i found a set in a DA6 1/2cut in a fren's shop..angkat la....BUT...ur good fren vtecmaniac went n sold d cables(whc i borrow 2 him) w d EG6..blardy...

xxxx,
u dun lebeh lar....i know u jerex coz u onry manage 2 get d Ultra n not d NOLOGY...i know,its NOlogic 4 u but it works 4 me...NOLOGY ROX!heheheh