Mr-2 Sw20

dear 2's i am planning a trip down to singapore for all of us on 27 an bcak on the 28th november. subsidised petrol, toll and hotel will be given to the participating owners.

feel free to pm for more info and put your name down on the list.

1. midship
2. aw11-kevin
3. auto extreme-loong

dear 2's i am planning a trip down to singapore for all of us on 27 an bcak on the 28th november. subsidised petrol, toll and hotel will be given to the participating owners.

1. midship
2. aw11-kevin
3. auto extreme-loong
4.de blue's

Originally posted by aEROz@Nov 10 2004, 10:11
Hello 2s. As you all know, the MR2 is an oversteer beast. It's much worst than I thought. I only found out after some hard and inexperience drive on the track. But then again, my MR2's suspension is stock, save for the thicker rear turbo sway bars. I have a question for you guys, hope it's not too tough to answer.

How do you guys set up your suspension like?

Do you guys leave the oversteer nature of the MR2 alone, and set up the way it's meant to be? Example, just some stiffer shocks and springs, but the oversteer inclination of the car stays.

Or do you guys set it up so it's more towards neutral or even understeer (which should be very hard to achieve, I think?) so it'd be safer/easier to drive/control ?

Of course, 'neutralsteer' is what everyone wants, but then again it'd lose the main characteristics of the MR2, oversteer, and fun "drivability" in some sense. Sideways syndrome for some of you even, perhaps. :)

I dont go for the long hard corners on the road/highways. I cant afford to crash my baby at 160, 140 kilometres per hour. I only go hard on corners that are relatively slow and short.

Back to the main question again, what nature do you go for when setting up your car? Over? Under? Or you don't bother at all. Any stiff suspension is good for you. Hehehe.
Hello Aeroz,
You seem to be a dillema here....hope I can help.
The MR2 has a natural tendency to oversteer as most of it's weight is situated at the rear.Weight distribution is 42%:58% (Front/Rear)hence the tendency to oversteer. To cure oversteering problem,you'd need to shift your weight forward(i think it's the CG - Center of Gravity).You can do this by lowering your front or by raising your rear,whichever u choose.This will shift weight forward and give u a more balanced car.I shifted my car's weight by using larger diameter tyres at the rear(would shift the reading of the speedometer) and also by playing around with the height of the adjustable-height absorbers.

Car setup is very subjective...depending on the driver and usage.
In Autocross you will need more oversteer to help tighten the cornering radius as the SW20 MR2 is quite long and the turning circle would be rather large compared to smaller vehicles.
In large track settings(like Sepang),slight understeer woul benefit most people as the fronts will start to slip earlier and let you know before you loose grip on all tires and spinning out(hehe). ;)

Stiff suspension is not always better. ;)

In a track environment you will have to be as smooth as possible and not cause sudden weight shifts.Enter a corner as stable as possible and try to use the heel & toe technique to maintain proper balance. :)

Hope this helps....lots of other sifus out there like prophecy,porosaki etc. who'd be able to teach u more.. :)

I choose the MR2 as my gymkhana weapon ;)

Thanks for the answer to my question guys.

And so I thought too, mick. Stronger oversteer for the autocross events and + more understeer for the track. On track, once the tail begins to slip I think it'd be very hard to correct the path again, especially for a MR beginner like me.

I think setting up the suspension towards to a little bit more understeer wouldn't hurt, since I dont crazy u-turns, superslides on the road like an autocross event :D

I've always manage to somehow confuse myself on whether a stiffer/lower rear than the front would promote oversteer or the other way around. I guess I'll just follow your advice on lifting the rear a little bit and lowering the front.

I'll be installing a pair or rear cusco coilovers soon, which is exactly opposite of what I should do. I'll have to wait a while and experiment with this setup on how it'll drastically affect the handling, before my 1 piece of custom made-to-copy arrives to complement the missing piece (i only have 3 sticks of the cuscos). Hopefully they'll be able to do a perfect or close match to the missing piece's damping rates and stuff.

