Mivec can fit 4WD?

nashlovebrown

hei frens pls tell me ... can a lancer mivec 1.6 modified to 4WD....will it have pickup and power with 4WD .... thanx

I think 4WD is only good for launching super high torque machine, for a 4G92 MIVEC... no way....

AFAIK 4WD doesn't give you xtra power gua :D and if not mistaken, 4WD decrease top speed also... cause the power is distributed to all 4 wheels and resulting in torque lost....

Sifus please clarify if there're any mistakes, tq tq :P

4WD gives you better traction when cornering, as opposed to FF and FR.

You lag behind during launch and in the straight. Power and pickup I'm not sure. Depends on how much you have and how you apply it. A 4WD would usually clock slower for drag.

a 50/50 power split doesn't mean equal power to front and back. Your engine's at the front, so you will have more traction to the front, hence more power transfer there. Tyre size also play a role.

also, youi might have to take a closer look at your chassis, there might be some weak spots that would make your car snap in 2.

1 more thing, 4WD behaves more or less like FF except in corners at the limit.

ya because i was thinking ... some ppl put 4WD in their GSR non turbo ... i have a fren using in his putra 4G92NA .... the hp for 4G92 not as high as mivec 1.6 if i dont mistaken...so if he can put 4WD y a mivec cant..that y wanna ask u all is it possible....yes ModMaestro the connering will be damn good u can take conner in high speed not like using FWD ... thats what i wan... power of connering when race ... high power also very very important the pick up in a race thats y the lancer wont have high pick up power.....im looking forward to put either 4WD or RWD ... beside that the drifting also will be super in 4WD or RWD but cant do it using FWD ....

If you want to drift, better get a FR layout.

while drifting a 4WD is easier than a FF, it is still quite difficult.

FR is front mounted engine and rear wheel drive.

FF is front mounted engine and front wheel drive.

This is important not just where the drive wheels are, but also where the engine is.

I've ask around a bit before, but it's a Nissan Frontier.

What they do is to disable the 4WD. Basically they take away some gears or stuffs so that the Frontier would never engage 4WD.

It might be the same with the Mitsubishi passenger car AWD system.

Failing that, can always find a good mech and install a RWD system from another make of car. But this might be expensive.

ya i heard that... locking the 4WD into FWD or RWD.... ermmm thats a good idea... but i think need to change the chasis huh..someone said to me need to change the chasis...y huh

if you change the chassis, you might as well change car. LOL

Yes the Lancer aren't as tough as the EVO, but you still can strengthen it. Think of it like the difference between normal Satri and the GTi. But spot welding and roll cages are quite expensive, especially if it's to FIA standard.

ONe more thing, is your lancer rear brakes drum or disc?

disc...what is brakes drum.....but sure mine is disk...im not that expert in car parts all...some ok la...this brake drum what is it....change car huh y u said so...because some ppl said the 4WD wont fit direct to lancer so need to change the chasis ...

not change the whole chassis, I think that's what they meant. Coz your car body is your chassis, so isn't better to just change car?

You will have to to modify you chassis though. You have to cut up some of the flooroard to accomadate the rear drive, AWD or RWD. And after that, you will have more reasons to strengthen your chassis. I've heard people said changing the doors to those of Evo also helps, something like the Evo doors have better sructural rigidity. BUt getting a full set of doors might be too difficult, so a rolcage might be easier.

About the drum brakes, next time take a look at the rear brakes of a normal proton. Thr fronts are disc, while the ones at the rear are the drum brakes.

ohhhhh that is drum brakes la...most of proton wira n satria got right ..okok now i know thanx...yes yes not all chasis la...the bottom part to fit the 4WD or RWD... beause i think mivec 175hp...cant be utilize 175hp with FWD .... only 4WD or RWD can utilize fully the mivec hp....thats what i heard from other expert

mivec is turbo engine ah?

anyhow, any drive can fully utilise the power, it all depends on your driving style and needs. If you mostly want to drift, then better go for the other layouts. If mostly drag and track, FWD still ok le. FWD after certain power level will be difficlut to control. The most powerful production car with FWD is 330bhp.

1 option might be to get the transmission from the Storm pick up. At least you know it can handle some abuse.

drag n track using FWD huh...i though turbo cars specially for track n drag using 4WD only...more control power...330hp with FWD huh i think cannot control la...damnnnnnnnnnnnn.....no mivec not turbo ...mivec 1.6 is 175hp...not like normal 1.6 only 115 to 135hp....thas y wanna know can mivec use 4WD since got high hp...

for track cars, just think of all the Honda Type Rs, or just Hondas in general.

to know for sure and also the parts and pricing, better go talk to your mech. But have to make sure they do high level custom work, not just plug and play.

Plus 175bhp, that's on the engine right. so probably translate to about 140-150bhp on the wheel.

ya on the wheel around 165++hp la.....thats y wanna put RWD or 4WD can get the full 175hp or might be higer my mechanic said if modified abit there n here...wanna play with Na cars not turbo la...turbo maintenance very high...yes yes honda all FWD...but the control might be wont that good la using FWD

er..you don't get the same power on the engine and on your wheel. The power at the engine will always be higher than on the wheel. This is because of transmission lost, and by making it 4WD you will even have more transmission lost.

yes huh sure or not....because like skyline engine power is 380++hp right if not mistaken la....but some american fellows can modify it to 1000hp .... i saw a video my fren send to me a skyline that been modified to 1400hp...it run like jet...tested in airport road....in oversea la...u know them mad in modify....my mechanic said that if u put 4WD more control, conner very cun, pick up more for turbo cars...becasue all ur 4 wheels turn if FWD or RWD only 2 wheels will turn so there will be different between 2.0 turbo 4WD and 2.0 RWD...4WD can be infront more than few cars distance than the car use FWD or RWD....thats y most of the drag cars using 4WD