Lets discuss Petronas E01

drMpower

Yesterday, Petronas announced two mega projects - to supply gas to China (not relevant) and to supply E01 to Chinese automakers!

This is interesting. The engine is said to be design as the end product of their direct involvement with the Sauber team in Formula 1. The engine variants are from 1.8, 2.0, and 2.2. Well. this really sounds very good!

Currently I still Googgling around the technical data of the E01 and its specs and how would it can be used by our very own Proton. It is very good to remind all of us that Proton currently do not have 1.8s, 2.0s (except for the Perdana) and 2.2s!

How on earth Petronas ever supply those engines to the Chinese?!??? Why dont just give them to Proton and we got the new Perdana instead???!!???
To calm things, I'm posting the link related to Petronas E01 future prospect..

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/06/02/an-insight-into-the-proton-ultimates-specifications/

sadly, it is from the 2005 archieves. I need everyone to discuss and if possible jott down the related links. Thanks!

Petronas E01 Technical Data

After an hour Googling around, I came across this bloke, Nigel Steward journal and luckily he posted several information (its very little, though!) about the engine specification and technical data.

Its look like the Continous Control VVT 2.0 liter can produce about 204Ps@7300rpm and the maximum torque is 203@5600rpm.

Anyone interested can go to the link as below:

http://nigelstewart.multiply.com/journal?&view%3Ajournal=

I'm just gutted that Nanyang Auto is chipping away with our Formula One engine!

Petronas E01

I've found the similar thread in ZTH forum before and for those who want to refresh things up, kind direct to the following link:

http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?p=828993

But, I'll continue to google the Technical Specs of the E01. This is my own initiative to find out as much as I could about the engine as we need more people to realise that we actually capable to produce high end displacement engines.

We should be proud about that. Now, bring on the New Perdana. cheers!

Osamu Goto - The Man behind E01?

Osamu who?

perhaps not many of us ever heard of the name. Osamu Goto. This japanese bloke MAYBE the brain behind all the development of the Petronas E01. I reserve the 'MAYBE' because this bloke is the man responsible in sorting out Ferrari's V10 F1 engine. and here's a little info about his 'resume' :

Osamu Goto

worked for Honda - from 1970 to 1991
worked for Mclaren - executive Engineer - 92 and 93
in 1994 he went to work in Tokyo
at the end of 1994 he went to Ferrari and left in 1996
1997 - untill today - Petronas engines

It is the '1997 - present' bracket matters for me. Somewhere in 1997, Mr Osamu apointed as head of the engine department of Sauber Petronas Engineering AG. I dont know whether he still serve at Petronas - Sauber, but it is by no coincidence that E01 is developed at the very time of Mr Osamu appointment at Sauber-Petronas.

Here's a link to the Mr Osamu Goto's life:

http://www.grandprix.com/gpe/cref-gotosa.html

We certainly need more of Mr Osamu of our own..

There has been quite a lot of discussions on this very subject matter here. You can do a search on it and see if you can dig up some of the old threads.

I cld dig up specs, but then again...
However, last time it was said that once Proton was slated to take these new engines to be used in their cars, when PETRONAS had a small stake in the national car maker.
After some hoo-haa, Proton said that it had its own engine development programme, and so the E01 engines were scrapped from their plans.
So what was PETRONAS to do with the technology on hand? With their heavy involvement with motorsports, the technology transfer from this venture gave us the E01.
After that, it was speculated that siapa aa... Hyundai was supposed to buy the engines frm PETRONAS to be used in their production cars. But I suppose this never took off. Now China pulak...
Sad thing that a locally developed engine can't be used in domestic applications. But you never know.. see what tomorrow holds. Maybe Perodua would take it? Oppps.. forgot, no displacement for Perodua's market segment.:mouth_closed: https://www.zerotohundred.com/forums/attachments/90755

Seen here in carbon fibre glory!

ermm...couple of month ago..or maybe last year..i heard that proton cannot buy tthe E01 engine design from petronas because it is so expensive...the proton cannot afford it..last time la...i read the article in the terato.com...dunno la..it once to be said that this engine are used in satria gti safety car in SIC...or maybe sumthin2 la...just my 35 cents..

I read that Proton didnt want the E01 because they had their Lotus developed Campro 1.6 engine that delievers 110hp. So no-go to the 204hp 2.0 E01 technological marvel. :biggrin:

All these hearsay only, cost could also have been a problem... but it was definately a case of Proton rejecting the E01 lah.

Sigh... imagine what would people from the other countries say if we had a hot hatchback with that engine... it would almost be like Proton just made a fabulous Honda Type-R, there would be so much hoo ha.

