King Cobra

sakuraguy

King Cobra

I just got this picture from one of my friend, damn! no jokes and this is fully loaded n scary to death.

http://img247.imageshack.us/img247/5946/kingcobra1sl3.jpg

Soon, I began to search some information of this endangered species .. It seems unfairly menacing that a snake that can literally "stand up" and look a full-grown person in the eye would also be among the most venomous on the planet, but that describes the famous king cobra.

King cobras can reach 18 feet (5.5 meters) in length, making them the longest of all venomous snakes. When confronted, they can raise up to one-third of their bodies straight off the ground and still move forward to attack. They will also flare out their iconic hoods and emit a bone-chilling hiss that sounds almost like a growling dog.

Their venom is not the most potent among venomous snakes, but the amount of neurotoxin they can deliver in a single bite—up to two-tenths of a fluid ounce (seven milliliters)—is enough to kill 20 people, or even an elephant. Fortunately, king cobras are shy and will avoid humans whenever possible, but they are fiercely aggressive when cornered.

Videos:

[YOUTUBE]zzFxHr4t4mY[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]x7XY3dMVNhg[/YOUTUBE]

Some serious facts:
- It has a head as big as a man's hand and can stand tall enough to look you straight in the eye.
- King Cobras are the longest venomous snake in the world! The average male grows 18 feet long, and some have been known to grow more than 20 feet long.
- Most cobras are shy, and run and hide when people are around. The exception is King Cobras, who are aggressive, and will rear up and stand their ground when confronted.
- Many snake charmers remove the fangs or the venom sacs from their snakes, because it is too dangerous. This practice is illegal, and is considered inhumane to the snake.
- Cobras cant hear, although they sense sound through contact with the ground much better than humans.
- Cobras don't always inject venom when they bite something. They can do a "dry bite" if they want to.
- Cobras are at the top of the food chain. Their only natural predators are the mongoose, and man.

Anyone has experiences on facing snake lively? ever try to catch yourself one?

I play with my prince cobra twice a week. It can 100% rise up from tail to head at a 45 degree angle. Now fully grown at about 16mm only. It has no teeth but will inject about 2 table spoon of venom. It won't kill human. In stead, it had create a little human being :rofl:

I thoughts you said its a tennis stick? howcome become cobra suddenly? play transformer?......

But i think Venom is more scary because of the "eezz" noise make from its tail....

I play with my prince cobra twice a week. It can 100% rise up from tail to head at a 45 degree angle. Now fully grown at about 16mm only. It has no teeth but will inject about 2 table spoon of venom. It won't kill human. In stead, it had create a little human being :rofl:

Huh, 45 degrees and 16 millimeter ONLY? Wah, your "snake" definately malnaurished .... Habis la .... Hahahahahaha :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

Hey, under -30 degree in russia the snake can still works, its consider very very strong already.....

All guys also got 1 snake that we carry all the times even in shower and bed. Some female like it and some hate it. While some size of of the snake scared the daylight out of female. The poison of this snake is much more scarier than any poison in the world. Once the victim kena~~the snake owner will bear the consequences for the entire life.

Melody, you hate it or love it? :rofl:

All guys also got 1 snake that we carry all the times even in shower and bed. Some female like it and some hate it. While some size of of the snake scared the daylight out of female. The poison of this snake is much more scarier than any poison in the world. Once the victim kena~~the snake owner will bear the consequences for the entire life.

Melody, you hate it or love it? :rofl:

hi TitanRev.. :itsme:
i hate the deadly species..
but lurve the yummy one..
hehe..

I live opposite a rubber plantation that turn into a park, used to have snakes come into the house often.
Dad killed a Cobra last time when it came into the hse.about 1 meter long.
i think there was some green tree snake also, maybe a Viper, some yellow red snake, some black red snake...
once some "spring" snake came into the hse n hid behind a cupboard, called fire department, then they tell me to call DBKL, half hr later they came n take it away, they said its venom can kill. Lol...and i touched it before they came too...
saw a 4 meter long python last 6 months too, crossing a road at nite...haha
wanted to touch it but my gf wanted to scream at me...
then it dissapeared into some place, very quick. i didnt even see that 4 meters slip away...

seems we kenot simply killed snakes..
as bad luck may befall us..
or it'll comes back to haunt us..
any1 got haunting stories to share?..

I think those grass-snake are pretty cool ... They mimic the movement of long grass as it sway with the blowing wind .... Once I saw three of they "playing" from tree to tree .... They are so damn cool ...

Want know about snake? Wonder where is Pocket Rocket (PocRoc) now?

But many of us like to "eat snake".....pergi ular di mamak.... :P

I like rattle snakes myself.The special 'sound' their tails produce,reli nice to hear.Get urself 1 of tis,sure nobody touches ur car or steal ur ride.As you can see in the market,Viper Alarm & Cobra Alarm but NO Rattlesnake Alarm... :confused: