manual gear box rattling noise....:(

yewjunyan

Hey guys, im driving a wira manual transmission,i would like to ask u all that had u all ever experience on having difficulties in shifting from 1st gear to second gear? and as i force the gear to be enggage, there'll be a 'grek' sound comming out from the gear box...this problem is muc more serious in the morning and when the engine run hot, the performance improve slightly...Frank to say that i just had my lubicant and clucth set replaced with the new one and the problem seems still occur...Would it be a gear sycroniser problem?

secongly, when i let the transmission in neutral,clucth engaged, i can hear some rattling noise come from the gear box...it disappear after i step on clucth...Is that shows that my transmission is subject to failure? gear are loosing?...

from what i know, its maybe because of ur gearbox fluid. some component in ur gearbox maybe worn out d...

When the sync mesh is worn out, it will be hard to change gears. It will be hard and sometimes with noise (like what you are experiencing).

Try double-clutching (like how the race drivers drive). It will help...and if it does, that means the sync mesh KO liao...

Without prejudice, and above all things, try adding about 10% Tufoil or about 4 oz.Shifting should be a tad easier.

tats a sign of worn synchromesh. no gearbox fluid or any fluid will eliminate tat sound or make shifting easier unless you double clutch to rev match. thats what the synchromesh helps you to do, rev match so you don't have to double clutch. anyways the brass synchromesh is wear and tear part, and most of the time it's always the second gear tat goes 1st. but since ur gonna replce it, might as well replace all of it.

1. Low gearbox fluid (kena before)
2. Worn synchromesh (also kena before)
3. Loose clutch (also kena in the same month :frown: )

Try tightening the clutch cable a little. This will add a little more travel to the clutch pedal, but if it works, you might want to consider swapping clutches.

thanks for all the replies ya...after checking in differint workshop, they conclude that it's my clutch rattling noise which is quite command for wira...well, as wat my forman said my syncro is still ok to be use although it has worn out slightly. Since my gear box never grind, just that would cause more 'notch' while shifting from 1st to second, they ask me to change for a better gear fluid. such as REDLINE MTL...

After changing this synthethic gear oil, the shifting had greatly improve:) But, the gear noise has been increase slightly since Redline MTL is a lower vicosity gear oil, a 70w80. anyway, i hope it wont cause any damage to my gearbox since it's quite 'watery' ...

Brother GOLDENHAWK, may i know ur car's syntom of an worn synchromesh? issit a pop out of gear or a heavy grinding noise?

Hey guys, im driving a wira manual transmission,i would like to ask u all that had u all ever experience on having difficulties in shifting from 1st gear to second gear? and as i force the gear to be enggage, there'll be a 'grek' sound comming out from the gear box...this problem is muc more serious in the morning and when the engine run hot, the performance improve slightly...Frank to say that i just had my lubicant and clucth set replaced with the new one and the problem seems still occur...Would it be a gear sycroniser problem?

secongly, when i let the transmission in neutral,clucth engaged, i can hear some rattling noise come from the gear box...it disappear after i step on clucth...Is that shows that my transmission is subject to failure? gear are loosing?...

Bro,

i think my car have some similarity with your situation.

Car Model : Wira 1.5 Manual
Latest Maintenance: Change Clutch Kit
The problem is whenever i engaged into a gear regardless of which gear 1st-5th, and pressing on my accelator, i can listen something is GRINDING..:banghead:

Problem of engaging 2nd gear also got. no matter 1st to 2nd gear or 3rd to 2nd... also difficult. BUt is not that often to occur.