IMHO, we were convinced by the proton ppl that the price of eo1 engine is really high and proton cant afford it..but the truth is proton have cheat us all, infact they're so stubborn and think they can built their own engine at lower cost..

now proton only got the camprofile-less campro engine that they said still under development over and over again..while this chinese auto manufacturer got a better, tested and proven engine with just a slightly higher cost than developing their own engine..

even two year old can see who's more stupid..cant afford buy technology but at the same time have resources to develop one..if they have taken petronas offer at the first place..i'll bet the facelifted waja can easily kill the new civic in term of power and price while we will expecting perdana replacement model in the 2nd half of next year..neo? can play with golf gti somemore..

my 2 cent only..

i thought this engine hav 2 types..the E01e and E01w??

proton is arrogant, don wanna buy the engine tech...they must be think that spent RM500,000,000 on designing neo's headlight is more appropriate than buying the state of the art engine that can out run b18c5 anytime..hmm..imagine the dc2r trembling and dying trying to catch up with E01e-ed gti..kekeke

change proton management! grrr... my new wira se less than a year muffler rust untill break already.. chisssss.....

proton actualy is not bad but the way they manage their quality ar like shit..

remember..there are three types of people..they are pussy, assholes and dick, and u do the math

ya ya.. got e & w versions of the E01.
But speculation la abt the GP cars @ SIC using the E01. Some say only the Waja, many say the GTi's. Some say tarak. Dono which one is colright, ne...

i think most of you got it wrong here. its not a matter of "buying" the engine, and putting it in your car, and selling the car = instant 200hp car.

for a start, these engines were built years ago. they are prototypes, and have not been prepared for mass manufacturing. The china company who goes into this deal, will have to spend countless millions more on R&D to bring the engines up to todays emissions requirements, as well as ensure they meet specs for mass manufacture. By the end of the day, do you think there will still be a high revving 2.0ltr 200hp monster left standing? I dont think so. and to top it all up, the china company still doesn't own the rights of the engine. Petronas still does. They will probably have to continue paying petronas royalties as long as they collaborate on this.

some of you make it sound so easy.

E01e n E01w are the same....just the difference in east n west configuration, ie. gearbox location on the left or right........well, they haf this engine on GTI, Perdana, Elise n then the Waja......so for the Waja, they definitely needed a configuration thats reverse that of a GTI.......

encikmasen: i quite agree wif u that Proton are willing to spend more to develope their own 'crap' stuff rather than buying wats proven.....i think they r just trying to prove themselves that they can and have the engineering ability to develope their own engine.......

spyderslr, how do you quantify the petronas engines as "proven"?

gary said:
i think most of you got it wrong here. its not a matter of "buying" the engine, and putting it in your car, and selling the car = instant 200hp car.

for a start, these engines were built years ago. they are prototypes, and have not been prepared for mass manufacturing. The china company who goes into this deal, will have to spend countless millions more on R&D to bring the engines up to todays emissions requirements, as well as ensure they meet specs for mass manufacture. By the end of the day, do you think there will still be a high revving 2.0ltr 200hp monster left standing? I dont think so. and to top it all up, the china company still doesn't own the rights of the engine. Petronas still does. They will probably have to continue paying petronas royalties as long as they collaborate on this.

some of you make it sound so easy.
Petronas did have a bunch of Satri GTI with E01 loaded for MME and I didn't hear any problem reported. I believe there are Petronas Satria GTI with E01 on the road now a day. E01 is a engine design at 1999, I believe it's not a prototype. The engine sold to china automotive maker is an upgrade of E01 (not 1999 design).

According to report, the new upgrade is Euro 5 emission standards compliance.

Your statement have a conflict here, if the china buy the patern (and they need to pay Petronas royalties for each engine manufactured) but at the same time they still need to invest "countless million" R&D?
China businessman is not stupid, even if you were the buyer, you will demand Petronas to give you the engine complies with all standard, else why do you still need to pay royalty?

source: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2006/10/31/nation/15868615&sec=nation
Abdullah also told newsmen that a Chinese company had agreed to manufacture a car engine developed by Petronas.

He said the Nanjing Automotive Corporation would produce 100,000 units of the engine annually.

The engine would be used in Chinese cars, he said, adding that three types of engines – 1.8, 2.0 and 2.2 litres – would be manufactured.

The engine complies with the Euro 5 emission standards,” Abdullah said.
Hassan said the company would pay Petronas a fee for the technology based on each engine produced.

He added that the engine would be available in the market in 2009 and Nanjing Automotive had the right to market the engine worldwide.

Hassan said the engine was the result of technology transfer from Petronas’ involvement in Formula One.

The engine, he added, was an improved and upgraded version of the Petronas EO1 engine which came into use in 1999.

Euro 5 suppose to start 2008/09
source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/European_emission_standards

the question here is still, does that quantify this engine as "proven"? remember, its still in prototype form.. you said "you" didn't hear of any problems.. those that quantify the engine as proven?

btw black samurai, I usually try my best not to give "conflicting" opinions, nor do I try and write "fiction". I don't make things up. I just comment based on what has been said in the official news.

If you have read the news, its says that china company(NAC) still has to work together with Petronas R&D to get the engines to the mass manufacturing level. The engines are only slated for delivery in 2009. Thats almost 2-3 years of hardwork. If the engines are so "ready" and not a "prototype", why do you need to work on them for another 2 years to get them to market?