Income Tax??..

kelvio and all..thanks for the info..

chezz...this income tax thingy kinda confusing. no proper documentation and rules keep changing..

i do notice the form got write "KETETAPAN UMUM"..what is that?..not much explanation on it

Actually, did y'all know that some companies will automatically deduct your salary for income tax? My company does that. However, it is written in the EA form that you after each year is complete. I think it's in the "jadual cukai dibayar" or something like that. So if you don't declare and calculate your taxes, you will never know whether you have over paid them or not. Don't be surprised that if you calculate everything in, your company has actually over paid the tax and you are entitled to claim it back from income tax department.
Also take note that when you buy magazines, collect ALL the receipts and you're entitled to get deductions up to RM500 for magazines/education materials. I have been declaring ALL my magazines and I have got up to RM470 deductions for magazines before.

true...thats why we should declare in order to calculate back the overpaid amount. buy pc/laptop also got rebate.

ya, the deduction is called PCB (potongan cukai berjadual) normally, when your income reached the threshold, co will deduct in advance for you. and normally its gonna be over paid at the end of the year... take note about this.

infrenal: how u know?? u oso cat/acca student arr???

FYI- the rebate for magazine does not cover all magazine,the magazine must be related with ur job/business

the rebate is only for deducting ur amount taxable,
if ur income is taxable,so u inorder to pay less tax u can fill in the rebate part,such as,magazine,donation,buy personal computer etc etc
but its no use for whom income is not taxable
so no point to fill it in cos it will endup 0 taxable,waste ur pen ink only

lol something liddat la , hate the subject thinking of how the proceeds is governed .

Income Tax

What Bro BluJacker says is very true, & easy for layman like us to understand.

Return Form
Its for declaring your income for that year, if u hav reg/open a tax file with IRB, then u shld have received Form B/BE every year send by IRB. If still not reg with IRB, then if you have reach the taxable level of income, then shld reg with IRB & declare ur income. If not yet reach the taxable level, then no need reg with IRB.

If u received Form B/BE (ie u already reg with IRB) in later yrs even when your income have fall below the taxable level (touch wood!! but if that happen), you still have to submit the Return Form. This keeps u away from potential complication with them.

PCB / STD
The PCB (Potongan Cukai Berjadual) or STD (Scheduler Tax Deduction) is just a scheme (in line with PAYE), for execution purpose, to deduct tax mainly for salary earners. Look at it in +ve way: it helps u to pay tax by mthly instalment, so u wont feel the pinch when come next yr declaring & paying your tax.

The min to qualify for mthly PCB is salary of rm2,500 net of EPF (employer portion), the max of EPF can net off in calc of PCB is rm500 per mth (YA2005 onwards) However alot of ppl experience different level of deduction, this may due to : diff ppl diff defination of income (some exclude allowance, gratuity etc, which is not correct), uses of different payroll software which may not updated correctly, or wrong at the first place, issuance of bonus (it require different type of calc) etc

Taxable or not
If u fall under PCB already, it doesn't necessarily mean u have paid(deducted) enough neither nor u are taxable, its all depends on how much relief & rebate that u declare, if claim a lot of reliefs/rebate, then you may end up over paid(deducted) or end up not taxable also possible. Only when go thru the tax computation for the whole yr then only u can tell whats the exact amt of tax, if any. Balance of tax need to be paid b4 end of the due date for the Return Form.
BE - Apr, B - Jun.

Basically if one's salary RM2,200, w/o EPF w/o claiming further relief/rebate etc ie everything is basic, no children/wife or anything, is already in taxable position, although still not qualify under PCB scheme.

However, kena PCB/STD not necessarily mean u are in taxable position.

Form J
Its the notice of assessment. Last time IRB assessed ur returns, then they issue Form J to inform how much tax to pay, ppl who received have 1 mth to pay fr date of Form J. Form YA2004 onwards, change to self assessment system, so no more Form J issue. If you received one after YA2004, its not a good thing, meaning u have not pay / pay late & now they charge u with penalty in the Form J.

However, alot of ppl out there dont cope with this & still asking for Form J.

