MR-2 or prelude

mrbear said:
* if u said B16B only 1.6L and H22A is 2.2L. different is B16B is on EK9,how much is EK9? i ask u .. where H22A 2.2L Prelude is not more than RM40K?

is it EK9 is cheaper than Prelude? u buy 1 EK9 also can get 2 Prelude with H22A.

in terms u got RM50K cash in hand,not more than 50K price of cars u want to buy. Would i suggest u buy Evo9?
2 preludes? Get your facts right bro before flaming. Will a prelude actually be a cheaper option? An older car with a newer car, which one will have more problems? Fixing up cars ain't cheap too.

What you guys were arguing was mainly about the power output. Bro, if everything is about power and the money is the problem. Get a Prelude. Spare parts for VTEC ain't cheap k? And MR2 ain't rare here in Malaysia.

i say the MR2..
the fact that it has the sporty styling that stands out from the crowd..
its a 2dr, 2seater...
more of a wkend car if you ask me...
and there are tons of aftermarkets stuffs to make it look chun...
think carefully as these type of cars may need some time if you want to sell in the future..
my 2 cents

Dudes.... Both the cars are great cars.... No argument about it.. if u put the 2 in front of me again.. confirm i cannot choose between the 2 cars also... would probably get both if I can afford.. hehehehe.... but of coz would not trade my BB8 for any of those 2 lar.. hehehehe...

However, EK9 I have to admit is a great car too... even the engine is amazing.... not to sure, but just curious, isn't the EK9 a Type R????? if so.. that means that the engine is already tuned to almost the max liao...rite???? same as the Integra type R too isn't it... which have been tuned up nicely already to achieve 10 HP per 0.1 litre

I mentioned before the H22a is an engine full of potential because its actually just a normal engine lor.... like a Honda Accord only.... therefore had Honda made a Type R version of the Prelude.... it would probably be a killer NA car lar... hehehehe...

buy MR2 twin turbo, end of story...can easily tapau an EK9 or prelude....

wei MR2 got twin turbo wan meh??? never hear before wor... hehehe.. u talking about Supra Twin Turbo issit????

i think he meant "twin entry turbo" instead of twin turbo??

thteh86 said:
2 preludes? Get your facts right bro before flaming. Will a prelude actually be a cheaper option? An older car with a newer car, which one will have more problems? Fixing up cars ain't cheap too.

What you guys were arguing was mainly about the power output. Bro, if everything is about power and the money is the problem. Get a Prelude. Spare parts for VTEC ain't cheap k? And MR2 ain't rare here in Malaysia.

* prelude n mr2 (a topic) would be cheaper than EK9.. :shades_smile:

* as what i know,or anyone agree .. newer cars giving a lot of problems,rather of old cars.. correct me if im wrong dude .. :mouth_closed:

* fixing is not an issue,depends la what sort of problems,if u could afford to buy car,should be repairing/fixing not be an issue?

* VTEC spare parts or OEM parts for Prelude/H22A VTEC is CHEAP! to compared to B16A/B16B/B18C/K20A/F22

* QUOTE=thteh86]2 preludes? Get your facts right bro before flaming

FYI:

http://www.motortrader.com.my/images/db_images/st129731.jpg
HONDA PRELUDE 2.2 (A) DOHC VTEC 92/96 RM42,800 -, full loan,17" s/rims,sunroof,racing absorber,exhaust system,5 zigen,many extra,trade in welcome, call 012-633 6711,012-231 8803 (Loc. KLANG)

http://www.motortrader.com.my/images/db_images/st129951a.jpg
HONDA PRELUDE 2.2 (M) BIG VTEC 93/97 RM39,900 -, Acc-free, fine tuned extractor, upgraded carbon fibre, hood advan, 3 pcs rims, tein adjustable & soft hard, many extras, value buy, Call 019-337 9266 (Loc. Cheras)

http://www.motortrader.com.my/images/db_images/sp74670.jpg
HONDA PRELUDE 2.2 V-TEC (A) 91/96 RM45K white, t/top cond., acc-free, s/rim17", koni absober, very powerful, tinted, new paint, Call 012-206 6968 (Loc. KL)

H.Prelude 2.2VTEC (A) RM35K 1992-1996 (someone selling)
H.Prelude 2.2VTEC (A) RM38K 1992-1996 (someone selling)

as i know for EK9. the price would slash up to 75k or more depends. would not be lower than RM75K. you wont c anyone selling their EK9 in the market.

so bro .. if u buy EK9 for the price. you can get 2 prelude as what i mention above rite? (off coz la u know how to nego price,n etc etc)

(buy RM35K prelude + buy another prelude for RM40K) = RM75K (price for EK9) (lets assume)

actually ar.. YOU yourself should get more facts & informations before start flaming. no offence. :shocked:

Mr Bear,
where can I get this info about who is selling Lude on the net? In motortrader.com.my? Last time I check, there aren't so many. Which one is more recommended, 2.2 M or 2.2 A? How much different on power, fc?

Dude... NA MR2 145HP is at the wheels therefore Prelude at the wheels is about 165? Agreed VTec engine is superior over NA Toyota, but loose out to potential power if compare 3S GTE with Vtec.

ALL targas face the same problem whether Porsche, Pontiac or Toyota and rubbers for MR2 are available brand new.... :P

lil_piggy2 said:
Brother... the NA MR2 is not 180 HP lar... the 180 HP is the beams engine... which only came out in 1997... Malaysia only got 1.. the Normal MR2 N/A engine is churning only 145 HP lar... which is actually quite standard lar for a 2.0 engine .... the prelude which is a 2.2 is churning out 190-200 HP.. depending on modifications and is running on a low compression engine.... H22A is an engine filled with potential.. and is up to the owner to push it to the max....

Though if u are getting an MR2... u should look out for those with targa tops... as those cars are pretty old and the rubber hardens... the targa tops will leak lots of water into the car during heavy rains... I experience this in my friends car and apparently all MR2's with Targa tops face the same problem... the only way to solve is to change the rubber... but where in Msia u can find a new rubber for ur targa tops lar.... :p

Both these cars are great choices... and again it would depend on the buyers preference at the end of the day.... no doubt that both cars are sportscars therefore practicality is thrown out the window.... but then if u are driving it on a daily basis, then u would have to consider the practicallity of luggage space for ur stuff be it lap tops of work or such... MR2 is just a lil too compact for that.

thteh86 said:
MR2 is a driver's car. It is never meant to be a poser's car as the midship is kinda hard to control because it is tail happy. Some people love this sort of car as it is a fun car to drive. The 3SGTE engine is something that most ppl who love to have and for more info, I suggest you seek advice from the Toyota forum.

The Prelude is a much easier car to control, with it's FF drivetrain, but it doesn't mean that it is a better car. It has 5 seats, but bear in mind that it is still a 2 door coupe. However, there're still advantages of an FF car as it doesn't oversteer as often as a midship. H22a is a great heart to toy with. But why mess with an engine so much? Turbocharging a H22a? Why the hassle? Enjoy the VTEC's roar!

For me, I'd go for an MR2 as it is a much playful car compare to a Prelude. Power is not everything though.

MR / FR will hving over steer, but FF/4WD also hving understeer ...depend on setting on suspension...MR/FR/RR also can hving understeer n FF/4WD also can b oversteer....that's why prelude will hv 4WS to helping in corner

for me will go for prelude for if daily use, weekend car sure go for MR2, cos prelude got 4/5 seat...MR2 jsut hving 2 seat...if anything else happend prelude still can fetching more ppl ...H22A actually quite ok ..FC not so high if compare to those turbo charge engine...

if u really want to get MR2 u can search for the last edition of MR2 which hving 3SGTE BEAMS engine ..N/A with 210hp..that 1 will b nice...but rare in Malaysia...sure the turbo Charge 3SGTE more powerful ....if for drift MR2 was not recommended ...cos easy to powerover ...once over accelerate..the car will spin ...unles u hv the drifiting skill like drift king ...he can drift all kind of MR or RR car ...

so for me i'm drving BB1 now ..it still ok no much problem for me ....just some part getting old need to change only .... u can consider for prelude ...quite a nice car ...

MR2 is not bad la ..cos ppl called it poor man ferrari wat hehehe....just my opinion la ..go for prelude...MR2 if u don mind those other thing ...can go for it ...

edddial said:
Mr Bear,
where can I get this info about who is selling Lude on the net? In motortrader.com.my? Last time I check, there aren't so many. Which one is more recommended, 2.2 M or 2.2 A? How much different on power, fc?

* bro u can check latest motortrader! i check online

err.. 2.2M would be the best,5 speed .. 2.2 4speed auto would be great also..

but actually depends on which u prefer coz some lazy drive manual. so buy auto,where some dun like auto,so buy manual. both syiok wo! hehe..

err diff power n fc .. manual better,but auto n manual depends on how ur driving style..

mine.. rm100 not more than 500km .. average 10 days (i travel mostly highways)(shah alam-cyberjaya)

actually ar.. if u notice,depends on months.. sometimes a lot of preludes selling,but some months,not even 1 is selling.

SkYwAlKeR said:
mrbear, got car club for preludes??....

* got got .. not club la.. but FaMILY .. HP4G (for 4th generations prelude only) .. u search on zth for HP4G.. more than 30 active members around (KL) itself + members from sabah n sarawak. the family is growing everyday..

poor fella. i sure he headache by now which car to get.

hisha and bear got very good views. being a lude driver myself, i get stuck in traffic jam everyday avg 2 hours and my fuel tank still can last 360km for RM90.

IMHO, prelude FC is ok, but if its power you want, get the manual lude version. Auto versions are known to have poor gear shift quality and need to service, i serviced mine than only worked better, less jerky.

Prelude is a beautiful car, the longer you look the longer you fall in love with it. I did and ended up driving one.

