the only way to drive a MR2 well is practice...
but i have track phobia liao...
Hello Aeroz,Originally posted by aEROz@Nov 10 2004, 10:11
Hello 2s. As you all know, the MR2 is an oversteer beast. It's much worst than I thought. I only found out after some hard and inexperience drive on the track. But then again, my MR2's suspension is stock, save for the thicker rear turbo sway bars. I have a question for you guys, hope it's not too tough to answer.
How do you guys set up your suspension like?
Do you guys leave the oversteer nature of the MR2 alone, and set up the way it's meant to be? Example, just some stiffer shocks and springs, but the oversteer inclination of the car stays.
Or do you guys set it up so it's more towards neutral or even understeer (which should be very hard to achieve, I think?) so it'd be safer/easier to drive/control ?
Of course, 'neutralsteer' is what everyone wants, but then again it'd lose the main characteristics of the MR2, oversteer, and fun "drivability" in some sense. Sideways syndrome for some of you even, perhaps. :)
I dont go for the long hard corners on the road/highways. I cant afford to crash my baby at 160, 140 kilometres per hour. I only go hard on corners that are relatively slow and short.
Back to the main question again, what nature do you go for when setting up your car? Over? Under? Or you don't bother at all. Any stiff suspension is good for you. Hehehe.
updateOriginally posted by midship@Nov 11 2004, 17:50
dear 2's i am planning a trip down to singapore for all of us on 27 an bcak on the 28th november. subsidised petrol, toll and hotel will be given to the participating owners.
feel free to pm for more info and put your name down on the list.
1. midship
2. aw11-kevin
3. auto extreme-loong
4. mrs - link
1. midship
2. prophecy
3. de blues
4. 5555
5. eunos
6. kevin aw
7. johnson mrs
8. loong
9. mk 84
10. koolspyda
11. aER0z
;)Originally posted by aEROz@Nov 12 2004, 10:50
Please advice if you guys think I'd just mess things up or i got them wrongly
: Front toe-in (under, straight speed stability)
: Front neg camber (over)
: Rear neg camber (under, more grip at the rear during turn)
: Higher rear / lower front (under, shifting the centre of gravity to front)
Anything else I'm missing? Would be ecstatic if any sw20 owners would post up their suspension configurations hehe :)
Excuse me Mr.Aeroz....your Front toe-in will increase oversteer & Higherrear/lower front further increases oversteer! You might be in for some low-flying helicopter techniques?Hehe
Originally posted by MRMIC2+Nov 17 2004, 15:49 -->
QUOTE (MRMIC2 @ Nov 17 2004, 15:49 ) --QuoteBegin-aEROz
@Nov 12 2004, 10:50
Please advice if you guys think I'd just mess things up or i got them wrongly
: Front toe-in (under, straight speed stability)
: Front neg camber (over)
: Rear neg camber (under, more grip at the rear during turn)
: Higher rear / lower front (under, shifting the centre of gravity to front)
Anything else I'm missing? Would be ecstatic if any sw20 owners would post up their suspension configurations hehe :)
;)[/b][/quote] Eh, so I got it wrongly again? Aiyoyo. So, TOE-IN = OVER ? REAR HIGHER/SOFTER > FRONT = OVER ? Hmmmmmmm confuse confuse. I thought you said shifting the centre of gravity of the rear to become higher produce a more stable car? Did I misunderstood that for increasing understeer or what? Pardon me, still alot of things to learn hehehe. So for more understeer should I TOE-OUT and leave my current suspension setup of rear cusco coilovers / front stock alone? |