kenwood amp with mohawk sub

Kanna_Altezza

sifus i just wanna check if a Kenwood amp Kac 6201 is enough to bang a mohawk orange 10' sub..............

Kenwood amp rated at
# Amplifier Type: 2-channel
# RMS Power @ 4 Ohms: 60W x 2 @ 14.4V
# THD at 4-Ohm RMS Power: 0.08 %
# Bridged RMS Power @ 4 Ohms: 150W x 1 @ 14.4V

Mohawk Orange 10" rated at 180rms.

so sub power rating is higher than what the amp can output. Still can use but need to increase sub efficiency by using bigger box. The trade off is that you will get lower Qtc (what ppl call soft bass).

so bro the power is not enough is it ? will it spoil the woofer or the amp ? will there be good sound ? i will use in a Kelisa is it okie ? and big box how big will be needed ?thankz for the reply bro

Kippo said:
Kenwood amp rated at
# Amplifier Type: 2-channel
# RMS Power @ 4 Ohms: 60W x 2 @ 14.4V
# THD at 4-Ohm RMS Power: 0.08 %
# Bridged RMS Power @ 4 Ohms: 150W x 1 @ 14.4V

Mohawk Orange 10" rated at 180rms.

so sub power rating is higher than what the amp can output. Still can use but need to increase sub efficiency by using bigger box. The trade off is that you will get lower Qtc (what ppl call soft bass).

i would assume that you're going to use small box hence u will need all the power required to push the sub to its limit.
usually in this case, user will note that the bass is not loud hence he/she will crank up the amp gain until amp output distort but he/she does not realise it. So the sub will bakar la.