wira v6 conversion

willow2004

Mar 9, 2005

I just bough a sedan wira original 1.6 auto which already converted to 1.8 4G93 turbo manual, after driving for a while feel that is not my liking.

I currently plan to convert it to v6 automatic.
I have a few questions probably all of you can share:

1. It is legal to do this conversion, body original is 1.6?

2. Which v6 auto is reliable? eternal or others? I only like v6 which I
like smooth/quiet engine :)

3. How much it cost to trade in this 1.8 4G93 turbo engine from my car?
(running in good condition, no leaking, new timing belt, new clutch, original boost) but I don't like it because noisy engine.

Willow.

acbc

Jan 9, 2004
KD
Not possible unless it is a Wira 1.8 chassis - which can go up to 2000cc (6A12).

Putting a heavy engine on a Wira is definately NOT recommended. The front will be too heavy.

dolly

Dec 24, 2003
yep yep, 1.8 turbo engine to a wisapu is like what the glass slipper is to cinderella

AccordRacing

Feb 2, 2005
kepong
www.zhapalang.com.my
don do it..my friend install 1.6 v6 auto very poor power out put,not pick up at all,but when reach the speed about 120km/h then the power unleash like vtec power,if really wan get v6 make it manual will be more powerful,btw auto is not quiet when he accelerate the muffler sound quite big may be under power

willow2004

Mar 9, 2005
Sorry if some of you may misunderstand my message.

I plan to convert 1.8 4G93 turbo manual (original 1.6 auto) to
6A12 2.0 v6 automantic N/A. Not the 1.6 V6, a lot of my friends told
me stay away from this 1.6 V6.

:-)

Any idea?

- Proton wira sedan body 1.6 auto
- 1st time conversion to 18 4G93 turbo manual
- 2nd conversion to 2.0 Mits. N/A V6 auto???

GSR_X

Aug 13, 2004
erm how bout identifying the engine sound ?
fixing in a good mid muffler to reduce muffler sound
rebuilding ur head maybe if there is tappet noise and all...

willow2004

Mar 9, 2005
thanks, the sound is pure engine rev, it is normal and same as my friends'
GSR sound.

If V6 is not recommended, anyone know if any triptronic gearbox to suit
this turbo engine?

I guess need 9" clutch plate to sustain the torque...

Itab

Apr 14, 2004
Serdang
GSR memang running on 9" fly wheel and clutch wat
i can confirm tht coz juz change my clutch plate n gear box like 2 months ago,took out everything to meassure

wildboar

Jun 24, 2004
isnt the mountings for 6a12 is different fr our 4g engines?? i dun think jpj will approve transplants which involve mounting modifications...stated quite clearly in their website...(someone posted it up in one of the topics)..

1.6 to 2.0 is still ok i guess...depends on runner..u might have to fork out a bit more $$ cos the last i heard, jpj now oni allows 1.6-1.8max...oni 1.8 chasis allowed to upgrade to 2.0..

LAWRENCE_Q

Feb 13, 2004
suggest stick to 1.8, original 1.6 can only convert to 1.8 (25% from original), mivec 1.8,GTI 1.8, GSR 1.8 & etc

1.8 still got many choice

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
erm guys....from my calculator...wat i get after 1600cc add wit 25% is 2000cc wor....y cannot leh?

o mayb kahwin n make it 2 a mivec 4g93? :P

n the proton perdana 6a12 gearbox alot of problem 1 wor...

accordracing...
my fren also using 6a10...v6 no pick up 1...but too speed diff story...
sound of muffler loud? i think its SOLID lah...6 piston sound wor...
compare my frens sound n mine...i like his 1 damn much

willow2004

Mar 9, 2005
Thanks for all your info and advice.

and after talking to friends, it is not recommended for V6 2.0 wira
is because later if you wanna sell it, v6 2.0 is not that "Laku" and
very hard to find buyer. guess.

So I think I decided not to do this and just stay with my GSR 1.8 manual,
probably upgrade to "Titan" absober for a comfort ride. :)

Thank you all.

Willow

While Renault’s motorsports division may have had their duties eased off following the sale of their Formula One team to Lotus, they’ve been retasked with providing engines to Formula One teams as well as focusing on performance kits for their road-going vehicles, such as the Megane RS that has been kitted out for the rigours of tarmac rallying...