Lowered sifu...

sonictheory

a few question i wondering whether should i lowered my car o not

if i upgrade my rims from 15"inch to 16/17, will my car look lowered than 15"? the height of the car will be still same o wat before change to bigger rim and after?

the if lowered 15" and lowered 16/17" will it be the same height from the ground?....

is it worth to do lowering ar for normal driving mostly...and will it affect the comfort? long distance journey how?....

how much is the risk will the wheel kena the arch? and is it a must for really slowdown until the car almost stop for going over a bump (coz seen alot of car doing it)....

or there's any brand of lowered spring which is good and quality but not too low?

fyi, normally i would drive alone, or maybe a or two passenger in car....just during some festival maybe will fetch more ppl...worth it?

q : how much is the risk will the wheel kena the arch?

A : 16 inch in satria with a spring that give only 1 1/2 fingers spacing (the look),will surely hit arch if you are using standard absorber.and i mean all of them..go ketuk and if you are using GTI bodykit,cut it..in case you are using satria la..you never mentions what car are you using..how can we tell?for putra,16,no need to ketuk..depend on offset also..

long distance journey?better because big rims attach to the road..your top will increase..

up grade up rims n tyre, surely will become lower. depends on which car u driving, and also offset of the rims. some rims are wider, that gives a stability an advantage.

buy adjustable if u can, easy, so need fear too low, adjust to your flavor height. if wan spring only, all seem to be around that height, wont too low.

if larger rims cannot use too low springs lo... coz ur tyres will scratch the fender arch... thus, need to ketuk ketuk...
yeah, if got money go for adjustable lo... but considering our country road condition, not advisable to change big big rims... later bent sakit hati...

SkYwAlKeR said:
if larger rims cannot use too low springs lo... coz ur tyres will scratch the fender arch... thus, need to ketuk ketuk...
yeah, if got money go for adjustable lo... but considering our country road condition, not advisable to change big big rims... later bent sakit hati...

yea.. gotta kno how " good " is malaysia roads.lolx

i tink 16" is enough. bigger rims=lose pick up power.

yeap yeap... even if u say u able to find light weight huge rims, the pickup power still decrease... its not because of the weight of the rim... its the diameter of the rim that causes the lost in pickup...

em driving honda city with bodykitted...how much is an adjustable? what brand is the better one and not too expensive?... btw, i might thinking most probably change 16" rim...as petrol going up....and scare lost pick up...any idea? and suggestion?

1 advice to you dude...if u really wan2 stay comfort...just leave it stock and change bigger rims only!!.. if u got more cash..try look for good and branded adjustable suspension system!!

my 2 cents...:smile:

moreover....upgradin bigger rim will definitely make ur car looks higher if u didnt lower it
or maybe u can try good springs like h&r
i don think it will sink too much la coz ori abs are gas filled rite?
if oil filled...we do hav a prob...

if change sport springs, better change along with short stroke abs lar... coz will then match ma... wont feel too much bumpy or stress ur ori abs...
of coz the best is branded adjustable coil-over... coz they are tuned and tested by manufacturers at the factory itself...

hi there,

jus wan2 say if u upgrade ur rim size etc it doesn't necessarily make ur car lower well depending on the rim/tyres used. it may make ur ride LOOK lower (since u got b/kit) and cos when the rims bigger it tends 2 fill out the wheel arch more giving the illusion that ur car's somehow lower. ur ride gets lower when u LOWER THE STANCE of the car which is where u start 2 fiddle around with the suspension etc.
2 me LOWER IS BETTER... 2 me it looks 100 times better then stock height. almos everyone has lowered their car nowadays - i've got plenty of frens who've done it, from stock cars 2 ultra heavily modified cars, real sports cars 2 protons. HOWEVER it seems 2 me most ppl out there dunno the correct way 2 slam (lower their ride). i'm not boasting or anything (i'm no sifu so pls dun flame flame)... yea sure at da end of the day the car's lookin really tricked-out cos its god damn low but then they end up with handling problems, the tyres hitting the arches or the suspension setup being really uncomfortable. cutting ur springs is a no-no, like the others sed, get adjustables. i use HWL hi/lo hard/soft coilovers n i recommend it. other nice brands include TEIN, TITAN and tanabe jus 2 name a few... oh yea eibach federn n koni yellows r damn good too.