Previously the duty to assess the tax comp is lies with IRB, now they "modernize" their system & shift the duty to the tax payers. In this way, now thay can channel their man power more on tax auditing/investigation work. They just checking around & chase for tax only :Not_Impressed: Thats why you'll see the increasing trend of thier audit/investigation on streets.

The time bar for IRB to chase back is 7 yrs, however, if its on tax evation/criminal case, this time bar doesn't apply. Besides, its diff for ordinary ppl to challenge IRB if they chase more than 7 yrs.

In general, its good to submit the Return Form (if qualify) & let PCB do its work (if kena lar), this ways save u alot of potential hussle. Of course, what level of income should one declare? thats the question.......esp for biz man, hehehe

Just my 2 cents. Pls correct me if i am wrong.

Cheers!

thanks for further add-on and elaboration, bro SIANGMH.

haha..dun play play with IRB.... they are much more nasty than any other goverment body...

many famous ppl, big timers, company are now under their investigation for just underdeclared their earnings..

for those who did declared before, but stopped doing so, pls be prepare to be arrested by police officers.

it happened 2 my dad couple of months back. he wasnt in m'sia and missed few yrs declaration, 2 policeman visited our house with arrest warrant. **story cut short**....Out of no choice, my dad came back to m'sia n face the court, admitted guilty and paid the fine...(this is real case).

anyway, i visited LHDN today in Kompleks Kerajaaan, Jln Duta. Managed to get many info and well explaination on tax declaration stuff. Guys...I wud suggest u all to pay any LHDN a visit to obtain more info. They r quite helpful. FYI, the officer did mentioned that there will be an operasi soon...but i dunno the details. gud luck guys.

Actually IRB still does not operate strictly & follow its code, eventhough the DG of IRB have spoken many times on "upgrading" its services.

What they have on man power is still insuffient, or should i say, they still work inefficiently, eventhough lately have been brush up a bit, but still "insufficient" man power. So even now on SAS system, they still can only focus mainly on the big fish & randomly pick up some small fish only, bcos not enough man power. So small fish can sleep well lar, until one die also may not encounter by IRB....if the fish still remain a "small fish" & know how to go about it lar.....

Sometimes when the officers in-charge on good mood, one can have better bargain/nego with them, if they on bad mood, then things may turn very sour. So ppl see it where got standard in their operations? Especially if one have some connection with the higher rank officers, then anything also can settle nicely ler.

About their "operasi", actually nothing much to afraid if u, as a biz man, have keep a proper sets of a/c & have file ur returns & pay tax promptly.

The bad thing is, a lot of biz man dont bother to do so, they thought accounting is something not important to its biz & hence ignore it, same treatment for taxa matters.

Thus when IRB come to audit them, their messy, errornous accounts dont have any credibility & hence the IRB officers dont see how it reflect the true revenue of the biz.

Hence, IRB officers just add up all the credit sides (ie all the deposits) in the biz man's bank statment (+ some adjustment of the stocks/creditors/debtors), and claim it as the total turnover of the biz! It may just give the biz man heart attack :)

Then that poor guy have to spend a weeks effort to be able to explain why some of those $$ bank-in is not their income & bla bla bla.....After that hussle week of nego may still end up paying quite some substantial amount of o/s tax, with 60% penalty impounded.

So guys, just do it the right way at the first place, and save all the hussle in future. If dont know how to go about it, esp for biz man, spend some $$ to get a tax consultant & make sure they explain clearly & you follow nicely. hahaha.

Cheers.

he he he, let it be my part of secret identity lar :)

However, if u got any Q on it, i'll try my best. ok?

haha sure thing , actually i should be knowing this stuff already for some examination some time soon lol

Wish u all the best!! :>

P/S: dont get too shock when discover lots of "macam ini pun boleh keh?" in the real world :) just hold on to your conscience.

haha thanks man , wouldn't be shock though , were in bolehland the place where anything goes or should i say boleh lol

arrr infernal u working or studying,if studying what course u taking arrr???

lol what paper u take??where is ur exam centre arrrr???
i ask for sunway but they kick me to kl kampung pandan T_T

I945 , as for papers er lets dont talk about it . Unnecessary stress aint it . lol