ICE setup for Kancil

actually for a good tuned system, there's no need to adjust those if change type of song...if u are always changing the setting, then u probably dun really know the original source of the song....

ok, wat i mean is, u go and buy a jazz cd and a techno cd....listen on a normal home audio system with flat eq and all settings....u will find out the song treble, bass and mid are actually not far away from each other procided both are same recording quality...(except the quantity of them, bass, treble and mid).....then u go to listen to ur car....u will find out u are actually boosting something and lowering something when u change to diff genre..........so it's actually mean ur system setting is dynamic and always need changing of setting....

i had audit a few car that can play many genre very well without adjusting the settings while driving....

at the end, this is just my way of discover the natural of a sound from a cd and how to tune the car to become flatter response without boosting and lowering anything...and a good tuned system can play every song well......

yeah... bout the pre-amp thing... have gone ask a lot of people and every people gave me an opinion which differs very much from each other...

But a few people told me to skip the pre-amp... though I have another question right now...

If I want to install and upgrade my ICE slowly... for starters... is it ok if I install a good HU and component speakers first?? I think I will go for subwoofer and amp later on... eraly next year.

Thought of a good HU and pair of 3-way speakers... how much that usually cost... and something bug my mind... a few person told me and recommended me to not install any speakers in the rear... instead put it in front... what is that suppose to mean and why??

On the preamp
Let's make it simple
The component inside a typical preamp is basically cheap and not a very good in quality based on price offered while claim to function to give better sound than a HU which cost lots higher than that. For me if you want a preamp, get the ones from a reputable ice manufacturer which cost higher than your HU which for me, I would prefer a good HU instead.

As for upgrade path, most of the time I would suggest to go for amp and woofer first being the reason that we need to complete the frequency range first. Being a newbie, most of the time we're not aware much on the staging and imaging effects. Newbies most of the time will only hear the difference due to frequency response. However, buying front component first is applicable for a very good component set which can go low in frequency response.

6 x 9" are suitable if you don't really bother about the sound and only intend to only have sound. Front speakers only system (except for woofer most of the time) function to make the sound come from front instead from back. Considering your car is a kancil, I believe rear speakers is not needed as people at the back seat still can enjoy the music due to shorter wheel base. (me previously drove a waja using a front only system and only sub at the back but my rear passengers can still enjoy the music).

Hope this can enlighten you a bit

anak_liar said:
can i just put my HU direct to power amp n subwoofer without pre amp??

Of course u can. As I said earlier, pre-amp is any device that will alter/boost the signal to achieve what u want before the amplifier. If those functions is found in the HU or your amp itself can do that then there is no such need for things so called as pre-amp. One of the reason people don't encourage the use of pre-amp is that low quality devices inserted after the HU will degrade the quality of the signal before being amplified by your amplifier. If u have the budget, by all means invest in some good quality processors or crossovers(also known as pre-amp) and they should give u more options for tuning.

Is this a good HU... anyone ever use it before??

http://www.kenwood-electronics.com.my/cms/General.asp?whichfile=CD+Receivers+with+USB&ProductID=312&CatID=

wa... lucky me to find a thread about ice setup for kancil...

wanna ask something to all the sifus here...

If I already got a good HU aarr... but only want to invest to 3-way speakers... don wan to put subwoofer and amp yet... not much money left in pocket woorr...

I have a computer speaker model Altec Lansing VS4121 bought for RM210 at PC Fair... wanna ask arr... if I wan my setup to sound as good as that speaker or maybe better... how much is the price for 3-way speakers I shud invest?? Or maybe I still need subwoofer ka??

U want put this 3-way to your front or rear speaker?If it is a 6 x 9" 3way at the rear will be enough as mentioned by iswara gt-r....

jchin2 said:
U want put this 3-way to your front or rear speaker?If it is a 6 x 9" 3way at the rear will be enough as mentioned by iswara gt-r....

Correction
Basically 3 way coaxial system is only for those who didn't bother about the sound. Just only want sound to come out.

Kai Sheng said:
wa... lucky me to find a thread about ice setup for kancil...

wanna ask something to all the sifus here...

If I already got a good HU aarr... but only want to invest to 3-way speakers... don wan to put subwoofer and amp yet... not much money left in pocket woorr...