Only the grinding sound make me worry. If the car in neutral.. and no matter how hard i rev the car... the GRINDING sound wont come out.. but onces engaged into any gear,,, the sound is there!

most probably a worned out synchromesh. i just got mine changed yesterday. but mine is a 1.8 4G93P gearbox. RM600+ just for 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, and reverse gear synchromesh, excluding labour.

guys, is it safe to use a lighter fully synthetic gear oil? they recommend 75w90, but im using redline MTL which is 70w80..

yes its safe. but if u drive hard you could always use the Redline MT-90 75w90 GL-4 which i'm currently using.

wat you shud be worried about is using the correct grade gear oil (GL-4, or GL-5). refer to your manufacturers recommendation. since ur driving a proton like me, i would think that is GL-4, but just double check to be on the safe side.

i paid the price for my ignorance. i was using the 75w90 which is actually a GL-5 and its meant for rear hypoid differential's with that is not running synchros. as a matter of fact, most GL-5 gear oils are not compatible with GL-4 recommended gearboxes.

anyways, 40,000km down the road my synchro's failed prematurely because of the sulfur contents and friction modifiers which corroded it. $$$$$ RM600+ for 6 synchros and RM600 for labour.

if your gearbox requires GL-5 but has synchro's, then you should use Redline 75w90NS which is a GL-5 grade gear oil but without friction modifiers and sulfur contents for gearbox's that has synchro's.

i'm having same problem now,difficult to change gear from 1st to 2nd in the morning.This happen after change the gear oil,then i read back the manual which shown i need to use GL-4 oil,currently running with GL-5.huhh...so,where i can buy this Redline GL-4?how much it cost?thanks in advance.

u can use any brand oil, just as long as its GL-4. if you want Redline GL-4 i got mine from N1 racing in sunway. RM55 per litre.

All....wat is synchromesh actually..mind to explain???It seems like i also having this problem...my gearbox was 4wd locked to 2wd..

1 shaft usually has 2 gears. a collar is moved sideways to lock the gear and shaft when a gear is selected. the synchromesh is a brass ring that helps synchronize your gear's rotating speed to that of the shaft's rotating speed. meaning, from 1st gear you want to shift to 2nd gear which is in the same shaft. ur shaft is rotating at a different speed, and ur 2nd gear is rotating at a different speed. so the synchromesh will match the speed of the 2nd gear and the shaft so that the collar can engage into 2nd gear.

anyways, the synchromesh is a wear and tear part, but using wrong grade of gearbox oil will speed the process. muskasim, how much mileage has ur gearbox seen? i would assume ur gearbox is from half-cut shop rite? so maybe its time to have it replaced if the mileage of your gearbox is high.

labour + parts will cost u approximately 1k+

mengz, is there any seperate mileage can be seen on the gearbox itself?? From my speedometer it shown 240XXXKM. As u mentioned the parts in the 1k+ is new parts or 2nd hand parts. And how many synchromesh we need to change??

definitely new parts. why would you want to pay so much labour to dismantle the gearbox and fit in 2nd hand parts, and then not so long after face the same problem again? :)

if you have a 5 speed gearbox, then u'll have 6 synchromesh. 1 for each gear, including reverse gear. since your already dismantling the whole gearbox, it'll be better to change all 6 of it. or you can also opt to change only the ones which you think is giving you problem.

mine only 2nd and 3rd gear got problem but i changed all 6 to have a peace of mind ler. at least i know it'll last me until i change my car.

as for seperate mileage for gearbox, i don't think so ler.

thanks for sharing ya...meng, so the 70w80 grade oil will not give enough protection if i drive hardly? i bought the mtl from enoes...they nv provide mtl-90...so i shall shift to mt90 for better protection?

since u already using the MTL. i suggest better you continue using it don't waste money change to MT-90. you can try MT-90 at the next gear oil change interval (40,000-60,000 KM) then you can judge for yourself which one you prefer. MTL is a very very good gear oil, and is just as good as MT-90. it's just personal preference which viscosity you prefer according to ur usage. one is 70w80 and the other is 75w90.

i'll definitely give MTL a try nxt gear oil change. maybe lighter weight will give me smoother gear changes. hehehhee.

i see.. thanks for ur advise ya...which mean the 70w80 gear oil would provide a adequate protection to my gear box while promoting a easier shifting characteristic right? if it's safe then i shall not change to mt-90, because i just changed it 5k km ago le...hehe....this gear oil really make my gear shift much easier compare to others semi synthatic gear oil:)