MR2 SW 20 owners discussion thread

SW20 gurus,

What is the cheapest standalone ECU for our cars har?
Anyone using UNICHIP here? I see their price quite attractive leh. But donno can get ride of the restrictive air flow or not...

hi here, may i know wats the suitable racing clutch for sw20 225 original engine? any recomendation?

Unichip has a good tuner in JB so i think it should be ok providing u get the latest UNICHIP which is running 64bit.

twin plate? ori turbo 225 engine without mod wor... need so good one?

anyway.. how much will be the twin plate clutch?

ACT single clutch plates are good. Easy to half-clutch and has good performance.
HKS clutch is available at SS racing.
I am using TRD...abit heavy, more clutch juddering, good grip too and OS Giken Twin plates are a bit noisy like ice-cream man. But the OS Giken is light on the feel provided u get the right type of clutch bearing.

Hehe i'm using exedy semi race even heavier :-) but on the other hand fishie if you car is stock forget about any racing clutch, you can use organic which is good up to 250bhp on the wheels (Right MRMIC2?)

errmm...ahemm...stock organic clutch(245)was good until 317hp on wheels..last i tested. Now 357 whp on TRD clutch ok... :)
Try to use original organic clutch for street use as the rest of the other clutches (although giving very good grip and launches) like TRD and twin-plates are quite hard to use on daily basis because they dont offer good half-clutch feeling ie.. most aftermarket clutch will judder and cause a lot of stalling and clutching difficulties. Seriously not fun in an hours jam! hehe.
On the other hand, if u use it as an autocross/weekend car...hentam only lor..:shades_smile:

hi guys...will like to check what is the cheapest way to improve sw20 braking power ya? i am thinking of change to stainless steel brakeline to enhance response. Any suggestion on caliper and disc??

Best way to do it is to fit better brake pads. Its relatively cheap coz you'll need to fit one anyway. Changing brake line is a good investment but nothing beats a good set of pads :-)

thanks for you guys' info.. erm.. i think i prefer harder one.. hehe.. still young..
anyway.. MRMIC2 got any stock available?

Hi. Appreciate if you could intro yourself too.

Simple test.

Jack up the rear. Make sure both rear wheels can rotate freely.

If your car has LSD, then both wheels should turn in one direction. If no LSD, then different directions. Also, if you have LSD, you can test the torque by holding on to one wheel and turning the other.

Learnt this from MR2 Sifus

Goober

Hi. Appreciate if you could intro yourself too.

Simple test.

Jack up the rear. Make sure both rear wheels can rotate freely.

If your car has LSD, then both wheels should turn in one direction. If no LSD, then different directions. Also, if you have LSD, you can test the torque by holding on to one wheel and turning the other.

Learnt this from MR2 Sifus

Goober

Cheers for the help...Erm...I'm Jonathan...I'm 18. I'm currently in england...just got a Black 92 MR2 NA G-Limited 3S-GE Engine...Still considerably stock with minor mods...just Koni adjustables Suspension,some struts and anti roll bars, and a K&N Filter...

Nice to meet u all...

iexit.. i just swap my front brake pads to mintex while my rear still waiting for the time to come... i think the pad not bad. but somehow i just dont feel the response as good as expected. hmmmm....

just for info...bedding in of new brake pads is abt 200(km/miles?).
Changing the master cylinder to a turbo version (looks abit longer with a little step) will help in the braking. One step further would be to convert to 2nd/3rd gen specs rotors and calipers. About 1" larger than the older versions, it provides better braking.
To choose a good brakepad for grip, look for the FRICTION COEFFICENT and TEMPERATURE of pads. Street specs, please do not choose anything more than 500 degree celcius as it will mean that most of your braking friction is at a high temp and thus at low temps and before warm ups, it will not bite properly.
Track spec pads (high temps) will ruin the rotors/discs when prolonged running at low temperature/street use.

Get a brakepad with higher brake coefficient.
As a comparison:
standard MR2 brakepads are around 0.28- 0.35 miu
Street spec pads are around 0.32-0.40
Endless Gymkhana brake pads (for rear) is 0.60 miu (super grippy,super expensive)
Endless Track pad 0.40-0.50+ miu

Hope this helps
Learned this over a cup of kopi-O.. :)

oh yes..please change the brake lines(very important!). Ourcars are like 15-18 years old and the rubber hoses would have soften (or became brittle) long time ago. it will become spongy and has lousy feel util a point where it bursts and u have no brakes! Recommended change would be abt 6 years of use and our cars are like strectching it abit long... also same goes for ruber water coolant hoses. These are some money on parts u dont wish to save/skimp on....

how am i going to check whether the brake line condition is ok or not? a mech said i feel not good because the ex owner changed the rims but did not change the disc as well.. (biger size)

wah.. later no brake u will see a lengendary mr2 hanging above the tree.. haha

thanks mic... i think thats i am planning to do --> changed pad/brakeline/bleed the brake fluid. however, i plan for a transplant this year end so just wondering if the brake pad can be reused on turbo caliper? hmm.. if not that will be a waste.