MrBear.... U seem to know where to find parts for Prelude.. I was wondering if u can intro some place for me to source for parts for my car... I am having a lil dificulty trying to find for my prelude...

thteh86 said:
*bro, no offence, buying a car with a higher capacity but giving out almost the same horses, that's something different. A B16b is only 1.6litres whereas the H22a is 2.2, what's wrong with you?

Horses aren't everything k? Most people nowadays take horses so seriously that they think that without more horses or with a better car I can tapao anyone I want. Sure, straight road if you mean. But when you take something else into account such as weight? The Skyline can be a fast car, but a bulky car. You get what I mean?

I'm just suggesting that kinda car to prove that H22a isn't everything. An evo 7, s15, rx7, dc5, NSX...most of them are more than 2.0 litres other than the rx7.

bro, u got any idea how much potential H22A can offer with little mods as compared to B16? can b16 handle a 12:1 comp ratio? i can spend less than 3k to achieve 190whp on a prelude h22a!!

yes i think the hp figure plays the main role when u really started owning a sports car i.e. u ll always desperate for more hp. weight on the other hand offers stability during cornering and i dont see why heavyweighted cars is a drawback.

my vote goes to prelude h22a (furthermore thats a manual trans lude). cheap car to own and maintenance is not an issue though i dont think mr2 is expensive too.

spare parts are everywhere and not too expensive. h22a has good reputation for its reliability.

lil_piggy2 said:
MrBear.... U seem to know where to find parts for Prelude.. I was wondering if u can intro some place for me to source for parts for my car... I am having a lil dificulty trying to find for my prelude...

puchong has a lot of chop shops. jln cheras has a few, jln chan sow lin and kepong also got.

wot parts u looking for? spare parts, performance parts or wot?

JuizeeeBrain said:
bro, u got any idea how much potential H22A can offer with little mods as compared to B16? can b16 handle a 12:1 comp ratio? i can spend less than 3k to achieve 190whp on a prelude h22a!!

yes i think the hp figure plays the main role when u really started owning a sports car i.e. u ll always desperate for more hp. weight on the other hand offers stability during cornering and i dont see why heavyweighted cars is a drawback.

my vote goes to prelude h22a (furthermore thats a manual trans lude). cheap car to own and maintenance is not an issue though i dont think mr2 is expensive too.

spare parts are everywhere and not too expensive. h22a has good reputation for its reliability.
a 190 hp from a b16b and how much does a prelude has under the hood? 3k isn't a hassle if you already have 170 horses, but fine tuning it would be a bigger prob.

heavyweight offers stability? Well, better get your facts right first.

mrbear said:
* prelude n mr2 (a topic) would be cheaper than EK9.. :shades_smile:

* as what i know,or anyone agree .. newer cars giving a lot of problems,rather of old cars.. correct me if im wrong dude .. :mouth_closed:

* fixing is not an issue,depends la what sort of problems,if u could afford to buy car,should be repairing/fixing not be an issue?

* VTEC spare parts or OEM parts for Prelude/H22A VTEC is CHEAP! to compared to B16A/B16B/B18C/K20A/F22

* QUOTE=thteh86]2 preludes? Get your facts right bro before flaming

FYI:

http://www.motortrader.com.my/images/db_images/st129731.jpg
HONDA PRELUDE 2.2 (A) DOHC VTEC 92/96 RM42,800 -, full loan,17" s/rims,sunroof,racing absorber,exhaust system,5 zigen,many extra,trade in welcome, call 012-633 6711,012-231 8803 (Loc. KLANG)

http://www.motortrader.com.my/images/db_images/st129951a.jpg
HONDA PRELUDE 2.2 (M) BIG VTEC 93/97 RM39,900 -, Acc-free, fine tuned extractor, upgraded carbon fibre, hood advan, 3 pcs rims, tein adjustable & soft hard, many extras, value buy, Call 019-337 9266 (Loc. Cheras)

http://www.motortrader.com.my/images/db_images/sp74670.jpg
HONDA PRELUDE 2.2 V-TEC (A) 91/96 RM45K white, t/top cond., acc-free, s/rim17", koni absober, very powerful, tinted, new paint, Call 012-206 6968 (Loc. KL)

H.Prelude 2.2VTEC (A) RM35K 1992-1996 (someone selling)
H.Prelude 2.2VTEC (A) RM38K 1992-1996 (someone selling)

as i know for EK9. the price would slash up to 75k or more depends. would not be lower than RM75K. you wont c anyone selling their EK9 in the market.

so bro .. if u buy EK9 for the price. you can get 2 prelude as what i mention above rite? (off coz la u know how to nego price,n etc etc)

(buy RM35K prelude + buy another prelude for RM40K) = RM75K (price for EK9) (lets assume)

actually ar.. YOU yourself should get more facts & informations before start flaming. no offence. :shocked:
have you mentioned about it being an automatic tranny? And furthermore you are advising people to buy manual tranny?

Converting ain't an easy thing as insurance has the rights not to compensate you anything if it is illegally converted.

I have my say, if it's all about the horses, get the prelude....