so what i'm trying 2 say is u gotta play around a bit until u find the RIGHT COMBINATION (rim size, tyre size, offset, suspension type etc)... for example having adjustables is only half the battle won, if ur rim offset 2 big etc you'll b compromising handling and comfort. pls know u CAN get a f.cking slammed ride but STILL HAVE comfort n good handling... some frens of mine slam maximum, but then their suspension is rock hard 'n' really not comfy. but then again, hehe u gotta remember where u go, once u slam there'll b quite a number of places u can't go cos KL's population of speed bumps and shitty roads is more than people!! :) also i myself have trouble going up shopping mall parking like in sg. wang downtown :( so pls think b4 u slam dude! anyways i hope this helps a bit but i'm no sifu, jus my 2 cents! :)

sonictheory,

one more thing, if ur honda looks somethings like what u got for your signature pic, it would b super cool la wei, but i think if u slam it that much (specially with that kind of heavy hardcore b/kit), u gonna b having major chips/cracks in ur front bumper skirting etc within a day here hehehehe! but if u gotta another car 4 daily drive then ok la! hehe good luck bro!

my current car also have alot of chip on my kit d...coz alwiz tailgate ppl's car....yeah i really like the car being lowered...but then i scare i will regret the car kit kena scratch lah...thats why i still thinking will it be worth if i invest in this...so as u said bigger rim will make car look higher...is it 17"/16" + lowered and also 15" + lowered will have diff height from ground?...thx for reply ...

cybernation said:
1 advice to you dude...if u really wan2 stay comfort...just leave it stock and change bigger rims only!!.. if u got more cash..try look for good and branded adjustable suspension system!!

my 2 cents...:smile:

agree.spending money n buy a adjustable is way too easy,but setting it to suite ur comfort is damn too much work to do. u gotta 'set & try' many times. every setting bring different feel n result. if u purchase a electronic H/L adjustable, sit inside car set only. also adjustable is not meant for lond journey,even if u set it to the softest.

advise. if u are not on the run owes, use stock, change spring, change a 16" rims, use a grip tyre. car definetely will lower n comfortable.

sonictheory said:
my current car also have alot of chip on my kit d...coz alwiz tailgate ppl's car....yeah i really like the car being lowered...but then i scare i will regret the car kit kena scratch lah...thats why i still thinking will it be worth if i invest in this...so as u said bigger rim will make car look higher...is it 17"/16" + lowered and also 15" + lowered will have diff height from ground?...thx for reply ...

thats y i told u. 16" suite ur car. bigger 1 u might not like,u may say car too high, rims make car look bigger n etc..

city? 195/50/16R if ur car can fit in bigger tyre, go for it. 40-50 tyre is good enough. low liao..

wats long owes?... so means now all stay stock wth 16" inch rim only?... if lowered can i pass thru those place like sg wang parking, times square all those basement parking without kena scratch??...

bro.. just change the rims u'll c the difference already.. dun risk ur bodykits to crack after lowered.. changing the rims to bigger ones.. the car will look like lowered already... n really nice 1... if really lowered... lots of time and effort needed just to setup the best setting... just change the rims 1st.. if u felt that u really need some more then only lowered it..

sonictheory said:
wats long owes?... so means now all stay stock wth 16" inch rim only?... if lowered can i pass thru those place like sg wang parking, times square all those basement parking without kena scratch??...

sonic,

if ur really worried about visiting those 'speed-bump lands' like basement parkings in times sq and sg.wang, it's probably better not 2 slam or at least don't slam 2 much... ur driving new honda city rite?? da way i c it the car's pretty high for stock anyways but i suppose it all depends on ur bodykit / rim size on how much u slam lor. from my own experience if ur ground clearance from ur bodykit's about 2 or inches u may encounter difficulty still.. gotta dumb fren he slam his honda EG so low it's about an inch from the ground, no bodykit some more! believe it or not, it's a daily drive car... hahahaha!

truthfully as much as u wan the lowered stance-look that we all love, this nation's roads and parking areas r jus not made 4 that :( i mean take me 4 example, i'm getting really tired of going over speed bumps diagonally and sideways cos my car will kena :(

btw, if lowered, and we go fast then go on a bumpy road all of sudden...the wheel will touch the arch also rite?... guess i really need to change rims first to see how is it going on....had seen some city that lowered but din put on bodykit...maybe this is the reason lah...but then d very nice...yeap...the city same as my signature....btw, those lowered spring that we buy is it already fixed? i mean the height...just straight away install into our car one izzit?...

Write your reply...