I have a computer speaker model Altec Lansing VS4121 bought for RM210 at PC Fair... wanna ask arr... if I wan my setup to sound as good as that speaker or maybe better... how much is the price for 3-way speakers I shud invest?? Or maybe I still need subwoofer ka??

You can't compare a car audio system to a computer audio system as the environment in the car is more hostile and more complicated. (Not as straight forward as setting up a computer audio system). For eg, if u use your RM210, I believe u will not get the same results as in the car. Probably with that, u can buy a pair of 6x9 speakers.:shades_smile:

ISWARA GT-R said:
Correction
Basically 3 way coaxial system is only for those who didn't bother about the sound. Just only want sound to come out.

ya right bro...3 in 1 better than the original speaker...Or maybe for beginner(1st time on ICE):regular_smile:

If compare car audio with home audio, home audio more easy setup...
Car audio like listen music inside a box...
Home audio listen music from a box...
Concept also difference... Home audio speaker direct to your ear easy get staging
but car audio's component the mid at your door near you leg area + tweeter at dashboard ..minus the sound blok by your leg....

my kancil setup:
Alpine HU (2nd hand $230/250) forgot price.
JBL 5" something speaker component (forgot price)
Chowkia 2ch Amp at cash converters ($49.00)
Basic installation cost $ 85.00

JBL is good for bass & rock..yeah

take time to hunt your equipment...thats the exciment.

minicooper2u said:
my kancil setup:
Alpine HU (2nd hand $230/250) forgot price.
JBL 5" something speaker component (forgot price)
Chowkia 2ch Amp at cash converters ($49.00)
Basic installation cost $ 85.00

JBL is good for bass & rock..yeah

take time to hunt your equipment...thats the exciment.

Wahh... your setup like that arr... meaning:

RM250 for HU
RM49.00 for Chowkia cap ayam 2ch Amp
RM85.00 for Installation Cost

and

JBL5" Component for ???

Basically it don't even exceed RM500 rite?? wow... how does it sound?? Is it good??

kancil setup

Kai Sheng said:
Wahh... your setup like that arr... meaning:

RM250 for HU
RM49.00 for Chowkia cap ayam 2ch Amp
RM85.00 for Installation Cost

and

JBL5" Component for ???

Basically it don't even exceed RM500 rite?? wow... how does it sound?? Is it good??

bro, sound good as gold,
i got the JBL component GTO old model,below $400.00
JBL component front side door, i did not wire the kancil back stock speaker.
only 2ch amp driving front & tweeter.
chowkia amp only comes with gain,bass & tweeter. (not too complicated & i like it)i set all adjustment to middle.
put in GN'R, blast wellcome to the jungle. fuuuhhh i just like it

at 1st i wanted to do this & that, such dynamat, front & back link together with
4ch amp, somemore want 10/12" sub. i took my time hunt,listen to my friend ride, survey net, & make up this decision.
now since this setup is affortable, & the reason i go for JBL not others because JBL can fetch 2nd hand value, if i decided to change (well higher %tage i will not)
many ppl say JBL is good for rock & bass power.
i could not afford a JBL when i was school, now i just go average & i'm happy.
peace out.

Whoa... so cheap arr??

RM750 onli...

I wonder... maybe I shud get a setup like that in the mean time... since I don't have lots of money too...

Maybe invest in a good quality HU and component speaker but just using a chowkia amp and woofer...

hrm,JBL..wanted to get the infinity 2way comp set for the front..but gotta go compare those two. :_:

btw,those cap ayam amps..heard that not good quality amps get heated up fast?what else is bad about them?thinking of getting cap ayam ones to power front comp.dont want to spend so much on ICE anymore. :(

hmmmm, cap ayam stuff is alot cheeper but they still run the show..
at the end of the day...is still how much money you have in your pocket....
i wish my chowkia amp blow/heat up, wishing hard..but it never will.....so far it still kicks & blasting all old skool rock ...
so stay happy

hrm.that's good to hear.coz wats left in my pocket is a couple of moths.aihz.

if i were to get a cap ayam brand amp and tune it myself,what should i know?haha coz im planning to DIY.