Increasing the engine performance...

yea IF the 4G15 head bolts on, then i'm guessing one hafta source 1 pc enjin kosong fer misc parts like complete intake etc.

but the idea IS very appealing :biggrin:

stock 4G15 dohc 16V head & complete intake, 4-2-1 extractors, freer-flowing muffler, a good CAI kit (take a pick at the blinding choices available nowadays), better spark plugs & cables and a piggyback to complement the whole setup.

rm2K budget sounds like enuff dy hehe :biggrin:

it's gonna be like a 4G15, but with bigger bore & longer stroke.

gud idea arr? :biggrin::biggrin:

good y not good haha

u can get super cams from RPW, they've played around with the dohc 4g15

oooo...really ar?i tot it should be faster if change to mivec g/b as it has shorter ratio..but then,maybe the mech did not do a great job kot..hehehe..maybe he did not install it properly?who knows..but most of people told me that changing to mivec gearbox should giv an increase in performance too..

no it wont be faster, the mivec engine is high revving, has power all d way to d top, not d same as the 4g18 where it runs out of breathe fast, but has a strong low to mid...

only if ur 4g18 has power right to the end of the powerband than possibly u will benefit from the mivec box swap

about the powerzone one, no nothing to do with the mechanic, once u pasang and can run edi without problems already means mechanic did a proper job wat :P

there is a reason y car manufacturers came out with the respective gear ratios for the respective engines; it is suited to the powerband/nature of the engine

for torquey, not so rev-happy engine, u need longer gearing to make the most out of it, so dun worry about the stock gear ratios, it would be one of the much more advanced mods

or from Mitsubishi Colt Ralliart Version-R is a 4G15 DOHC Mivec head

heh keng....wonder how much that would cost :smokin:

Thats what I plan to do with my 4g18 too, but recently i notice the k&n drop-in filter had increased.
btw TS, I'm a 4g18 user too, totally stock and I do travel back and forth from PJ to Penang too. maybe we could meet up one day if we were to upgrade our car performance?

Dude you a manual or auto?

If manual I suggest an open pod + entire exhaust system

Boleh 'makan' and 'berak' with ease hahaha :rofl:

so that means,i should convert to stock waja manual gearbox yea??? =)

otherwise,just transplant the engine..hahaha..btw,does the mivec suit for long-distance driving?wat would the rpm be if cruising about 130?

that is just what i think la...but better get opinions of others who have done this b4 haha

as for the mivec, i have no idea as to the rpm at 130

i kenot fault the stock 4G18 motor & gearbox as yet.
been nearly 8 years aledi, mine is 1st model maa.. she has been a very faithful chariot! :biggrin:

IMO the gearbox is superb for cruising. i took the car up to 200+km/h (back when still a new car, old story). still no problems till now. pickup not so good la, but i'm not racing. and the engine is good on low-down to midrange. why change ratios ler?

how to do an improvement by doing a mix-n-match with no R&D & proven results whatsoever meh? :biggrin:

haha..so mivec g/b is out of the list..going to change to stock waja manual gb lah..

---------- Post added at 02:17 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:16 PM ----------

owh yea,do i have to retune my ecu if i change to manual gbox?

hmmmm, the most effective way, is rebore the 4G18......if it can hit 2000cc, thats already a good upgrade. Add piggyback, and you should clock 8seconds to 100kmh. Only by then if you're not sastified, change to manual, finally change to highcams.

hmmmm, the most effective way, is rebore the 4G18......if it can hit 2000cc, thats already a good upgrade.

how big to rebore to bump to 2000cc la?
fer the record, stock bore size for 4G18 is 76.0 mm x 87.3 mm (small piston, long stroke)

(pi has a value of 3.14159)

so cc = ((Bore x Bore x stroke (pi/4) )/1000) x 4 .

if use 80mm piston baru dapat about 1755cc. i stupid2 calculate you'll need a 85mm piston (or so) to get 1981cc. nearly 10mm rebore block leh? rebore block got max piston size you can go one.. :confused:

sorry, my bad, 4g18 is 1600cc,
try to increase cylinder size to 1800cc if can,a simple 200cc increase provides good power compare to other mods.

how to increase the cylinder size?putting in larger pistons?do i have to go to jpj if i change only the pistons?meaning i will get a 1.8 waja from 1.6 waja by changing the piston?

Walao you all really long winded just to get a couple of horses. Why not just go pasang an air filter and exhaust then call it a day?

how to increase the cylinder size?putting in larger pistons?do i have to go to jpj if i change only the pistons?meaning i will get a 1.8 waja from 1.6 waja by changing the piston?

As long using same engine, with larger piston, no, you dont have to register with jpj:biggrin:

i doubt u can find any pistons that are that large (to bring it up to 1800cc) that are as short as the waja pistons though...

assuming u can find such pistons, cylinder thickness will be an issue, possibly improvements need to be made to the cooling system, as well since more friction & power = more heat

not forgetting the head gasket; u have to find one with significantly larger holes haha

i doubt u can find any pistons that are that large (to bring it up to 1800cc) that are as short as the waja pistons though...

assuming u can find such pistons, cylinder thickness will be an issue, possibly improvements need to be made to the cooling system, as well since more friction & power = more heat

not forgetting the head gasket; u have to find one with significantly larger holes haha

Exactly! But how much power can you get by fitting larger pistons btw? 20hp or so? :confused:

with the larger pistons, u would get improvements throughout the powerband

drive something with a 4g13, then one with a 4g15; diff is pretty significant....larger bore only

if not mistaken, the 4g13 is about 13-15 hp less than the 4g15, may be wrong here, but not so far off lah, lazy to google...hehehehe

with the larger pistons, u would get improvements throughout the powerband

drive something with a 4g13, then one with a 4g15; diff is pretty significant....larger bore only

if not mistaken, the 4g13 is about 13-15 hp less than the 4g15, may be wrong here, but not so far off lah, lazy to google...hehehehe

Hmm... well, isnt it a hassle to look for proper pistons? :smokin:

True true... Nah im not the one changing pistons, I dont bother to anyway :rofl:. I already did the basic mods and im happing with it so far

ooo..that's y i asked such questions..to get knowledge about modding..i dont want to do extreme mods on the car coz it will mess it up..and not reliable anymore in the long run..reliability comes performance..not the other way round..hehehe...

i heard installing a 272 high cam will giv idling problem..is it true?can elaborate more?