Btw , here's what I'm planning to do to further reduce the oversteer tendency. Please advice if you guys think I'd just mess things up or i got them wrongly

: Front toe-in (under, straight speed stability)
: Front neg camber (over)
: Rear neg camber (under, more grip at the rear during turn)
: Higher rear / lower front (under, shifting the centre of gravity to front)

Anything else I'm missing? Would be ecstatic if any sw20 owners would post up their suspension configurations hehe :)

Originally posted by midship@Nov 11 2004, 17:50

1. midship
2. aw11-kevin
3. auto extreme-loong
4. mrs - link
update

juz a Q of wonder...
does "running the club" same as "taking over the club" aka "president/chairman"??
oh juz wondering...

Dear 2's

Last call for signing up for singapore convoy on the 27-28th november.

1. midship
2. prophecy
3. de blues
4. 5555
5. eunos
6. kevin aw
7. johnson mrs
8. loong
9. mk 84
10. koolspyda

1. midship
2. prophecy
3. de blues
4. 5555
5. eunos
6. kevin aw
7. johnson mrs
8. loong
9. mk 84
10. koolspyda
11. aER0z

What time do we leave? I'll be working till 12pm that day. If early morning means I'll havee to take leave on that day.

Originally posted by aEROz@Nov 12 2004, 10:50
Please advice if you guys think I'd just mess things up or i got them wrongly

Anything else I'm missing? Would be ecstatic if any sw20 owners would post up their suspension configurations hehe :)

Excuse me Mr.Aeroz....your Front toe-in will increase oversteer & Higherrear/lower front further increases oversteer! You might be in for some low-flying helicopter techniques?Hehe
;)

Originally posted by MRMIC2+Nov 17 2004, 15:49 -->
QUOTE (MRMIC2 @ Nov 17 2004, 15:49 )
--QuoteBegin-aEROz
@Nov 12 2004, 10:50
Please advice if you guys think I'd just mess things up or i got them wrongly

Excuse me Mr.Aeroz....your Front toe-in will increase oversteer & Higherrear/lower front further increases oversteer! You might be in for some low-flying helicopter techniques?Hehe
;)[/b][/quote]
Eh, so I got it wrongly again? Aiyoyo.

So,

TOE-IN = OVER ?
REAR HIGHER/SOFTER > FRONT = OVER ?

Hmmmmmmm confuse confuse. I thought you said shifting the centre of gravity of the rear to become higher produce a more stable car? Did I misunderstood that for increasing understeer or what? Pardon me, still alot of things to learn hehehe.

So for more understeer should I TOE-OUT and leave my current suspension setup of rear cusco coilovers / front stock alone?

It does....but do it one at a time...if u over-shift the weight and align for over together ...u will have a very twitchy rear.
BTW forgot to ask if you are using the 245 rear arms and cross members?If you are you do not need to compensate for alignment as 245s already has been factory re-tuned.

Are u sure u want cusco shocks as they have been known to be very hard for normal driving?

dear 2's, please ensure that your rides seek the necessary attention and maintenance for next weeks cruise down south

waaaah!...cat join u guys for the next weeks trip to Singapore because I have to photograph a wedding...
Enjoy yourselves guys!

Hello 2s. So how was the discussion about the trip to Singapore last sunday? Couldn't come, would appreciate a summary of it hehehe.

MK, MIC, ok I got it. Yeah the CUSCOs are really a bit too bumpy even at the softest setting. I've looked around and I THINK it's the Zero 2R model.

Right now i'm still on Cusco coilover rears and stock front. Well, haven't really notice anything strange about handling as I havent been taking them hard. Only some donuts hehehe.

The ride bounces kinda funny on highway, like 3 really quick and short boing, boing, boing. Are the shocks dead? Not really maybe, I think the soft front is probably affecting it. Anyway, not really used to such hard shocks. Had a hard time with my brother's previously TIEN-ed SEG hehehe.

Oh well, cant complain much. The CUSCO pair came so cheap, and with CUSCO pillowball mounts as well. I think it's a steal. Might go and TITAN the front of my ride, need to seek their advice on what spring and damping rates to match the CUSCOs. Prolly next month, so any MR2s wants to go for a group discount? Heheheh.

p/s: SW20 MR2's front spring rate is softer than of that the rear, right??