is mohawk good?

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
i m planning to get a set of mohawk orange series,
1 4channel amp + 2 component set
1 2 channel amp + 1 12"

can give me ur experience and guideline on mohawk?

In all honesty, all brands are good. Just a matter of whether you like the sound reproduction made by them or not. IE- I like the Blaupunkt Velocity 12" subs with sealed box, but don't really like the Onyx 15". I like Helix dark blue but don't really like Alpine amps. I like Alpine and Helix component set but don't really like CDT and Mohawks.

In my humble opinion, just go listen to a setup that you'd like to buy and make your choice based on the sound it produces, not on what other people say.

Oh btw, if you're gonna get one 2-channel for your sub, you're better off getting a monoblock. They don't heat up as bad and they can go 1ohm at stable powers. Unless of course you already have bought a matching sub with amp la.

I was an ex Mohawk user before i throw everything out but remain the compset which i think are quite good and not too bad. I think, the amps are not as clean though and not suitable for SQ setup, but the comp set, if u got some good and clean amp to feed it, it'll still going to sing.

mohawk ?!?!!? i know its from stillwater design just like kicker but then its like the leftovers of kicker product dun go for mohawk wate of money .. get other brands like maybe JBL , infinity , kicker or lightning lower range would be slightly expensive than mohawk but better in everyway ...

DJ-Laz, have u ever heard a good mohawk setup? im running a comp set, and it sounds fine to me. heard a show-car before also.:) pretty impressive!

maybe its true, that higher end products may perform better than mohawk, and many people are sensitive to any discrepancies. but if u've (anyone for that matter) never got a chance to hear a good Mohawk setup, please dun be prejudiced against this brand. IMHO, its pretty decent, and the best bang for buck in its class. :)

Now that im a Mohawk 'unofficial distributor' here, doesnt mean that i am all out for Mohawk because im selling them. the reason y im selling them here now is because i was buying them for myself after much survey, evaluated the quality, and discovered an opportunity to help other forummers gain a corresponding decent setup @ a budget.:rolleyes:

Cheers to all!:cool:

ps: no intentions to flame or create tension. afterall, we all have the same goal! cheers

its true maybe i haven't heard good mohawk setups but sorry about it that mohawk havent prove me wrong yet by any winning's in any competition world wide or in malaysia .... maybe one day i would wanna audit any SQ or SPL cars done by mohawk cos i've seen a few demos wit mohawks mids and seriously it doesn't sounds that good .. anyway its just my opinion too ... one man's meat is another man's poison rite ....

on the contrary, Mohawk did win some competitions, although its not fully Mohawk. for example, a fellow forummer (aljebat) can attest to that. anyway, its not a matter of winning any competitions, cos as i've mentioned, Mohawk is not to be compared face-to-face with high end brands. of course, u pay for what u get for. all im saying is, Mohawk is for those on a tight budget, and may be the best around at that kinda price range. just like me. :)

nehh for dat price jbl , kicker , mtx , and alot of entry level and good brands and quality stuff will be better than mohawk......
ya mohawk wins comp cos someone din join .....
if u talk about sq comp i bet they will go no where ...
if u talk bout real spl comp not those that put the mic in the vent mohawk will go no where too ... sorry to be harsh but seriously for budget users ya'll can try branded entry level stuff they will definately perform better ....

howiechoo said:
i m planning to get a set of mohawk orange series,
1 4channel amp + 2 component set
1 2 channel amp + 1 12"

can give me ur experience and guideline on mohawk?

Howiechoo, how much cost for all the stuff U mention...& which set-up U want SPL or SQ...

jst try to audit urself, brand itself doesn't tell u anything....well design wit good material doesn't means tat must come out wit very good sound, on another hand cap ayam must not producing bad sound.... all u have to do is to audit urself....

i've used Mohawk once the comp set that is tu pun Red series the rest errmmmm. bang for buck - it's good. sound quality wise - up to an extent. spl wise - errrrmmm ok lah. quality wise - lasted for 1.5 years and if i wake it with more dB sure koyak. :wink:

IMO if you don't want to change speakers too often (I had too coz on darn tight budget when junior was arriving) better save up for others.

sq wise winning competitions... errrrmmmmm... lets just say then was then (hehehehehehe jgn marah mr. mania).

to me i only see the Red series coz of the sound quality it produces (tu pun only for the comp, subs.... errmmmmm get MTX better) was better then its brothers. but seriously tak tahan lama haihhhh...

so keep banging yah :wink:

oh ya amp... errrmmmmm.......... :rolleyes:

I've used mohawk component speakers before..For a certain ammount of cash it does deliver its goods..Bang for the buck like they say..If on a tight budget they are worth the cash..just my 2 cents :)

It is hard to keep comparing brands vs brands and each of them produce different things out but then as what some people said, Mohawk.. the price isn't expensive.. you pay for what you get. Mohawk are not the best, they are not specially designed to win everything upside down but at least at the price range, they offer you a decent quality stuffs at the money..

I am sure they come out with such a quality, therefore their price is reasonable. They don't expect their customers to come out RM500 for their sub. and yet they only deliver a RM300's quality..
They put a RM300 price tag on the product, and yes, they deliver about RM300 quality from you

Again, musical stuffs is a very subjective stuff, ur ears will tell you which is the best answer....

Although I haven't really listened to the real Mohawk setup but common sense will tell me music listening is very subjective, it's too hard to tell which is the best, only your ears will tell u.

sometimes a person's ears might tell him the RM300 stuff sounds nice but the RM500 stuffs don't sound nice...

It's weird right? but this is call music listening.. that's why some ICErs experts still advise us to go listen to the setup properly, they can only give recommendation and guide us but still the decision is always based on our ears.

Too bad, I dun have any chance to listen to the setups I want in malacca so I will try to follow the ICErs expertise' guides here in ZTH... :)

haha, wow, this topic still alive. :biggrin:

well, i must say, Mohawk doesnt pay me anything to carry their stuff, im just free-lance, so if u guys think its crap, then its your choice.

nuff said, Mohawk = best among low-budget users. like me.

Cheers

Mohawk is consider a good product for anyone is budget.
I used mohawk b4. I had:
2 comp set (red)
1 2 channel amp (red)
1 2 channel amp (M280)
2 12" blue woofer.
If u know how to have a proper setup then the sound will be very nice.
I used Streetwire for my RCA n Speaker cable.
And u need a mohawk 7 band pre-amp to tune ur sound. Especially the tweeter.